1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Odd stability issue

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by bpgt64, Jun 30, 2009.

  1. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,449 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I have been having this really weird stability problem with my desktop. When ever I run Far Cry 2 with Windows 7 the game can run for 10-30 minutes then the system just shuts off. It's not overheating..atleast my censors tell me its not. Using HWmoniter and Catalyst to monitor the temps they seem within normal ranges...whats odder is I even can run GTA IV and stress the machine even more and the system will run it for hours... So I am 99% sure its my GPU...but then I get evidence of my GPU being pushed even harder with a different game and having no problems at all..Crysis/Warhead, GTA IV, TF2...all run fine..but Far Cry 2 does not. THe games that are capable of running in DX10 are, and are runnning at 1920x1080 resolution, usually with the settings maxed.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,932 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    Set your graphics card to stock settings and see if it still does it. If it does, set your cpu back to stock settings. If that doesn't cure it than you probably have a bum card and need to rma it
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,449 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Well...I just bumped up the Voltage on the CPU from 1.35 to 1.4, no temp difference but I just played Far Cry 2 since my original post with zero BSOD/restarts
     
  4. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    I doubt he has a bum card because 1 out of 10 games doesn't work. That sounds like Far Cry 2 has an issue. I personally had a strange issue with an older game BF2142 working in Window7 64-bit and half-Life 2. BF2142 I fixed with a no disk hack (legal I own the game), which would not apply here because your game starts. HF2 I fixed by going into the start parameters and changing it to 32-bit mode. It would work for an hour and then the A.I. was just stop working all together. Several other glitches existed in the 64-bit code, but I digress.

    Basically, see if you can force the game to run as a 32-bit process instead of 64-bit and see if the issue continues.
     
  5. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,932 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    You should download a stability testing program to see just how stable your cpu/ram/northbirdge really is. I reccomend OCCT Linpack
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. richardbel

    richardbel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    261 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    vancouver
    try running the game with the lowest possible setting...
     
  7. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,449 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I appreciate the responses, I am 99% sure it has something to do with my configuration of the game, because prior to installing Windows 7, I had no problems at all running it for hours. And other games that are as intensive graphics wise have no problems at all really. I have run Prime 95s torture tests with zero problems also...so I am not really concerned about stability outside of the game.
     
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,932 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    The OS sometimes has something to do with stability, for example OCs in Vista tend to be less stable than OCs in XP... take that with a grain of salt though, because it seems that a lot of overclockers don't test thier pcs as thoroughly as others... for example anyone who got into the extreme stable pc club (running Linpack for at least 4 hours) should be rock solid stable in XP or Vista, and W7 for that matter.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    577 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    If it's suddenly powering off it may be your psu. Yes 750 watts should be plenty to power a 4870x2. but there's a chance if your psu has more than one 12v rail that the card is tripping the overload in one of the rails.

    I had a similar problem with my 4870 and 500 watt psu with 2 18 amp 12 volt rails. It would shut down suddenly if I tried to run Furmark or OCCT. I bought a Corsair tx750w with single 12v rail (60A) and it hasn't done it since.
     
  10. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,932 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    I dunno about that chuck, seeing as how he increaced his cpu voltage (which means more power draw) and it worked fine.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    577 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    You're probably right If he's just getting blue screens and not a sudden power off.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page