1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Official AMD Radeon 6000 Series Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by TechPowerUp Forums, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,978 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Look I have a Pic too!......I'm tired of the PICS!!
    Until we get some numbers as far as I'm concerned one pic is as good as another
    [​IMG]
    Until then it's the same ole Sh1t
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2011
  2. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,878 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    good looking brownie there *drools*

    If the release date is 8th of march, shouldn't we have a review soon?

    EDIT: lol new pic?
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2011
  3. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,978 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    497
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I sure hope so...I'm getting a little tired of seeing new pics of the same card without numbers..again and AGAIN:wtf: and AGAIN:shadedshu
     
    yogurt_21 says thanks.
  4. xXxBREAKERxXx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    108 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Who can answer me? 750w PSU can handle that new ATI 6990 ?
     
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,416 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,902
    No one here. Its not out yet.
     
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,878 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    Well if the 750W can handle 6970 in CFX you can bet it'll handle the 6990. Power consumption shouldn't be too far from 6950 CF
     
  7. Mr McC

    Mr McC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,253 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    True, and in reference to your newfound avatar, he's nothing but a chip off the old block:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sD1jkBL6NwA

    What did they expect mixing Irish and Latin blood?
     
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,416 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,902
    I'm Irish. What are you trying to say?
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,623 (12.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,442
    Corned beef tacos? Guys, keep this thread on topic please.
     
    mastrdrver and Mr McC say thanks.
  10. xXxBREAKERxXx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    108 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
  11. StefanM

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Germany
    The HD6990 is now listed in german and dutch online shops.
    Price range: 616 - 715 Euros :eek:
     
  12. xXxBREAKERxXx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    108 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    if it come to Usa market for 600 $ i would buy it from there! Its about 400 € + 20% taxes = 480 €
    I hope Asus support worldwide Warranty
     
  13. Undead46

    Undead46 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    257 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA, Texas
    Figured it'd be a $800+ card...

    But everyone else thinks it's a cheap $500-600 card.. >.>
     
  14. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    pre orders are always much higher than sale prices when it comes to hardware.
     
  15. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    12,006 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,202
    Location:
    US
    NVM lol
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2011
  16. StefanM

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    32 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Germany
    The usual calculation for computer hardware in Germany is 1 US$ = 1 €

    Another offer 587 €
     
  17. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    921 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    Just to be clear on something, MLAA is supposed to give about the picture of 4x AA with a much lower performance hit right?

    Because I did a test with Heaven 2.1 (at stock settings), where I enabled 4x AA, the I disabled AA for the next test, but enabled MLAA in Catalyst instead.
    I found MLAA had a bigger performance hit.:wtf:
     
  18. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,924 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Singapore
    MLAA = 4xSSAA not 4xMSAA. That is why the performance hit is bigger.
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,149 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,419
    the point of MLAA is that it works on every game engine, and even things that arent games. compatibility was its main focus.
     
  20. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    921 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    I see. Thanks guys.
    Too many AA's these days... :p

    Edit: Mussels, I noticed it's 'compatibility' blending my on-screen overlays for FRAPS and Afterburner, lol. Any way to counter that?
     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,149 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,419
    none at all. it also did it to IE and MSN for me, when it first came out.


    that is the flaw of MLAA, it applies it to everything.
     
    inferKNOX says thanks.
  22. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    763 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    clearly performance wasnt
     
  23. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Depends on game, I get barely any hit in some games much more in others.

    MLAA works brilliant with Stalker.
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,149 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,419
    well no... but seriously, what else gives you AA on all your text and web browsers? clearly they filled a gap there :rolleyes:
     
  25. tecnoworld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    73 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    did anybody test the new 11.4 catalyst preview with a single 6950 or a 6970?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page