1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Old Games & New Graphics Drivers

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by bear2790, Jan 3, 2011.

  1. bear2790

    bear2790 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    206 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    my favorite PC game is called Descent 3 and I used to be able to play it no prob (at least with GTX 260-216 and HD48xx series) until I installed a 460 GTX card. I tried both OpenGL and Direct graphics modes and it will only run on 16 bit and it looks horrible and the interface screen (which shows next mission) is unreadable.

    I tried earlier nVidia driver versions (190 thru 197) but they say I have no compatible graphics hardware.

    Anyone know how I can run Descent 3 without having to uninstall 460GTX drivers/card and installing a ATI X1300 card I have laying around?
  2. blu3flannel

    blu3flannel

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    898 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    NYU
    I believe this thread has the solution to your problem.
  3. bear2790

    bear2790 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    206 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    this is why I love this place :)
  4. blu3flannel

    blu3flannel

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    898 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    NYU
    I'm assuming it worked, then? How exactly does it happen?
  5. bear2790

    bear2790 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    206 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    just tried it and it doesn't help at all. I created a desktop icon, the command prompt window opens, I can run the game but the colors are still aweful and when I go to 32 bit the screen blanks out and only a few distorted color shapes come through (like the mystify windows xp screensaver)
  6. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Have you tried a 64bit/ newer OS ?
  7. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,203 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,126
    did you try running it in XP mode?
  8. bear2790

    bear2790 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    206 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    I have Windows 7 Ultimate 32/64 bit on the way ... then I can try running it in XP mode, etc

    Right now I'm running Windows XP 32 bit
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2011
  9. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Cool.. is it Win7 32 or 64 bit or both?..

    @Easy Rhino heh.. I almost asked about XP mode too lol;)
  10. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    617 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    155
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    Not revive a possibly dead thread, but XP Mode in Windows 7 does not support GPU acceleration, so that will not work.
    stinger608 says thanks.
  11. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Thus why I did not recommend it. :)

    Upgrading to Win7 32 or 64bit, should of fixed things. Too bad there is no update. lol
  12. bear2790

    bear2790 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    206 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    still can't get the graphics to look ok.
  13. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    What does tech support have to say ? Sounds like its RMA time.
  14. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,330 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    532
    i too love Descent 3, i keep it on my flash drive just in case lol. great game one you tweak the controls. i've had good luck running it on a 9600GT, can't say much about newer cards tho.

    however Shogo: MAD doesn't seem to like nVidia's cards too well.
  15. bear2790

    bear2790 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    206 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    On a flash drive hu? LOL

    It's a non-bloody just kill the robots fps - no other PC game like it. I'm amazed no one ever came out with a version using todays graphics capabilities.

    I have a MSI 980-G65 mobo coming this week. It has onboard video (nVidia 8400 I think) and I bet that'll work plus, I can run my 460GTX until I grab another one open box so I can do SLI :)
  16. scoutingwraith

    scoutingwraith

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    723 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Descent 3 was great but somehow i still am not able to find a game that is Amazing as "Freespace". Too bad the genre is almost dead now for some reason.
  17. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    I had the same problem bear... here is my fix thread... hopefully it works!

    Click here!!!
  18. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    731 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Prime reason I have and old Athlon64 box with an X850 XT and XP. All my pre-2005 games are on it.
  19. bear2790

    bear2790 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    206 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    ok, another possible clue ... once I run Descent 3 and close it out it will not re-start. I get an error message says the Directory is in use and to us ea temp directory. I reboot and all is well.

    Here's what happens when I try to leave the game and go to the main D3 launcher window ...

    Attached Files:

  20. bear2790

    bear2790 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    206 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    here's the in-game shot ... textures are flat, colors are weak

    Attached Files:

    • main.jpg
      main.jpg
      File size:
      172.8 KB
      Views:
      95
  21. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Are you installing it and running it "as Administrator" ?
    Or goto the setup folder/disc and right click/properties the setup.exe file, and unblock /try xp mode. If the game has a DirectX folder, installing it may help aswell.
  22. bear2790

    bear2790 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    206 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Tried it, doesn't help.

    The game runs well when I use the OpenGL graphics card selection from the setup's Video drop down menu. The problem is the 16 bit vs 32 bit.

    When I change in-game to 32 bit this happens ... (at least it looks like a space photo with starts :wtf:)

    Attached Files:

  23. bear2790

    bear2790 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    206 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    and when I select Direct3D graphics card this happens with both on and off Force Vsync. While in-game, OpenGL & Direct3D look identical and neither can do 32 bit ...

    Attached Files:

  24. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,028 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,246
    it is from the end of the 90's I see, so isn't it supposed to run @ 16 or 24 bit?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. bear2790

    bear2790 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    206 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    yes, and no. It is supposed to run at 16 or 32 bit

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 12, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page