1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Okay need some help with a disk imaging program

Discussion in 'General Software' started by trt740, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    What imaging program will let me take my father in-laws 40 gb IDE Drive and make an exact bootable copy to, say a 1tb Sata drive. Will Acronis do it saving me an entire reinstall. Also after wards will it boot and act like it's the old drive.
  2. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Yes acronis is capable of that. If you want to directly clone one to another drive in your case from 40 GB to 1 GB drive you just select disk clone drive and point to source and destination drive and the choose do you want partitions to be proportional or fixed or exact size as on the old drive.
    If you want to clone specific partition you need to create image of that partition and after creation you use restore partition option and if that partition is bootable you make sure that you select active when asked.

    And if you are cloning Win7 you will have to make repair from the win7 installation disk that will take you 2 min.
    trt740 says thanks.
  3. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah. Clone disk. Boot from the Acronis cd and it's under Utilities. 40GB to 1 Terabyte. Wow.
    trt740 says thanks.
  4. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    I use nortons GHOST ... I like it best.
    trt740 says thanks.
  5. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Got Acronis Home 2009 for $5 after MIR but I am going to be looking into free linux solutions for this soon, myself.
    trt740 says thanks.
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,484 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,896
    If the 1tb Sata drive is new, it should come with a CD with the software on it. The Seagate program works great and can be done through Windows.
    trt740 says thanks.
  7. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    thx and by this proportional or fixed or exact size as on the old drive. You would want perportional correct? So that the drive used all 1 tb with one partion?
  8. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    in this case you would have to buy the retail version and it would have a mirror program on it correct?
  9. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Depends on how he wants to arrange his stuff, if he's going to be even half filling the 1tb that's an awful lot of data to lose if he needs to reinstall the OS so putting it on a seperate partition may be beneficial.
    trt740 says thanks.
  10. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Yes. And if there were two 20GB partitions on the 1TB they would end up as 500mb partitions.
    trt740 says thanks.
  11. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Okay well it will be all on partion because he has a 1 tb usb hard drive. I will get back to you on this he drop his computer off to me on there way to Florida. Hes not coming back tell April. Any edition of acronis you would recommend. It is also a regular back program correct? If you guys know of another cheaper program let me know.

    look what I found http://support.wdc.com/product/downloaddetail.asp?swid=119&wdc_lang=en


    Update I'm on his computer with his new cloned hard drive. It took all of about 10 minutes and worked like a charm thx all and thx Western Digital free Acronis addition
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2009
  12. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    :toast:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page