1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Old skool AMD OCing need some help

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Xazax, Oct 11, 2010.

  1. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,420 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    398
    Acquired an friends of mine old PC when im talking old im talking S939, FX-57 With some Corsair DDR400 memory(suppose to high-end shit) motherboard is an A8N32-SLI Deluxe, some really old school high-end hardware and im thinking about taking it for abit of fun the CPU is watercooled so temps wont be a problem how high can i take this thing?

    any advice or guides would be helpful googled around abit but havent found much other then irrelevant posts.
  2. FishHead69

    FishHead69

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Rocky,QLD,AU
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,602 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,991
    Doesn't the FX series have an unlocked multiplier? All you need to do for that chipset is raise the multi and the voltage.
  4. FishHead69

    FishHead69

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Rocky,QLD,AU
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2010
    Xazax says thanks.
  5. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,796 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    674
    Location:
    South Carolina
    If you can get it to 3.4ghz it will be a great chip.
  6. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    good old AMD FX series, back when they ruled CPU's, I was so jealous when my mate got an FX-51, as Asylum said, 3.4ghz would be stellar, anything over 3.2 is respectable already.
  7. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,778 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Location:
    New York
    I agree! I had one on a vapochill and struggled hard to get the chip to over clock well...The FX57 is pretty much already at its limits when it was released. I doubt highly that you will get much more than a 300mhz clock out of it. Nice stuff tho!
  8. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,567 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    514
    Location:
    Australia
    Awesome chip, i still have mine :)

    Honestly the most i think you will get will be a little over 3.0GHz they never realy got to much more out of them :(

    But i did see somewhere that one person did get 3.9GHz out of one, crazy shit but must of been on ice or something to get it that high.
  9. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,420 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    398
    yeah been fiddling with it and right now im at 3.15 anything @ 3.2 and above is POST stable but wont boot into windows and i damn near fiddled with every feature, my buddy who previously owned it says he was able to do a bench-run with it @3.4ghz but i really dont even see how that is possible!
  10. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,420 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    398
    [​IMG]
  11. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,567 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    514
    Location:
    Australia
    Yea 3.4GHz i think he was dreaming there, faster ram and near frozen water maybe? but yea i dont think so.

    Whats the temps at that clock?
  12. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,420 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    398
    The ram is CMX512-3200XL PRO which according to him, was know to hit speeds up to 800mhz.. but i cant even get them to post/boot at DDR500 speeds, so far i've got them running DDR450 2-2-2-7
  13. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,567 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    514
    Location:
    Australia
    800Mhz??? LOL now that would be impressive to see.

    Good ram but yea i think you have pushed it as far as it will go.

    The FX-57 does like higher clocked ram as mine always ran on DDR500 and it did improve performance a bit. 3-4-3-8 timing (i think)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page