1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

One long bios beep in award bios GA-Z6XP-UD4

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by RuskiSnajper, Nov 12, 2011.

  1. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    Hello

    making new custom system today


    set up all the bios settings i know and read in manual, memory runs in default sticker settings, no XMP profile enabled , intel turbo boost disabled , CPU clocks run default stock,

    memory is Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB DDR3 1600mhz 9-9-9-24 1.5v , 2 sticks are in channel 2 , channel 1 empty.

    Intel Core i5 3.3 MHZ sandy bridge



    somethign new to me is "Rank Interleaving" ... no idea about that but i read it's something similar to Channel interleaving for increasing performance so also web tells me it's good to enable it.

    All power saving and smart CPU "thermal/load auto-clock" options are disabled.

    I have a bit issue finding bios beeps for gigabyte's newest boards with their Award bios (which i prefer over AMI:p)

    One LONG beep at memory detectioin in first post screen, BOOT is OKAY, appears to work fine.

    no windows installed yet, bios updated to F5 from F1 , Crucial SSD M4 128GB updated to 0009

    HDDs (not connected yet)
    1x WD6400AALS (old sata2 caviar black)
    1x WD5000AAKS (old sata2 caviar blue)

    I already did memtest and it passed 9 hours of 8 passes and i ... think i got something wrong , the memtest i have which is 4.2v and it appears it has a real issue detecting correct settings i may have to repeat the whole test.



    This is the memtest screen , the DRAM settings are shown totally wrong. 6-6-6-20 WTF ?
    [​IMG]
    The question is: is the overnight burn test valid ? - showed no errors


    The long beep is ONLY heard at startup from poweroff and NOT AT REBOOT.
    The long beep was not heard with F1 bios version.
    Note: F1 bios was not customized completely (no intrleaving, all other default, only ram settings and memtest)



    UPDATE: The bios has a normal short beep for OK , the LONG beep follows 1 second after when the POST screen is almost finished and it's a different tone, i still need to identify what the heck is this sound or from where it is... i will try disconnecting stuff like DVD drive , ssd and audio card or even gpu.




    Question:

    CPU PLL overvoltage ? why should this be enabled if i disabled Turbo boost ? What is CPU PLL anyways ?

    ------------------------------------------------------ Offtopic
    There is no way to completely disable GPU core ? , and imo what is this talk about "onboard VGA" ... since it appears it's taking 32MB memory "buffer size" from the main memory, i hope it's not taking that memory when disabled , it's "enable if no ext PEG" obviously i set but oh well.
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2011
  2. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    No offence, but your questions seem to be all over the place, can you post a summary of your questions that you want answered please?
     
  3. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,605 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,385
    yeah Im having a bit of a hard time making sence of this also.

    Whats the deal? Why you running mem test b4 you install windows?
    I thought ppl buy hardware, assemble it, install it.. Voila it works! Are you having a problem with the memory or you just looking for fault in the build? :wtf:
     
  4. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    there are about 3 questinos , CPU PLL , long beep, and memtest wrong DRAM settings


    What is CPU PLL and ...etc
    Award bios beeps: Long beep after short beep(POST-ok)
    memtest validity with wrong DRAM clock detection
     
  5. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Enable CPU PLL if you are OC'ing. If you're leaving CPU speeds at stock, then disable it.
    I've never listened to BIOS beeps. I prefer to get my hands dirty :p
    Are you manually setting all RAM timings etc?
     
  6. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    610
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    long beep is norm a mem issue or gfx not inserted/powered imho thats what ive seen anyway
     
    More than 25k PPD
  7. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    There is no option to disable CPU PLL

    EDIT: posting new screens .... in a minute

    More Images

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Not on Images(forgot): After the error the POST screen said "Wait for enter to m9..." followed by hard-reboot (shutdown and start) and then inside the bios

    There appears to be large bugs with INTERNAL SANDY BRIDGE GPU "GRAPHICS CORE" Voltage Settings that makes the bios "fail boot" errors randomly , (there is no BEEPs when that error happend)

    This cyclus has happend a number of times
    1. voltages set on auto - other bios settings ok, dram ok ,
    2. happens out of nothing when booting computer
    3. "Wait to enter m9" or something
    4. hard reboot
    5a. automatically CLR CMOS (happened first time)
    5a2. "Graphics Core" is defaulted (AUTO)
    5b. No CLR CMOS (happend afterward)
    6. "Graphics Core" voltage is still set to 0.000v
    7. "Graphics Core" cannot be set to any voltage other than manual.

    8. I want Sandy Bridge GPU Disabled but i WAS NOT MAKING IT 0.000 - this is a bug it happend by it self or what the heck .... I just set "ONBOARD VGA" to "Enable if No ext PEG"

    This is some weird "m9" bios state or what , RAM is running on 1333 as the failsafe made it but it's still set 1600 as this time the CMOS was not automatically cleared.

    Currently: I did not apply the bios settings after entering them when the error happend , i shut down from this what you see in the images (because DRAM is overvoltaged when run at 1.5 and 1333)

    SIDE EFFECT: The option to set "Onboard VGA Buffer size" does not exist anymore ... weird.

    If the gpu is disabled now ... then great. But there is nothing really wrong, the PC boots fine and im able to do stuff but this bios is really buggy , or the AUTO options are completely wrong ? AUTO has always been so wrong for voltages historically.

    Yet to test: The long bios beep might(speculation) just be the FAN FAIL WARNING as PWM CPU fan started rotating after the long beep ... more later if this is culprit.


    I am going to restart the system now and see what bios shows ... i have prepared other bios version if F5 does not work , go to F4 and down to F2 if there will be any differece.

    please get me some voltage settings , they are all auto and i think it's all wrong. I do not want onboard VGA but i did NOTHIGN else my self except the obvious setting in "onboard VGA" = "Enable if no Ext PEG"

    UPDATE:

    LONG BIOS BEEP IS SOLVED AS " FAN FAIL WARNING SOUND"

    CPU FAN is a PWM Fan that:

    CPU Fan starts
    POST Screen Starts after short beep
    CPU Fan shuts down
    Different Tone LONG BEEP
    CPU Fan Restarts

    I just disabled the fail warning and beep goes away.

    Something wrong with this PWM fan as i have no experience with the owner of the previous PC says that this PWM Fan was told to re-set at boot so it operates as bios tells but this mobo just has some bug with it , i should disable CPU SMART FAN CONTROL and that is




    Okay so This has nothing to do with the major "Graphics Core" voltage option right now. I think the "m9" is actually a state when GPU is switched off on the Sandy bridge CPU and that's why the voltage is 0 ... that's a good thing actually :D But whenever i enter the bios the RED WINDOW WARNING re-appears but does nothign else.

    If i don't get any more POST errors then this should be okay now .... the weird thing is , i always had "Enable if no Ext PEG" and it didn't do the POST error ...

    Now ... i think im ready to install windows ... and i'll keep an eye for this and keep reporting. Still i have no idea about voltage settings , PLL 1.8 appears to be very high as i heard on the web.


    UPDATE on POST error issue.

    It appears that this error happens after rebooting computer from "NO DISK" state when it waits for OS.


    This is a stupid POST error as it tells something else has gone wrong while it has not, because I KNOW I DON'T HAVE ANY HDD/SSD installed or any Boots (disconnected all devices). Because it's not the PC BOOT that failed , only the OS boot failed. meh

    Speculation:
    So i guess the side effet of the POST error is: It shuts down Sandy Bridge GPU. Great! LOL


    Also now i got the screen for the mysterious "m9"
    [​IMG]

    m9 is "ME" ... the number is counting down for user to press any key for hard reboot

    After the bios save and reboot the DRAM frequency and BCLK returns to normal 1600 and 100 , from 1333 and 99.89


    If only the manual contained more diagnostic info about bios would be nice. because i had no idea what the heck was going on it's certainly NOT bad bios settings except PLL.
    I will report this whole thread to gigabyte support.

    Gigabyte Award BIOS DIAGNOSTIC BUG THEORY:

    1. The post error happens if you restart PC after "DISK BOOT FAILURE" after POST. This is not an issue with the actual boot the error received is WRONG.

    2. The Onboard Sandy GPU issue might be a side effect because this 0.000 voltage and no existance of the "VGA frame buffer size" option disapparance happend the first time i got POST error and also the bios CMOS was completely cleared to default. Afterward the GPU stayed off and no more clearing of CMOS.

    3. previously this has not happend when rebooting because i was rebooting inside DVDRom boot in this case memtest always poped up and there was no "DISK BOOT FAILURE" in those cases.

    We should be able to totally shut down the Sandy Bridge GPU and also set RAM allocation to 0 MB a not the minimal "32MB +2 " as it is possible normally.

    This motherboard is GA-Z68XP-UD4 1.0 F5 , remember it cannot be RAM , 8 memtest passes.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 12, 2011
  8. Inceptor

    Inceptor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Just a word of advice...

    Organize your comments and questions...

    This whole thread is completely disorganized and difficult to understand. Which means Gigabyte support will have trouble with it as well.

    1) state your problem(s) clearly and concisely.
    2) explain what you did that led to the problem(s), clearly and concisely, and in an organized manner.
    3) explain what you were trying to accomplish, in detail, clearly and concisely, and in an organized manner.
    4) do this for each problem separately, not the way you've done it here in this thread.
     
  9. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe

    it's hard to do this when stuff is happening every minute and i have to write something down fast without loosing or forgetting and running around the house from comptuer to computer
     
  10. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,197 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    "Load Optimized Defaults" & F10 on reboot " totally shut down the Sandy Bridge GPU and also set RAM allocation to 0 MB" & F10 again
    on the next reboot set your bios options to shut down all fan warnings again
    "waiting for Me" count down is the bios clearing the ram from bad shut down nothing to worry about
    this thread is full of info the bios are almost the same
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums...y-Bridge-OC-Guide-P67A-UD7-Performance-Review

    I see that you updated the bios from F1 did you update the backup chip also?
    it's best with a ps2 keyboard

    power on press Alt + F12,u will see

    "Press [Enter] to start copying Main Bios to Backup Bios..."
    then press enter wait writing to B_bios 100% is ok
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 12, 2011
    RuskiSnajper says thanks.
  11. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    no just the main

    in the manual - and also historically - it's said that you cannot update backup bios so i never tried lol

    thanks a lot
     
  12. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,024 (6.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,572
    Please do not post five times in a row. There is an Edit button, learn the nuances of it please!
     
  13. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    So to disable the PLL - i just disable the "CPU PLL overvoltage" option in Adv Frequency Settings



    UPDATE on the main thread issue:

    The POST error also happens when you reboot(restart button) your PC when bios stuff is still loading when in PAUSE state in AHCI loader. (not sure about other occasions)

    Appears to be a really really stupid bug - THAT I WASTED WHOLE AFTERNOON ON.
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page