1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OK to plug this in?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by hat, Jan 16, 2008.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    This is probably a very obvious and stupid question, but just making sure before I fry something very expensive.

    It seems the object I circled here is an extra power connector for the motherboard, and the 4-pin floppy power plug is supposed to go there. Since I ditched my floppy drive, I got a floppy power connector just sitting there... and the added power/stability won't hurt. I'm actually thinking it might cure my issues with the random crickety noises... if not, I'll assume it's coming from those coiley things on the motherboard. My computer is very quiet excelt the rattling of the NB fan.

    ok heres the pic
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    That looks like a fan control plug for the cpu look at your book it will tell you what goes there
    and if you don't have a book go to the makers site and download one b4 you do screw something up. Better overly safe than sorry with no computer ya know:)
     
  3. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    +1 on that. Also looks like a fan control plug to me also. Def consult the book and be overly cautious as Strick mentions.
     
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    The Mighty Book sez "5V/12V power"

    I hears it's supposed to be used with SLI, but I figured if I'm having these noises I might as well try it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    from page 65 in the manual for your motherboard that was at the dfi website:

    http://us.dfi.com.tw/Upload/Manual/922106292.pdf

    The FDD-type power connector is an additional power connector. If
    you are using two graphics cards, we recommend that you plug a
    power cable from your power supply unit onto the 5V/12V power
    connector at location J1. This will provide more stability to the entire
    system. The system board will still work even if the additional power
    connector is not connected.

    The system board requires a minimum of 300 Watt power supply
    to operate. Your system configuration (CPU power, amount of
    memory, add-in cards, peripherals, etc.) may exceed the minimum
    power requirement. To ensure that adequate power is provided, we
    strongly recommend that you use a minimum of 400 Watt (or
    greater) power supply.
     
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    It's for running SLI yeah I knew that, but what I'm asking is if I can use it even though I'm not running SLI.

    In fact it just might come in handy cause my video card doesn't take any form of external power, this little boost may be just what it needs..... (hevily overclocked 8500gt here)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've got an itchy floppy power connecting finger, but I don't want to harm anything... you guys sure this is alright, cause I'm not running SLI (and the manual reccomends to plug it in when using SLI, doesn't say anything about single-card setups)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    where are you going to plug it?
     
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    re-read post #1
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,621 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    It wont hurt anything... Will help alot on cards that have no external power...such as a 7600GT
     
  11. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    ya, all it does is prevent voltage drop if running 2 cards so plugging it in wont hurt anything but it shouldnt help anything other than the video card so if you think its getting a weak power supply then this could definately help you.
     
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    K, I'll try it. Look for an atomic-bomb blast in the general direction of Ohio...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    No chance, its better to plug it in anyway.
     
  14. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    Plugged in, working...
    However it doesn't cure the weird noises issue.

    Could these noises be coming from something with no moving parts, such as those power coil things on the motherboard?
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    Crap, I missed one of them while doing the circling.
    Well am I right that the sounds could be coming from there? It sounds pretty reasonable.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. MadCow New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    544 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Could be those, or capacitors. Listen around and try to find out where they're coming from.
     
  17. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    So it's pretty much nothing to worry about?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. MadCow New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    544 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Most likely not, it could also be your PSU though. If it is then I would worry about that.
     
  19. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    Nah, not the PSU. I got a Corsair 450vx, and I heard this sound on my old psu, but back then I knew I was getting this one. I can put my ear right up to the vented out part of the psu and not hear the noises. The only noise my PSU makes is when my computer isn't under loaad. It's kinda weird. As soon as I put it under load via a game, F@H, orthos stability test, it goes away. Also, back when I was running two hard drives, the sound wasn't there.

    I suspect it's because I've got a pretty low-power system and since things tend to take more power under load then when not under load, apparantly my power supply doesn't like that.... good thing I fold eh!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page