1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Official TPU 2013 Chimp Challenge Thread

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Apr 7, 2013.

  1. mx500torid

    mx500torid

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    823 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,099
    I threw together another 2600k first day yesterday stock got 21k now 4.43 ghz almost 29k. That should help. Really would like to see a 200k day one time.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Must be nice to have 2600k's lying around;). I have a i7-870 that will run WCG 24/7 without issue, but will not start a single SMP WU without erroring out. Frustrating! Luckily I have other CPU power to rely on...

    :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,995 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    These things happen. Temps are the biggest thing to monitor. If they are okay, then you just had a bad WU.
     
    Mathragh says thanks.
  4. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,070 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    291
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Core temperature stays between 38-48C, socket temps basically 10 degrees higher, so it should be fine I guess. Thanks for the info !
     
  5. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,593
    I had two CPU WU's fail on my i7 970 yesterday. The two GPU's were working fine. Temps on my CPU are around 40C or lower as I run everything at stock...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,075 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    From the official Folding@Home forum:
    Support for Intel internal graphics might be included in the next FahCore release, but it isn't yet. There are lots of considerations including the cost of development, and efficiency of the Intel graphics core, etc.
     
    Mathragh says thanks.
  7. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,070 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    291
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Why run stock, when you can.. Overclock! and allrighty, I suppose they just contained errors in the package then.

    Edit: Thanks for clearing that up for me Nasty!
     
  8. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,593
    I didn't check my rigs this morning before coming to work as I didn't have time. I would like to know what WU's the GPU's have been working on as my PPD today is already over 100,000:)
    The last two days I had 74,000 and 60,000. I will have to look when I get home.
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,707 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
  10. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    430 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Damnit I only saw this now and alittle late to the game I will probably start folding tomorrow.

    I currently have a i7 970 @ 4Ghz with a 6970 + 650SC in this rig.

    Then my HTPC has a Operton 170 with a 4890.

    probably won't get much production out of the opteron but the 4890 should be able to do something.

    Any suggestions?
     
  11. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,606 (8.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,452
    Sweet! :toast:

    I should hit 90,000+ today with my rig thanks to some very helpful veterans here assisting me with a few tweaks :cool:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,995 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    IMHO, don't even use the Opteron system. HD 4xxx and older are no longer supported.

    If you have not met the 10 SMP Work Units, I suggest,for the most points for the team, Folding under the ChimPowerUp username. If that is what you want to do, let us know and someone will PM you the passkey. That way you, well the team, will get the bonus right away without having to wait 10 Work Units.
     
    theonedub says thanks.
  13. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,133 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    ^ Good idea.

    Can anyone decipher the stats page? Would like to know what the standings look like at the moment.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. johnerz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Chippenham UK
    hertz9753 says thanks.
  15. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,822 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,444
    So awesome to see 100k ppd!! I seen myself come from the bottom and movin up.
     

    Attached Files:

    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,075 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    I just want to take the time to thank all the newcomers who are helping out with the Chimp Challenge. :toast: Some of you are cranking out some awesome numbers. :D I know I speak for all the other old-timers who've been plugging along all these years. We really, really appreciate your efforts. :respect::respect::respect:
     
  17. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    heh, I was folding before SMP came out. I remember running two single core clients when I first started.

    On that note, why am I getting WUs on my GTX260 that say the base credit is unknown? How can it not know how much credit I get for completing the WU? Is the GTX260 now so old that F@H lacks proper support for it?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,995 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2887223&postcount=2044
     
    hat says thanks.
  19. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,070 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    291
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    NastyHabits, laptop-hpc and mx500torid say thanks.
  20. johnerz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Chippenham UK
    That is just great new

    Congratulation to everyone :roll::roll::roll::roll:
     
  21. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hrm, so I was half right. The older GPUs get to eat older work units that aren't fully supported anymore. Sometimes it does report PPD, sometimes it doesn't.

    Hrm, my 1090T seems to keep crashing on SMP units. I get an error window that says FahCore_a3.exe has stopped working. //may have been a rogue memory timing
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    I killed my stats switching out some gpu's between my rigs. An Nvidia GT 610 gets about 3k ppd. Never folded with that card before. :)
     
  23. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,252 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Gentlemen, I came, I saw, I tried, but didn't conquer!

    I wasn't successful getting my workstation GPU (ATI v3750) to crunch, so for the last 48hrs have only been able to help with the Xeon E5472 CPU. The contribution is pathetic... but I'm there with you in spirit! And TBH I'm pleased this thread encouraged me to give it a go. I'm through the threshold!

    Since I'm going out of town until July, I'll be turning the workstation off while I'm out. But I'll try again when I get back... and in the meantime, I might be lucky in finding a cheap crunching GPU on ebay. Let me know if you spot something (EU not US).

    Good luck to the TPU team! :)
     
    hertz9753 and d1nky say thanks.
  24. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    Thank you for giving folding a try. :toast: ATI gpu's before the 5000 series can't fold anymore. Didn't you used to fold here or on another team?
     
  25. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,252 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    OK, that explains why the v3750 isn't working despite it being on the white-list. While I've been here at TPU forever, this is the first time I've loaded a folding client. So I'm new to the game! Lots to learn.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page