1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Official 2010 Chimp Challenge Thread

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Apr 27, 2010.

  1. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Well, the cooling in my primary rig is so much better than the HTPC....as expected. With Mighty Mouse offline yesterday, the temperature in my room is slightly warmer, but about normal. Apparently 85 to 90% of the heat was being generated by it.

    Anyway, Might Mouse will be back up and folding when I get home today cause I want the extra 6500 PPD because....well just because.
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  2. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,165
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I had problems with Prifinity in Windows 7. I use Process Lasso now for all of my computers. If you use Process Lasso, there is a setting in the 'Options' menu that says to more strictly enforce the affinity settings. This cleared up all issue I was having with Windows 7.


    Late Tuesday turned into later. Blame golf courses. :ohwell: But I got home with 2 computers running (the one that was shut down was the air cooled i7 that had BSODed while I was away). It'll be getting put under water in the coming week.
     
    dustyshiv says thanks.
  3. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,719 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,271
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I'm rich!:pimp: I just activated a credit card that was a replacement for one that was canceled because some roof company in Louisiana made some unauthorized charges. When the lady told me my available credit I just knew I had to spend some of it to increase my PPD with a GTX 480. Of course there's one thing wrong with this as the GTX 480 can't currently fold.:eek:
     
  4. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,126 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    GTX 285, 295??? Just some suggestions. :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I had to back my i7 down to 3ghz. After redoing the loop with new tube i forgot to put fresh TIM on the block so temps are way higher then they should be. I will be getting my new PSU tomorrow(atleast thats what UPS says) I will take care of it then
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
  6. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,750 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,189
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest
    Half of my farm are down ATM cause of some construction at work, they will be back online tomorrow.
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
  7. dustyshiv

    dustyshiv

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    504 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    Location:
    Dubai, U.A.E


    Thanks for the info EL. I installed Process Lasso and now all the gpu cores have all 8 cpu cores' affinity. But still the ppd on the 9800GT is around only 1500 whereas it defaults to 4500 on my main system:eek: What maybe causing this??:twitch:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,828 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,392
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Did you change the "core priority" in client settings to "Low"?
     
    dustyshiv says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  9. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Scotland
    Just don't get into too much dept ok? :laugh:
     
  10. dustyshiv

    dustyshiv

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    504 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    Location:
    Dubai, U.A.E
    I only can set the core priority to below normal or idle. I set it to idle and still the ppd was low. I have it on below normal now. Lets see!!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,126 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    I've had out of town guests all week. My i7 rig is still in boxes. :( My friends won't be gone for days. I'm worried that my folding addiction is affecting my personal life. Is PC/F@H addiction a recognized health problem? Maybe I should stop? Nah! No way.

    Although I would like to get the i7 put together so I can help us get to that 20 million mark. It would also be nice to put El Fiendo back to work tracking pie and milestones. The man has too much time on his hands without it. ;)
     
    mstenholm says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,750 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,189
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest
    Dusty-on Pro Lasso same settings as in the F@H client config, GPU=normal and SMP=below normal or idle. I'm using the same and I have no issues;)
     
    dustyshiv says thanks.
  13. dustyshiv

    dustyshiv

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    504 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    Location:
    Dubai, U.A.E
    Dunno wht Im doing wrong.

    [​IMG]

    I dont have SMP Client on this rig. WCG is running on this and its priority is set to Idle.
    Also, after I installed Process lasso and made config changes, clients stopped downloading new WU and were stuck at finish of existing WU...like 15000/15000. Temps were low on all GPUs. I unistalled Process lasso and reinstalled again. Then clients have started working again. This happened on both of my rigs. But again as u see in the attachment the ppd is still low for some clients.:(
     

    Attached Files:

    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,165
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Try setting the Folding Processes to High. This won't affect WCG much as the GPUs only ever take a small percentage of the CPU. You'll want to set the process for 'FahCore_11', 'FahCore_14' and I set it for Folding@home.exe as well though it most likely isn't necessary.

    It might be worth a try to see if this changes anything for you.
     
    dustyshiv says thanks.
  15. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,828 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,392
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Ask them if they can leave a little early?:p What CPU did you go for?
     
    More than 25k PPD
  16. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,719 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,271
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Introduce them to your addiction.:) You just might create some new folders.

    And a change of subject...
    Did you know that the chimp challenge is holding up the new gpu core?

    I'd say this is hyperbola but the sooner we hit the 20 million mark, the sooner the Chimp Challenge ends!:laugh:

    NVIDIA 197.45 Driver?
     
  17. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,828 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,392
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Dusty, Have you changes the cores to LOW(in client configuration)? Are your flags(gpu-0, gpu-1, etc...) set correctly?
     
    dustyshiv says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  18. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,100 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    484
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    I'm contributing 80,000 PPD to the Chimp Challenge. What's up with our points?:confused:
     
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I still got a 5770 folding for the CC. I had two, but i had to put it back on the main rig. nobody ever told me if possible to have both cards fold while in crossfire. I searched, but didn't find anything solid.
     
    hertz9753 says thanks.
  20. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,750 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,189
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest
    hertz9753 says thanks.
  21. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,100 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    484
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    Since I only have nvidia, do you have a crossfire bridge installed? Just wondering, since with nvidia I can run sli with out a bridge.

    http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardwarecanucks-f-h-team/27256-crossfire-folding.html
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  22. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
  23. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,649 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,470
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
  25. dustyshiv

    dustyshiv

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    504 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    Location:
    Dubai, U.A.E
    I couldnt contribute much for the past two days as I had some low ppd issues that I had to clear out. Further as my reserator died, one 9800GTX is down. But my other rig is configured as shown below

    Here comes Papa!!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Thnx Buck, Bogi, El and everybody for helpin me with suggestions to fix my ppd :respect:

    Waterblock and swiftech pump for the resting 9800GTX is on its way from PPCS!!
     

    Attached Files:

    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page