1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Official WoW Cataclysm Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by BondExtreme, Aug 21, 2010.

  1. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    I don't let people raid unless they have DBM. Statbuster, too.
     
  2. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    What blizzard gave you is a template, altering that template to your preference is not fucking with it I assume lol. Anyway DBM, Recount, Omen, Atlasloot and maybe some Profession mods is pretty much all you need nowadays, in terms of the UI its all down to the user.

    IMO without the addons it could be more challenging, but then again you're like a blind man on a wheelchair fighting off a dragon with your stick without these addons hahaha
     
  3. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    should rename this thread to: "Excuses for reactivating your old WoW account"
     
  4. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,118 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    787
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    haha im looking for an excuse to start a real one
     
  5. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Im looking at starting wow again also :( I've never really gotten into blizzard games but i told my mom today to get me sc2 for christmas so we will see if i get that. If i get sc2 i don't really wanna play wow so im gonna hold off till after christmas before deciding. I don't wish to be playing two mmorpg's because i know how addicting these games are and you just spend hours on them.
     
  6. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Bah, I have the urge to play it again. My mate is currently using my account due to his one being hacked, and he has no problem me playing and he pays the subscription. He even gave me the cata disk, OH just another reason to start playing again! :D. I'm installing now btw :)
     
  7. Stak New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i just made a WoW account a few days ago have level 8 rogue undead and level 7 human hunter. and this game is more frun then i would ever expect.
     
  8. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,331 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I think you mean Ratingbuster. I understand DBM, but there is no reason that Ratingbuster should be a required raid tool. I personally use it and it's nice to be able to compare your current item with a new one instantly. But not having it shouldn't be no raid invite.
     
  9. Stak New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Netherlands
    is that your car (avatar) if it is, congrats. nice car :)

    but i dont know what car it is.
     
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  10. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    downloading the client, farewell somewhat-mediocre social life. Do the worgens start at level 1? anyone know
     
  11. BondExtreme

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    588 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Just remember that the REAL fun starts at the highest level. That is where the end-game content is. :D
     
  12. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    indeed they do start at level 1.
     
  13. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,611 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Instance are A LOT harder! Compared to wrath.. you actually need to CC :eek:

    Any who I seem to get some players that are still playing like its wrath and are pulling massive groups of mobs and wiping on every trash pull.. :shadedshu
     
  14. BondExtreme

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    588 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    ^ Ugh yea. I am trying to only do runs now with my guild. Any pug I get, they are all morons. The groups pull without any CC and then the retard DPS and Tank yell at me because I can't heal through it and I go oom instantly....

    Someone in my guild refers to those peeps as downs.. Heh, ok maybe I should leave that part out.
     
  15. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,528 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    I started a new character on the Tanaris server with a friend. I decided since I raided as mage DPS for vanilla and healed as a priest through BC and Wrath that I would take up tanking as a warrior.

    Made 36 in a couple of days and I am enjoying the new content and leveling experience. It's so well done now. I went Goblin of course, great race.
     
  16. Reventon

    Reventon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,106 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    I'm 83 right now. Just started in Uldum not too long ago, love it. Want to be 85.

    I must say though that I love the leveling in Cata. Normally I hate leveling, but it's fun in the new zones.

    I use DBM, AtlasLoot, Recount, and a few others, but no interface addons. Interface addons are fail.
     
  17. BondExtreme

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    588 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Why are interface addons fail?

    I use dominos and it's nice to literally place and customize your action bars wherever you want. It makes it more clean.
     
  18. Reventon

    Reventon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,106 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    They are fail to me. Like I said, I like the way Blizzard set me up, don't fuck with it.
     
    driver66 and v12dock say thanks.
  19. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,331 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    At least it's just your guys addons that are fail. Ever since I started playing WoW again (about 4 months ago) I been trying to hunt down massive memory leaks. It seems addons make it a bit worse, as does having Steam interface. But things like DBM are needed to raid. I even went so far as to put a brand new W7 on here and all new WoW, and the leaking is back. It really sucks, doubt I could raid as the higher stress the game puts out, the faster it goes, I can level for hours, but standing in just a capital city and I'll probably memory leak out and crash within 5 - 10 min.

    Yep, thats my wheels, got a lot of work into it. It's a 99 Pontiac Grand Prix GTX.
     
  20. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    I like the way blizzard set me up, too. However, I forget which pages I leave things on that I need in a bind. Having everything open to me can be helpful. :p
     
  21. Reventon

    Reventon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,106 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Same here. That crap pisses me off. Can't go in Org basically.
     
  22. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,331 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Also the fact that the game still crossfires like ass. Turning off Cat AI does nothing either. I been tempted to turn off my comp and yank out a videocard just to play the game decently, very disappointing.
     
  23. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,118 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    787
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    I'm so close to playing again.... just got mono so I cant do much anyway, cant even go to the gym :(((, but ima hold out til bc2 vietnam and hopefully that keeps me occupied.
     
  24. BondExtreme

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    588 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    YES! My guild got to rank 2!!!! (Increased flight speed by 10%) ^_^
    You can really tell the difference especially if you have 310% flying. 10% added to that equals to roughly 350% flying!
     
  25. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Nope.
    The flight speed is +310%
    That is 410% * 1.1 = 451% speed.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page