1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OCZ Vertex 4 Issue

Discussion in 'Storage' started by jgunning, Oct 30, 2012.

  1. jgunning

    jgunning

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    507 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi all,

    So I got a brand new ocz vertex 4 yesterday, had a few issues.Upon installing windows in the "unpacking windows files" section it didnt get to 1% before it errored out saying that a file was missing or corrupt. (Note however: A week before this i used the same dvd drive and windows disc (legit and propper) to re-install windows on my old ssd (kingston 64gb). After trying several times and continuing to fail, i started trouble shooting, i tried unplugging all other hdd's except the new ssd and dvd drive, still failed. occassionally it got to 11% then got stuck...at this stage i went to bed.
    When i woke up this morning i tried again, failed straight away.I then swapped sata cables with one of the hdd sata cables and it worked, it took about 45minutes though! =\
    However then i used that old sata cable on a different drive in windows and it worked too!!
    after everything it works fine in windows..but im wondering whether the ssd has a fault, however as many of you know there are no testing tools really for ssd's yet.. =\

    I installed all the standard drivers, did windows update and updated the firmware for the ssd and still is going ok..but im very nervous that something is still amiss!as I dont really know what happened to make it work!!?

    Anyone have any thoughts..?ideas?Comments?Suggestions..?

    Much appreciated guys.

    Cheers. :toast:
     
  2. Soup

    Soup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    159 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    'merica
    Check the performance and health with this.
     
    jgunning says thanks.
  3. jgunning

    jgunning

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    507 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Australia
    Ran this app..And all checked out ok..hmmmmm =(
     
  4. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,484 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    536
    This is the same exact problem i was having with my drives... the solution was to do an RMA the drive is going to fail on you soon and not work at all
     
    jgunning says thanks.
  5. jgunning

    jgunning

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    507 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Australia
    Really...? :cry: But if I rma it and they test it now it will probably work for them..lol!So should I wait for it to die or should i just rma it and see what they say..?and what do I put as the reason for the rma..?
     
  6. jgrahl

    jgrahl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Monroe, Michigan
    put the exact reason for the problem. i would RMA it.
     
  7. jgunning

    jgunning

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    507 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Australia
    righto, I have submitted an rma. Hopefully it will just be replaced. Thanks for all your help guys

    :toast:
     
  8. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,304 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,188
    GPT for UEFI BIOS is-can be a pain with older windows disks.


    I had to use some tools to get windows to install at all, and then a couple more from a USB 3.0 drive. But it took about 4 minutes to install windows 7 on a computer once I got it done.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  9. jgunning

    jgunning

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    507 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Australia
    Please explain... :confused:
     
  10. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,304 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,188
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=167245

    Newer Win 7 disks and 8 have support for it, older disks would have issues installing. I had an image I created from an older disk, I had to delete it and recreate a new copy for USB installs, with the USB 3.0 and other drivers injected to get my installs to work.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  11. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,985 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,016
    Location:
    Oregon
    Download a new W7 iso
     
  12. jgunning

    jgunning

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    507 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Australia
    Interesting, but I use a disc anyway, dont use an iso. :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page