1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Old card fried lookin for new card

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by shank89, Jan 8, 2009.

  1. shank89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    Just shorted my 4850, lookin to get a new card.

    I have a 22" monitor, e8400, 4gb ram, ep45-ds4p, and vista.

    What card should i get, dont mind spending say 300 - 350. (Aussie dollars)

    I play crysis fallout and all, would like to play all on max except for crysis, with the 4850 i was playing at 1650x 1080 i think it is dx10, no aa, mix of gamer and enthusiast pretty comfortably, would like better (i was getting say 23 - 34 fps, i know not considered great but could play well).

    Please help me out.

    Cheers
     
  2. shank89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    And hopefully fits the t-rad 2, so that the thing doesnt go to waste
     
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,167 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
    try RMA yet?

    also may i ask what your system specs are because for all we know is your powersupply might of not been able to provide enough juice, unless if you shorted it yourself by touching contacts on the card, also if you killed the card on purpose, shame on you, if accidental, i feel sorry for ya.
     
  4. shank89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Specs are

    Mobo - ep45-ds4p
    CPU - e8400
    ram - 4gb gen
    hdd - 160gb sata
    optical - dvd-rw
    case - antec 1200 - 7 fans
    psu - coolermaster extreme 460w,
    monitor - 22 " lg 2ms

    I dont mind upgrading the psu to any recommended.

    And ofcourse it was an accident! lol, i wouldn't have done that on purpose to my baby :'(
     
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Dude RMA it.. If you can't then get a 4870!
     
  6. shank89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Cant rma it, as the warranty stickers and what not were taken off when i installed the t-rad
     
  7. shank89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is the 4870 good enough will it do good ? Also will it run on my psu... i heard that card will b bottlenecked by my monitor
     
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    It would probably work but Cooler master make some pretty crappy PSU's. I would get a Corsair 550w or Antec 500w with one if you can.
     
  9. shank89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Will the t-rad 2 fit on it?

    Will the t-rad 2 fit on a x2?

    So the card would work on this psu for now?


    What needs to be intact to rma?

    I have put as many stickers as i can back on
     
  10. shank89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    All the stickers except for the little void if removed or something similar is back on
     
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Well if you got the stickers back on I would try and RMA. From my experience they don't really look at the card much if its a store RMA. I returned an old 4850 to Newegg and they didn't even notice there were only 3 screws in :laugh: Good luck!
     
  12. shank89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Also with rma, do i have to wait for another card or do they give me one on the spot?
     
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    They will send you a new one when they get yours and accept it.
     
  14. shank89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Its a store front in the city in sydney, what is the procedure for rma any way, do they have to send it away?
     
  15. Bigjohn

    Bigjohn

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    400 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Woodstock, GA USA
    Physical stores have different policies.
    Some have 30 day no question exchanges.
    Others will honor the term of the manufacturers warranty, exchanging during that term.

    So you need to know the store policy.

    Typically, you put the card back into the condition it was when you bought it. If they ask about missing stickers, you can explain that you put an after market cooler on the board...
     
  16. shank89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Isn't putting an aftermarket cooler on the board warranty void?
     
  17. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yea but they never know :nutkick:
     
  18. shank89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    They never konw that you put one on or that it voids the warranty?
     
  19. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    They never you put one on. Its pretty hard to tell.
     
  20. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
  21. shank89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So just dont tell them then?
     
  22. shank89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok i just called up the store,

    What they do is, they send it to the manufacturer and they determine whats wrong with it and they either repair it or what not but will take 3 - 4 weeks.

    Should i try it?

    I have put a different screw in one of the holes as i was missing the same one, it kinda looks the same but doesn't fit in perfectly like the others, it sits in the hole but isnt lok enough to screw in. But doesn't fall out.
     
  23. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    690
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    might I ask how you fried it? that would make a difference on wether or not to RMA, and wether or not you should reinstall the T-Rad:laugh:
     
  24. shank89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Not 100% sure, i was installing extra sinks to the mosfets and there may ghave been a bit of thermal paste that got onto the card, i cleaned it with isocol, still no go bios screen gets colorful dots the the monitor shuts down
     
  25. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    690
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    yeah, got to watch out for that. I almost had some thermal paste accidents on my x800GTO.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page