1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Odd loss of gaming performance

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Soylent Joe, Jul 5, 2010.

  1. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    I've been getting some weird game performance over the last couple of days. At first I thought that it was from adding a second display, but I was still getting the FPS loss after the display was disconnected and gone. Then I updated my video drivers from 10.4 to 10.6, no change. Then I thought it was just Source engine games, but I'm having problems with Killing Floor and UT3 also (both using Unreal engine). I've made sure BOINC was off, and the card is running in the mid 50's.

    Edit: The problem is now confirmed to only be with games using the Source and Unreal engines.

    Good (normal FPS)
    • Dirt 2 // 45-60
    • Lead & Gold // 60-95
    • Just Cause 2 // 45-65
    • GTA IV // 20-60
    • Trials 2 // 180-200
    • Beat Hazard // 60

    Bad (below normal, all values are with vsync off) - Before, I could run these games maxed with vsync on and have them locked at 60FPS. Source - Unreal
    • TF2 // 30-45 on high, 45-100 on lowest
    • L4D // same as TF2
    • L4D2 // 35-50 on high (same with 3x buffered vsync), 60 on medium
    • Portal // same as TF2
    • CS:S Stress Test // 82.58 (used to get around 160)
    • Killing Floor // 7-20 on highest, 90-130 on lowest
    • Unreal Tournament 3 // 35-60 on high and low
    • Moonbase Alpha // 25-60 with all of the effects on


    Followed Erocker's video driver re-installation guide and the problem is now gone. Thanks everyone!
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2010
  2. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Bump
     
  3. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,882 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Have you been probing CPU performance on idle, checking for processed eating up resources?
     
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  4. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,310 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,002
    Hard disk drive...once you start to fill it up to about 65%+ capacity the performance will degrade, generally speaking. A lot of games rely of the hd to load various textures for the maps etc.
     
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  5. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    When exactly did you notice the drop in performance? Installed any new softwares or hardware recently?
     
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  6. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,013 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,016
    I doubt that ^^.

    I cant see his system specs for some reason, but that would only be with an SSD and even then, it shouldnt be causing that. I am currently sitting with a 85% Vertex and have no slow downs even on benchmarks......
     
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  7. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    I don't see anything out of the ordinary here...
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    The drive that I install my games to is currently only ~35% full. It hasn't been very long since I've defragged either.
     
    Dent1 says thanks.
  8. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,182 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    When fps goes down, check your pci-ex through GPUz, and check if its still 16x..
     
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  9. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    I noticed the drop in UT3 Saturday, and I didn't see the drop in the other games until after I added my second monitor Sunday (because I hadn't played them for weeks until Sunday). The only thing I've added is the monitor, and I said in the OP that I'm getting the bad performance even with it disconnected.


    Just checked, it's still at x16.


    Also remember guys, the problem seems to only be with Source and Unreal Engine games.
     
  10. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    Yeah i did read that part. Sometimes i notice a slight loss in frames because i keep my PC always in sleep mode. So after a restart everythings back to normal. Do you keep your PC in sleep mode?
     
  11. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,882 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Those spikes are a tell of something going on... when I was fishing into kind of same issues with my PC, only when the CPU usage graph was relatively flat did things work smoothly.

    Try killing some processes and see what that gives you.
     
  12. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,310 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,002
    Vertex is a Solid State HD so there is no moving parts and the access time is quicker. The OP has a standard Western Digital HD with spinning disks so the latency is higher, once the HD gets full or near full the seek time will increase as the data becomes more fragmented and hence degrade the performance.

    But since the OP said his HD is only 35% full its unlikely to be the issue.
     
  13. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    I doubt it. On my rig 2 (sig) i got an IDE hard disk. Even that piece of crap doesn't reduce gaming performance so much as the OP. So it definitely cannot be the HDD.
     
  14. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Nah my PC is on 24/7, crunching and dl'ing during the night and when I'm not using it during the day.

    I'm watching it right now and it's jumping to 30% every minute or so. It fluctuates a little just by typing this right now. I'll watch it with FF closed and try getting rid of some processes.

    Edit: Idk, I think those spikes were from firefox. It flatlines for the most part while sitting here doing nothing.
     
  15. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    Damn bro. Give your PC a rest and see if it helps. I always keep my PC off in the night. I put all my downloads on my lappy. :) Atleast give it a fresh restart and check if the gaming performance is back to normal.
     
  16. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Well it does get a reboot every day or so because of updates, program installations/uninstallations, etc.
     
  17. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,289 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Hi i notice in your proccess list something called DisplayFusion, Have you tryed disabling it? If the info i see is right this program is for running multiple screens?. I wounder if this is causing the problem.
     
  18. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Yes I exited that program while I was testing some games with the second monitor disconnected, no change.
     
  19. SUPERREDDEVIL

    SUPERREDDEVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    235 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    if you have SOURCE Steam games, DEFRAG IT!!! the updates make a mess on those games, thank god there´s a defrag option for all this games on steam :) you´ll see the difference after the defrag process, game no loger frezees random and FPS go up
     
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  20. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    It showed 0% fragmentation on all of the games, but I did it anyway. Getting the same bad framerates as before :(
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,167 (12.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,698
  22. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    FUXzors to many games installed thats why
     
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,864 (9.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,344
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I know i have an I7 @ 4ghz but with my 5850 i get 219.27FPS with all settings on max and AA 8X and AF 16x

    Your dual core SHOULD get like way over 100 tho
     
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    idk man I tried ending some more processes and got it down to 49, I didn't see other unnecessary ones. Killing Floor is still being a bitch though (along with all of the other ones) :shadedshu

    Yes I think it was around 160 with AA and AF to the max for me.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2010
  25. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,159 (5.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,180
    Location:
    Ohio
    Source games are very CPU intensive, or so I've heard. Try giving your CPU voltage a nudge, maybe it's slightly unstable. If that doesn't work, then give the NB voltage a nudge.
     
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page