1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Official 2010 Chimp Challenge Thread

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Apr 27, 2010.

  1. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    429 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Found this on the Anandtech forms from one of the mods.

    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
    [Ion] says thanks.
  2. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Just got the main rig switched over, and am running in ChimPowerUp to make sure everything is up to snuff.

    [​IMG]
    [Ion] says thanks.
  4. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    CPU looks low (PPD wise)... kinda confused.
  5. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    429 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Based on his screenshot he only has it enabled for 4 cores, he might possibly be doing something else with a heavy load at the time of the screenshot.

    I do have a question I haven't been able to get HFM to show this extra column.

    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I had to kill one of the 4870X2 clients. Running both murders my CPU PPD, even tho I have the ATI system variables added to reduce ATI cpu usage.

    New setup:

    [​IMG]
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  7. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,884 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,422
    Have you entered the Environmental Variables? Step 5 here. My 4830 gets just shy of 2000PPD on 511 point WU's. If you don't have those entered, it will really slow down the CPU client.

    You have to open the log/queue viewer (F8) and then click on "show Queue" on the left.
    Makaveli says thanks.
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Yeah, installed the environment variables. See post above yours for explanation.
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,896 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,061
    Location:
    Ohio
    How long does it take an i7 to complete a SMP2 unit then? Was the guy with the 1090T running a bigadv unit or a regular SMP unit?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Not sure about the i7 but my Q9550 at 3.8GHz is pulling ~11.5K PPD with a TPF of 4min12sec

    So not really that impressed with his 13K PPD from the 1090T @4.1GHz
  11. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    429 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    That mod updated his post says he is getting 16,751 ppd with the 1090T @ 4.1Ghz

    *Update*
    Also said This is just the smp2 client in XP with "-advmethods"
    Last edited: May 3, 2010
  12. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    All my rigs are officially switched over.
    msgclb, [Ion] and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
  13. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    alittle under 6hrs for my i7@3.9ghz for a SMP unit using all 8 threads
  14. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,517
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Oily, what WU are you running for the 11.5K ppd and do you have any GPU's running on that rig? My Q-9550 @ 3.8Ghz pulls 9K on SMP2 feeding a single GTX260. What am I doing wrong?:confused:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I'm probably not going to be getting the PPD I was hoping, the heat here (almost 90F the past couple days) is forcing me to keep the desktop off, with no AC it gets damn hot rather fast. Especially overnight, if it's hot I don't sleep well and then I'm an ass to everyone, so I'll be running things at the mercy of the weather
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I switched my X2 4200@3ghz over to F@H. I will fold on the i7 and 4200 for now till i get the new PSU then i will switch the 8800GT to the chimp :)

    @ion i understand that problem it happens here too. a overclocked i7 puts out ALOT of heat.
    [Ion] says thanks.
  17. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I would think it would be even worse with the i7...with the X4 955 & 8800GTS at full load my rig pulls around 250w, which isn't bad for an enthusiast rig I guess, but it still makes things hot. The laptop is only around 35w, so it stays on all of the time (I notice no difference with it on or not)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    my i7&8800GT put out alot of heat. No idea how much but it must be alot if my 500w PSU is having a hard time pushing it. Also i have the x2 4200 that is also overclocked :banghead:
    I have learned to deal with the heat and put as much space between my bed and the rigs. It is noticeably cooler near the bed :) if you can try put more distance between the bed and you if you sleep in the room that you crunch/fold it :toast:
  19. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    No GPU on this rig ATM, it has 2x 4870's but they kill the PPD.

    Not sure on the WU I think it was a ~3200 pointer or something like that.Usually I pull ~10K on it.

    EDIT: Running 3072 pointer gets me 10K right now.
  20. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I have the desktop as far away from the bed as is possible, and I keep the door open and have fans on, but if the air outside and in the rest of the house is hot, regrettably the room is going to be even hotter...and the X4 is pushing 60c
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    I switched my GPUs over and I will switch my Xeon 3570 monday after work.(It does 15,000 PPD at 3.6)
    [Ion] says thanks.
  22. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    429 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Question guys does and SSD provide any benefit for folding?
  23. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,896 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,061
    Location:
    Ohio
    No way. Any miniscule benefit would be totally offset by the cost. SSDs are great if you're going to install something that constantly does a ton of reads/writes (Windows) to it, but that's about it.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    No. I bought an X25-V because I thought it would be a nice upgrade, and it is for most things, but has no impact on WCG or F@h speed/performance
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    429 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    What about having the VM being installed on the SSD any benefit then?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page