1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Official Halo 2 for Windows Vista system requirements released

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, May 2, 2007.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    For over three years, dedicated Halo fans have been waiting for the next installment of the Halo series to finally hit the PC. Whether or not it is an ugly port like the last one was, here are the official system requirements for Halo 2 on the PC.
    Source: Games For Windows
  2. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Not even Halo fans are "waiting" for this turd. I played Halo 2 on launch day, midnight November 9, 2004. Its taken way too damn long for the release, and it has a ridiculous OS restriction.
  3. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Hopefully some one will be able to bypass the os restriction ;)
  4. Rodster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    155 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    LMAO at the hardware requirements. A three year old game I can play on my Xbox 360 without having to buy Microsoft's garbage Vista. :nutkick:
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I think it's more related to online play. If you bypass the OS restriction, you very well may bypass the ability to play online. But who knows really. If worse comes to worse, I'll just dual boot.
  6. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    It's total bullshit that its a DX9 game. They have been betraying it as a DX10 game all year then they release it as a old school game. An old school game that must only be played in Vista not XP I mean WHY??? Its not DX10 so why can't we play it in XP. And from what people have been saying it looks like shit a Xbox 1 game with higher resolution.

    Sorry for the rant but it's all true.
  7. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Exactly, I was playing it on November 9th, who gives a damn about it now?
  8. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    This game is awesome! I still play it on my Xbox 360 and Xbox every week (almost 10,000 online matches played!!!!!), but even I wouldn't get this for PC. It took way too long to get there, only Vista, and the same graphics just higher res. Not that many great reasons to get it IMO.
  9. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    Location:
    US
    i'm 100% sure that patch, which will allow to play on WinXP, will appear in just a few days after release of halo2
  10. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!

    It is an xbox 1 game with higher resolution... lol... and halo2 with directx10? Wouldn't that basically be a new game.
  11. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,232 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,151
    F*** MS and their, and ATI, and Halo.



    I ma slightly drunk and pissed off. And really I hate MS on times like this, they kept stroking us for al of this, and all they deliver is mediocrity at bets.



    F dem I say. And more Jim Beam.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  12. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,681 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    I had no hopes for this game from the beginning, now im not disappointed. I guess I should lower my standards for everything to stay happy...oh no, wait, I can just not like halo then it all works out. :)
  13. Dark Ride Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    What's ATI got to do with all this ? :wtf:
  14. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    Location:
    US
    he already said, he is drunk :laugh:
  15. Zero Cool

    Zero Cool New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,199 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Prague, CZ
    Vista only??? are you fucking me??? I got well over the rest of the requirments
  16. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,393 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    560
    Location:
    AZ
    lol's at a game only payable ona dx 10 os, yet a direct 9 sm 2.0 x700 can run it?:wtf:
  17. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    Location:
    US
    yes, from what i heard the game will be playable with dx9, so the only thing we need to do is fix *.exe file to override os checking
    too much drunk ppl here today :roll:
  18. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Microsoft... This better be good. But I have to say, DX9 ftw!
  19. Grasshopper New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    well, we all know why MS did this, don't we?
  20. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    for the first time i have to upgrade my os in order to pay a game not the graphics card lol.
  21. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,609 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    well.....where do I start?

    1. regarding the patch to make Halo 2 playable on XP I part of me says theres 98% chance thats not going to happen because Halo 2 runs off some features/architecture that are specific to Vista. Im not saying that its totally undoable but there will be loads of problems trying to get vista EMULATION working on XP & even then I doubt it will ever be completely bug free, there is already a program that can load like a windows 98 OS while your in XP but im not sure what that programs called. I think somebody would have to come out with a program similar to that. & since Vista isnt as black & white as say creating a patch to make programs use dual core instead of single core. also somebody will have to be willing to take their vista apart to come up with the software so maybe some nerd programmers will come out with the program (nothing wrong with nerds, in fact I salute you!) so It seems that vista emulation within windows XP is really the way to get over this without breaching copyright infringements & also waving the ability to play online possibly as somebody mentioned

    2. I dont have a console, Im a non-console orientated person, Ive played on xbox's, xbox360's, PS1's, PS2's, PS3's & PSP's but the FPS game type has to be the most wank idea if youve spent most of your life playing on your pc. dont get me wrong, most of my mates have xboxs & ive invested a lot of time trying to get the feel of halo 1,2,& 3 but have insane difficulty trying to get into grips with the whole control thing with the 1 analog stick to look around & the other to move, I cant get around it let alone get the cross hair to stop exactly on something that I can kill. therefore I hate the xbox's.

    call me a perfectionist asshole but im not going to waste 5mins of my time trying to zero in my cross hair just for 1 kill.

    & I know some will say otherwise & argue some very valid points. but at the end of the day Im a pc man. I will live & die slumped over the keyboard with my hand on my G7 gaming mouse!!!!

    3. IMO its a waste of time releasing halo 2 on pc as halo 3 has been out for xbox for so long they probably got another halo game planned & ready to go. definitly a game that wont be joining my collection. even tho I have vista Im still running XP so bill gates can suck my gingerbreadman if he thinks im going to move on to a buggy, unsupotted by a few main software companies to play his gaylo 2 on his vista

    Ive said enough....If ive offended any of you with this post I apologise
  22. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    DX9 on Vista kinda defeats the purpose for a new video game.... :p.
  23. rhythmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    987 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    Confusion-mongerers are M$ indeed. Hopefully it all goes tits up and it only sells 244 copies like they did that polished turd fista!
  24. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    i think this is a plan my microsoft coz i was thinking it would be a dx10 game and i was under the impression that it would look as good as it does on the 360, but i was wrong its going to looks like a improved halo 2!!

    i think the plan is make people buy a 360 or vista!!
  25. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Why have Vista and then only require a DX9 card? You all make good points albeit in huge paragraphs that dont need to be said, but in the end, its new os with old tech. Doesnt make much sense at all to me.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page