1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Official AMD Radeon 6000 Series Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by TechPowerUp Forums, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Power phases in the back again? Why the diversion from the 6800 series?
  2. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    so its trying to make the 580 look like it performs like shit?? im willing to be it will be just a small margin better then the 6970. nvidia always does this makes a card that will perform just a small amount better but you have to sacrifice something like heat power etc. it has always been that way since I can remember.
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,904 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,489
    Who knows that could be the 6950 and not the 6970. Anyway I bet these are fake.
  4. Charly New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2010
  5. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,116 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    567
    Anyone got a picture of a R300? Use the PCIe slot to size everything up and see how big the die is.

    I doubt it is bigger than the GF100 with the IHS on since all Cayman rumors say it's suppose to be < 400mm2. If you've already done it post up the picture. I'm still curious to see.:toast:
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,774 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,858
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    PCB pinout doesn't tell you much about die size, really. ;) Between actual gpu and pcb is another pcb tha the gpu is directly mounted to. barts is pin-out compaitble with cypress boards, for example.

    ;)
  7. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,116 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    567
    Doh! Didn't notice it was a pin out picture. :slap:
  8. SNICK

    SNICK New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    85 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    hd 6900 series is based on 4-[​IMG]way arc
  9. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,116 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    567
    So they're up to 2 triangle/clock or half of a GTX 460. Guess I was expecting more for the high end given the rough 400mm2 size.
  10. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
  11. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    But what does this actually mean?

    Like how does this affect polygon per second?

    Because TBH I've no clue seeing as I still see nvidia/ati cards being very close most of the time, so the extra triangles nvidia get per clock cycle most do shit all :laugh:


    Also these should be out end of this month right?

    Can I last another month with no rig D: I need moar leaks !
  12. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,432 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    And if that screenie is accurate.... I was right in my prediction that everyone argued about (and mostly were against) for a week....... 32 ROP's :laugh: Where's that Cheezburger character when you need him :)
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2010
  13. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    Does that mean we can expect 5970 performance from a 6970? :rockout:
  14. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,224 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,450
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    If not, technically thats a backwards step. Change of architecture and same power as a 5970 should deliver better performance. If it doesn't then it's all a bit poo. Only saving grace if they deliver better minimum fps and it'll be one chip so no crossfire to contend with. Unless you're a nutter with a 50" screen and a very large PC case.
  15. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    What's is the estimated price for these cards?

    £300? £350?

    I won't pay over that unless one of these is twice as good as a 6870 XD
  16. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    Atleast if it's equal to HD5970 performance, i'll be impressed. And if it's a better performer than the HD5970 i'll just go nuts. :p And it better allow 4-way CFX :D :laugh:
  17. Wyverex

    Wyverex

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    282 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Well, the 6970 is supposed to be single GPU card so I'd expect it to be somewhere close to 5970 (a dual GPU card) in performance, same as 5870 was close to 4870x2

    And, if 6970 can deliver 5970 performance at lower power usage, lower cost and less issues (no crossfire used), that's quite good, in my book :)
  18. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,432 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Agreed, however I am guessing you would be less impressed if it matched the 5970 but the 580 was 15% faster than the 5970 :laugh:..... not suggesting it will be but it is an interesting time.
  19. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    :laugh:

    Anyways the next upgrade i go for (Green or Red) should be atleast a 20% more powerful than my 4GB 5970. :D
  20. motasim

    motasim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    205 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Mostar, Bosnia & Herzegovina
    I don't believe that this would be the case; since the 4870 & 5870 were based on two completely different generations of chips (55nm for the 4870 chip and 40nm for the 5870 chip), and as such such a performance jump was possible. The same doesn't apply when comparing the 5870 to the 6970 since both chips are based on 40nm technology. No one can tell for sure until we see some actual benchmarks but an improvement in performance of 100% is not at all likely.

    That said; when the 28nm chips are introduced next year, such a jump in performance is quite expected.



    ... a word of advice, don't upgrade not and wait for the 28nm chips next year then decide, you have an excellent GPU ...
    mastrdrver says thanks.
  21. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    Thanks but i can easily upgrade to a 6970 or 6990 by exchanging my cards + little bit of cash. Because the demand for my card is less, so best upgrading asap before prices go down. :)
  22. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,432 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    You won't be upgrading for a while then mefinks :rockout:
  23. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,224 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,450
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    He should buy another 4GB 5970..... and an IMAX.
  24. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Thats most likely what will happen, the 580 isn't coming out when the 6970 is, it should be later, therefore more powerful. Just like the 5850 and 5870 hit the shelves first then the 480 and 470 were faster, yes the 5970 was there, but I don't count that as competition with the others simply because its 2 GPU's vs 1.
  25. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,224 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,450
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Wonky logic.

    GF100 was late due to production issues - not because it was too slow. It was scheduled for 2009 release but design and manufacturing communication errors meant it slipped.

    If GF100 had been without those manufacturing issues it would frankly have destroyed the 5870 (it would have had 512 operational cores).

    If GTX 580 does give 10-20% over GTX 480 and consumes less power - resulting in better cooling and lower noise - I'll probably wait for one. I fear the 6970 might be noisy and not as powerful as the 580.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page