1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Odd issue with WiFi on my laptop.

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by INSTG8R, Dec 24, 2012.

  1. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,066 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    549
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    This is basically what happens. When I say boot into Windows 7 x64 it has absolutely no problems connecting to my router but won't connect to the internet. So most of time it starts with the exclamation point. Running the Trouble Shooter never really comes up with anything and eventually it does end up with internet access but that sometimes can take almost 10 minutes. I have tried the "standard" stuff like flush DNS, IP reset, Winsock reset. None of those seem to have any result.

    It has a reserved IP in the network/router. The router is running DHCP. My connection is 40/40 fibre with a static IP. I have my phone also on the WiFi when at home it doesn't experience any issues.

    Basically it connects to the network but then has issues when trying to connect to the internet.

    I have just put up with it up until now but I have had enough of it and am looking for some help on maybe solving it.

    Thanks
     
  2. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,915 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,434
    My first thought is a dying NIC or router. A friend had pretty much exactly the same problems, a router replacement solved it. Can you borrow a router from someone? To see if that works I mean.
     
  3. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,066 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    549
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Yeah I suppose that could be a possibility. I mean if anything it's the NIC in the laptop. Everything else seems to connect no issues. Friends phones, his netbook that recently needed to repair. Anything else seems to connect up just fine just my Laptop is the one having issues.

    I guess what makes it odd is that it has no issues connecting to the network itself just getting to internet access is where it gets hung up.
     
  4. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,052 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    690
    Do you have any virtual network adapters?
     
  5. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    When the laptop initially connects is it getting the correct default gateway?
    Have you tried hard coding all the network settings into the NIC (and completely eliminating any potential DHCP problems)?
     
  6. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,066 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    549
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    No only the one network connection. I even went in and checked their weren't any "strays"

    Good idea! I was looking thru the settings for the NIC and thought about manually assigning it's IP. About the gateway. It "appears" to connect to the gateway but with the "No internet access" So I tried to at least reach my router, no dice... BUT if I check the router it is connected as a wireless client.

    I even wiped the drivers and found the latest I could. I also revoked it's IP from the router to see if that made any difference.(it didn't)

    I will try setting it up completely manually and see if there is any difference.
     
  7. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,627
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Try disabling your Security Software and any firewalls (including the router's) and trying it.
     
  8. Guitarrassdeamor

    Guitarrassdeamor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,075 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Location:
    NC
    So recently I have had this problem with a laptop at work. Sounds similar to yours.
    One morning all of a sudden couldn't connect to the network at work. 2 different routers and brands, same network. Network gives a 10.x address, computer is getting 192.168.3x.x address. Have tried all the normal stuff, system restore, completely redoing the installation of the wireless card, everything. The only way to get it to work properly is to give it a static IP - a random 10.x address within our range - and it works fine. Connects to my phone great though, and the network itself is the problem. No other PCs (almost 30) have the problem, and there is NOTHING else on the network providing DHCP addresses.

    I can't figure it out.
     
  9. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,066 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    549
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Well I have all the devices in my network on Static IP's and a run port range. But I think I may try what Kreij suggested and do set it up manually and see if it changes anything. It's currently connected as it always eventually does. Next time I reboot and it has it's little fit I will force it...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page