1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OEMs have Phenom X3's BUT WE DONT??

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ShadowFold, Apr 11, 2008.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  2. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    They can probably make enthusiasts want them more if they torture us :p
     
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Well they sure are making me want one more :mad:
     
  4. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    The real question is...

    How long until an enthusiast goes out and buys a whole OEM PC, just to rip out the X3 and bench it for the rest of us?
     
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I might if I win the lottery LOL That HP is a good deal just pop a 3850 in there and you got a good gamer. Cant OC tho :(
     
  6. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    Its a Phenom Quad with a disabled core right?

    Whats so great about that?
    Does it contain the errata?
     
    GLD says thanks.
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I think its native idk all I know is I want one
     
  8. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Correct me if I'm mistaken, but I believe all the tricores right now have the errata. They are the "gimp" Phenom X4s, so they disabled a core. If there's a market once they're through with the bad Phenoms, then we'll start seeing B3's.

    I wouldn't be surprised if AMD bought back its TLB bugged X4s from resellers, disabled a core, and sold them. Would actually be a smart move in my opinion.
     
  9. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    Yeah thats what my sources were telling me I just wondered if anything changed. :)

    Good idea about the disabling and rebadging because if it was done in some ways we could change it back but still pay the lower price. :laugh:
     
  10. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    OMG TPU would be the Christ of PC enthusiasts if they found a way to flash the X3s to X4s :D
     
  11. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,364 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    California, U.S.A.
    An X3, not for me. Im just a casual geek, and a casual gamer. Props to AMD for sure. People will buy them, that is for sure. :toast:
     
  12. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    the oems want the tri-core chips to sell what would otherwise be dual core boxes.. any fool knows that three is better than two.. at the cheaper end they should sell well..

    the old buggy chips will do the job well enough..

    trog
     
  13. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Why, when you can have a quad.
     
  14. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you're a big Newegg customer, ask if they'll pull one and sell it separately. :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page