1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Onboard Sound

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ali2487, Jun 26, 2006.

  1. ali2487 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    145 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    gouys i hear that onboard sound really eats processor and ram

    so i have found a pci soundcard lying around will any soundcard take the stresses off the mobo n ram??

    please advise
  2. «BladE|==| New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    97 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane
    to my knowledge, i don't think it does...anyways, with a 3.6ghz processor you probably would notice anything at all. Hm, i'll have to test that at work tomorrow and i'll get back to you if no one else has.

    also, how old is the card you're thinking of sticking in? Any older than 4 years i wouldn't bother, lol.
  3. cjoyce1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    715 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    this is depended on your processor, and how much ram you have, in general, sound processing can take up to 1%-50% of system resources, but this totally system depended.

    looking at yours i would say around 5%-15%, not really something to write home about in performance upgrade, but should give you better overall performance. so get it install.
  4. ali2487 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    145 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    thanks 4 dat mate!
  5. ali2487 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    145 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i finkl its sumwere between 2-4 yrs?
  6. «BladE|==| New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    97 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane
    hmm ok, the main issue about that is your onboard may produce better sound. lol.

    Wouldn't want to downgrade now would we!?

    :nutkick:
  7. ali2487 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    145 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    thats what i was thinking bcos onboard is kinda good sound very clear and nice bass

    but i will do ANYTHING for performance!
  8. «BladE|==| New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    97 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Heh, it's funny because you're crazy...>.>...in a GOOD way of course! :roll:
  9. «BladE|==| New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    97 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Also, if you ARE putting that sound card in, make sure you can find drivers for it! Gah, hate drivers so much. Hopefull vista will have like, every driver in the known world...that'd be cool.
  10. ali2487 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    145 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i have vista and product two keys!

    but i am dubious about installing it! cos its beta and mite b unstable!
    buh then agen there is dx10!
  11. WeStSiDePLaYa

    WeStSiDePLaYa New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    83 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    if its an old crappy card it may actually use more cpu cycles. not to mention losing decent sound. i mean why bother? the only time the onboard will affect things is when your gaming and such, so everyday perfomance wont suffer.

    and would you rather have crappier sound for 1-2FPS?

    if its something like an old soundblast Live! or audigy i would suggest to install it and use modified drivers. if not id say dont waste your time, and your sound quality.

    *EDIT*

    also, if you REALLY wanted all the perfomance you can get you would ditch the crappy dell and DIY.
  12. ali2487 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    145 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i am giving DIY a thought mate obnly thing i have NEVER built 1 and mite funk it up on the way!
  13. evil bill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    370 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Scotland
    I recently bought an OEM Audigy for £20 and dumped the onboard sound and the difference in quality was huge. In CSS I was gettign really bad distortion with multiple gunfire sources. But like the other say, it depends how old the card you have is.

    You can probably make a bigger difference to you system by flogging your 4 x 256mb RAM on eBay and buying either 2 x 512MB if you have Dual Channel, or 1 x 1GB as its rarely optimal to have all your RAM channels filled with smaller modules.

    Certainly on some ASUS boards it causes your RAM to run slower overall, e.g. PC3200 to run at PC2700 speeds.
  14. ali2487 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    145 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    well i do have dual channel and i am looking at the possiblity of upgrading the ram AGAIN! maybe to 2 x 1gb and den 2x 512mb all running at 533mhz will this be any good??
  15. evil bill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    370 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Scotland
    do you mean having 2 x 1Gb AND 2 x 512MB??? i.e. 3GB in total?


    IMO this would be pointless, as again you are filling all your RAM slots which is not the most efficient way of settign out your RAM as I understand it. 2 x 1GB in Dual Channel would be your best bet - forget about filling all your RAM slots, its like using all your PCI slots just cause you have them.
  16. ali2487 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    145 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    right i see what you mean what u have assumed is correct

    so what about 2 x 1gb = 2gb? wud this boost performance?
  17. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
  18. ali2487 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    145 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  19. WeStSiDePLaYa

    WeStSiDePLaYa New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    83 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    3gigs of slower ram will be faster than 2gigs of fast ram in real world apps.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page