1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Official 2010 Chimp Challenge Thread

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Apr 27, 2010.

  1. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    are you using the -smp flag?


    for you that aren't getting any work using the SMP client make sure that you have it so it selects advanced units

    @mailman are you willing to try CPU again if i try to help you out step by step with screen shots along the way? If so PM me tonight or tomorrow and i will put something together for you :toast:
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,089 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    xBruce88x and Makaveli say thanks.
  3. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    430 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
  4. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    My suggestion is to add to your shortcut...

    -smp X -advmethods -verbosity 9
    Where X is #of cores.

    If I'm correct what everybody else missed is that your running a SMP on an i7 920 and since the client didn't detect all your cores you need to add...

    -smp 8 -advmethods -verbosity 9
     
  5. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,557 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,833
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    More than 25k PPD
  6. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    430 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    :rockout: First time folder!!!
     
  7. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,430 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    606
    ok i got it all up and running, might even add my laptop to the mix a little later(celeron 520 oc to 2ghz! lol)

    .... :banghead:

    i keep getting an error when i try to upload my img...

    "folding1.jpg:
    This PNG image has the incorrect file extension."

    well anyway... i was gonna show a pic with my ppd...

    9600GT: 3800ppd
    Athlon II X4 630 @ 3.0ghz : 725ppd

    are these numbers about right?

    ... i'm guessing the celeron with dig up another 200 or so lol
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2010
    More than 25k PPD
  8. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,947 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    I just got a g92 8800gts from my uncle, which will replace the 9600gso in my main rig. The 9600gso will go in my server as a dedicated folder, so I'll get at least 4k ppd from that. How much will the g92 8800gts get at stock clocks (674/1674/1940)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,430 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    606
    maybe 5k due to extra shaders... or even close to 5.5k?
     
    More than 25k PPD
  10. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I would say that is about right on the 9600GT my 8800GT(stock) ~4.5k
    The athlon II X4 i'm not sure but seems to be about right(are you using FAHmon or HFM.net? to get PPD)

    BTW my i7 is about to turn-in a WU for chimp :)
    I think after it is done i am going to try to get alittle better clocks from my i7 so when May 5th comes around i am at peak production.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,430 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    606
    FAHmon, was actually about to get hfm.net for my laptop...

    just overclocked the laptop to 2.0 from 1.6 and about to give it a try at folding.

    [​IMG]

    lol its only getting 124ppd
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 1, 2010
    More than 25k PPD
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,947 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    I got the 8800GTS installed in my main rig, and the 9600GSO is installed in my server (I'll post pics soon, hehe). Everything has gone smoothly thus far. I'm on my server right now, download nvidia drivers. Since the card was BIOS flashed, it's already overclocked... the 8800gts needs tweaking, but not right now.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Could it be Sarge....No, Rosemary the telephone receptionist....No, Penry the mild mannered Janitor....Could be!! :roll: :D


    Source:
     
  14. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,947 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    Allright, the 9600gso in installed and working, and the server is packed away in it's little corner where it belongs. The 8800gts is in my rig, and working beautifully. This should double my output... heh heh. Here's the pics of the rigs now:

    The server:
    [​IMG]

    The main rig:
    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Makaveli, could you check that you have your Username and Team Number set up correctly.In your first pic it is not set up right.You can scroll up in the console window to check.

    The username is ChimPowerUp and Team Number is 50711

    Also with your i7, if you have hyperthreading enabled, make sure to run -smp 8 as an argument in the shortcut.It will then utilise all 8 cores.

    If you need help to change it , just PM me.
    Also welcome to the Team :toast:

    EDIT:You can also PM me for the Passkey (which it will ask for if you have to change your UserName and Team Number)
     
  16. Hawkster13

    Hawkster13

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    105 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    FL, USA
    What is the passkey for? Do I need it?
     
  17. Hugis

    Hugis

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    107 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Thought id turn up

    Well as my 8800gt doesnt do much most days id thought id put it in the loop.

    :)

    Hope this little fold helps.
     

    Attached Files:

    thebluebumblebee, TIGR and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
  18. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,646 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,125
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Passkey is needed for the bonus points if you're going to fold using SMP2 (CPU);)
     
  19. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Welcome to the team :toast:

    A tip for all the new people folding on their GPU's, Keep an eye on your temps, they can heat up quite quickly.Maybe set your fan to manual control and up it to ~80%.
     
  20. Hugis

    Hugis

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    107 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Thanks for the advice, but owing to a crap sparkle fan ,i have modded it to run of the board header with an intel c2d heat sink fan zip tied to the 8800 gt(58 degrees @ 98% is pretty good:)

    and thanks for the welcome,

    Hug
     
  21. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    No probs, 58C is good, you should have no worries.
     
  22. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,947 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    I bought my uncle's 8800GTS, so I'll be bringing about 9k ppd rather than 4k. If I overclock my 8800gts, it'll be about 10k :)
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,557 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,833
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Tip of the day: Overclock shaders only to maximize output. 8800gt should be good for about 1780+/- mhz. Just watch your temps. 65-75c all day is normal for these cards.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  24. Hugis

    Hugis

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    107 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    cheers for the tip-age :)

    had this pop up when i ramp my shaders up any ideas, ive ramped em down a bit now 1728 shaders as opposed to 1780

    so were the oced shaders causing this issue?
     

    Attached Files:

  25. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,557 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,833
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    no, the fan spped was causing the issue.Take the fan off auto and run it at least 70-80%. Then you can take the shaders up a little more.;)
     
    More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page