1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OMG...HD6950 too slow?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by ghen, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. ghen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    34 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi!

    I was using Zotac GTX275 until today,and wanted a change;so I brought a brand new Asus HD6950 .

    After the installation,I formatted up my PC for a new start, and what the heck?
    Even with a simple graphics game like WoW , the frame rate was about 38-40fps.
    I switched to TDU2 , which I was suffering with Very High details,was the same with my ex GTX275. No improvements .

    I was shocked,and immediately flashed HD6970 bios into my 6950.

    It's still the same. Very low fps rates. Also there's a considerable slowage on whole system. The windows are freezing for 1-2 sec in Windows,and applications really are slow.
    What may be the reason?

    My pc spec :

    Core i7 920 2.66 GHz
    Kingston 3x2GB DDR3 1866 MHz Rams
    Asus P6T Deluxe Mainboard
    Xilence Gaming Series 800w PSU
    Benq 22" Full HD LCD
    Asus Vento 3600 ATX
     
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,998 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,238
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    are you using catalyst 11.1 drivers??
     
  3. ghen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    34 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yes.

    And this is the 3DMark 11 Score:

    P4618 3DMarks
     
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,998 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,238
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    that sounds about right for the 3dmark score. what resolution are you gaming at??

    maybe overclock your 920 to 3.4 3.6ghz will help. assuming you have an after market cooler

    But since applications are being slow and stuff in windows it might be a driver problem and ati drivers have been crappy for a lot of people lately
     
    ghen says thanks.
  5. ghen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    34 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I game at 1920x1080 Res.
    I've no idea about OC'ing my processor,nor I have a aftermarket cooler :(

    So this score is normal??
     
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,998 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,238
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    yeah it looks about right. Dont worry about overclocking for right now. Once we figure out why your programs are slow in windows (which is probably a ati driver issue) then we can look at overclocking your CPU to boot all your games performance
     
  7. ghen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    34 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So the Catalyst is up to date. I cannot think of a driver issue :(
     
  8. Razi3l

    Razi3l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    38 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sub-sector Aurelia
    If your CPU is running at stock it may be that. Dont go by Vantaged scores by the way, they don't really prove anything. So long as your FPS are good in games you should be fine. You may wanna invest in a decent aftermarket cooler (Thermaltake Frio is a good one for example) and overclock your CPU a bit. =)
     
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,998 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,238
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Drivers can cause problems during the installation process, download, etc or just have issue in the driver itself. Just because the driver is up to date doesnt mean that there isnt problems in the driver. Ati in the lastl ike 6 driver releases have been causing problems with peoples system. I had problems with my first 5870 with 10.3 drivers. i returned the 5870 and got a reference 5870 and got the 10.4 drivers and it was way better along with the 10.5. after the 10.5 ati drivers went down the shitter

    this except id stay away from any thermaltake cooler haha. Look Xigmatek Aegir, Darknight, Prolimatech Megahalem, Corsair H50, or a Cooler Master hyper 212+ if your on a budget
     
  10. Razi3l

    Razi3l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    38 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sub-sector Aurelia
    Same can be said for NVIDIA drivers. It is generally down to user error. I also find that using driver sweeper generally causes more problems than it solves. Its always best to remove drivers using the utility provided in/with the installers. Catalyst drivers are just as bad as NV.
     
  11. ghen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    34 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I 'm really sorry about the money i invested as I was expecting a huge amount of performance increase after GTX275.
     
  12. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,998 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,238
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    return it and get a GTX560Ti??


    Not really. The only bad drivers from nvidia have been the last like 2 or 3 releases and even then i never had a problem with them. not saying other people didnt i know they did in bc2. but ive had more problems with ati drivers and 0 with nvidia.
     
  13. Razi3l

    Razi3l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    38 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sub-sector Aurelia
    World of Warcraft isn't exactly all that much of a GPU hog. It relies heavily on the CPU and the hard drive (having an SSD improves performance loads. As for TDU2, its just poorly optamized and horrible. You may want to run something more GPU-heavy like Crysis or Metro 2033, if you own these.
     
  14. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,998 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,238
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    if WoW relies on CPU which it does he should buy a after market cooler and overclock that 920
     
  15. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,338 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,564
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    A core i7 920 at stock does not need to be overclocked to run games well on a good graphics card. You'll get marginal gains, nothing spectacular. Something else is at fault.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  16. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,553 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    951
    Wow, unlike other games, will benefit from any cpu speed increase, even into the high 4s you get with sandy.
     
  17. Razi3l

    Razi3l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    38 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sub-sector Aurelia
  18. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Did you uninstall the Nvidia drivers with driver sweeper etc?
     
  19. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,084 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
  20. Razi3l

    Razi3l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    38 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sub-sector Aurelia
    Aye you're right though some games are unplayable, thats what I was going for. It really depends on what OP plays, but the 2 games he mentioned are either horribly optamized or resource hogs.
     
  21. purecain

    purecain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    625 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    always used ati cards apart from my very first, which was an nvidia card that didnt do what it said on the box...

    anyway, in 10years i've never suffered from the freezing windows on desktop ect... unless i'm overclocking for decent benchmark scores...

    so i suggest you look at using driver cleaner to get rid of all the nvidia crap and then reinstall your ati driver...

    your problem is with your os...not your gfx card....

    last resort is to reinstall your os..... good luck...
     
  22. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,228 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Something isn't right here. Wow can't destroy a 6950 like that lol.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  23. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    That's weird.... I just got a couple of 6950's and was using not too long ago a couple of GTX 460's and I can defiantly see a difference.

    Does it only happen on cretin games.... or with everything. And I believe you said you cleaned all the drivers.... but just double checking.

    I agree.... allot with what this guy says. Something else has to be wrong here. I have had problems with ATI in the past but I also have had problem with Nvidia. But I can tell you that when If a ATI card is receiving the correct Benchmarks score but not performing in other areas.... something else is wrong whether it is a defective card or something else. :toast:

    Below is a link to the 6970/6950 review at Guru3D and this example shows Far Cry 2 FPS (Which is a Highly Coded Nvidia Game IMO) It shows almost double the performance from a GTX 275. Give a look around and compare it to what your getting in your games. Plus these were done on older drivers not the 11.1a drivers so results should be even better.

    http://www.guru3d.com/article/radeon-6950-6970-review/16
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2011
  24. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    sounds like cpu holding the card back but thats just me. especially considering it sounds like it was holding back the last card as well
     
    TotalChaos says thanks.
  25. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    You know I had a motherboard once that had a PCIe slot failing. If you have two try a different slot and see what happens. Just another thought.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page