1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Odd Vantage score.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Techtu, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Yesterday I got my new HD7950 so I uninstall the old nVidia drivers, run driver sweeper and pull my old GTX 460 out to put the HD7950 in place. I installed the AMD drivers and go for a run on 3Dmark Vantage to find my new score is the same as my old GTX 460?

    Apparently my CPU is scoring hell of a lot lower now...

    NEW (HD7950)

    3Dmark score - 16743

    GPU score - 17825
    CPU score 14163

    OLD (GTX 460)

    3Dmark score - 16645

    GPU score - 13916
    CPU score - 40430

    I've also since uninstalled the AMD drivers, restarted the pc then ran driver sweeper to restart to install the AMD drivers again, now I can't even complete a run of Vantage due to something to do with PhysX not being installed??
  2. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Could anyone help please? :)
  3. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
    With the nvidia card you were using physx; it's on by default. Check your cpu score again. Everything is fine.
  4. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    But I can't even run Vantage now:confused:.
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,525 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,046
    Delete Vantage, then re-install it!
    Techtu says thanks.
  6. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    London
    Because Vantage needs physx drivers even if you have an AMD card; like sneekypeet said, uninstall and install it again.
  7. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    Both gpu scores are on performance? if that's the case then is not ok 7950 should get P27k+ on gpu score.
    Better run 3dm11 see if that works for you.
  8. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Just backing up some stuff at the moment but will get round to uninstalling to see if that helps.

    ... And my 3Dmark 11 score should be around...?
  9. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    7k on the gpu score on P.
  10. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    P6228 3DMarks

    Graphics Score
    6881

    Physics Score
    4972

    Combined Score
    4677
  11. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    normal score, whql driver? it should rise with 12.11 betas.
  12. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Yes it is the WHQL driver. :)

    I'm wondering though as sometimes I've noticed my GPU idle vots drop to 0.85v which I thought was normal as that's what I got when I first installed the card, however now it seem's to idle at 0.95v which whacks another 7 - 10 degree's on the idle temps depending on room temp but why isn't it going back down? :(
  13. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    no idea about the voltage did you flashed to 950 mhz edition? anyway try that 12.11 beta drivers i heard it works wonders for 7xxx's owners in many games and benches.
  14. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Nah, I'm using the default BIOS on the card and I'm using the 12.11 drivers now but still have the same issue however now, whenever the monitor turns off the volts do go down to 0.85, but right back up once I wake the system.

    Just reinstalling 3Dmark 11 I'll see what results I get after.

    EDIT: Here is the results...

    P6783 3DMarks

    Graphics Score
    7827

    Physics Score
    4984

    Combined Score
    4650
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2012
  15. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    wow your gpu score went from 6881 to 7827 ... nice drivers.
    Techtu says thanks.
  16. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I know right :D

    I'd just as much like lower volts when idle though.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page