1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Open CL tick not showing on 5870 with newest drivers.

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by mankind, Dec 18, 2009.

  1. mankind New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    67 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Is this a bug? As the hotfix drivers say

     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,012 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,879
    it's a bug in gpu-z. the attached build should work
     

    Attached Files:

  4. mankind New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    67 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Nah, still not working.

    I have the ATI Stream SDK v2.0 installed and the hotfix 8.12's.
     
  5. Divide Overflow

    Divide Overflow

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    198 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Thanks, that finally shows OpenCL support for my 4870. (ATI Stream SDK v2.0, 9.12 drivers, 9.12 hotfix.)

    The 9.12 drivers indicate that DirectCompute should be supported on this hardware now but there is no tick in the DirectCompute box. Hopefully just another small bug that can be corrected. :)

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2009
  6. ToTTenTranz

    ToTTenTranz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    865 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Porto
    Why leave the HD3xxx out, I wonder.
     
  7. mankind New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    67 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Odd, Direct compute here is ticked, but not Open CL........
     
  8. mankind New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    67 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    GPU caps viewer indicates Open CL is present

    [​IMG]
     
  9. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    i dont think i installed opencl correctly it shows my processor as the opencl device not my GPU
     
  10. Divide Overflow

    Divide Overflow

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    198 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Where are you seeing that information?
     
  11. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    In Processor Caps but im pretty sure its because i remoted into my machine from work i will update when im at home tonight.
     
  12. r1rhyder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    194 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    texas
  13. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    888 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Just use the GPU-Z version Wizzard gave in post #3 and it works. I have both openCL and Direct compute ticked.
     
  14. mankind New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    67 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    No it doesn't ;)
     
  15. r1rhyder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    194 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    texas
    The 9.12 hotfix is not working like it should with my setup. With 2 5970's, only one core out of four clocks up. Three cores never come out of power saving mode 175/300, using GPUCaps to test.
     
  16. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    Yea it was me remoting in from work that messed it up...SS time, The GPU-Z that Wiz complied in this thread still does not show opencl.
    [​IMG]
     
  17. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,012 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,879
    whats the name of your opencl device ? "ATI Cypress" ?

    because that's what GPU-Z is looking for. AMD screwed up big time here.
    GPU-Z tries to correlate opencl devices to the devices it found on its own. while nvidia uses what you see in the gpu-z "Name" field, minus "NVIDIA ". ati builds their name by using the codename of the gpu (inconsistently, for example RV770 for R700. yes i know r700 exists only in marketing) and then slaps "ATI " in front of that.

    in order to get dx compute on vista you need dx 11 runtimes + driver support
     
  18. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    Opencl device is just Cypress
    opencl1.jpg
     
  19. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,012 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,879
    thanks, try the attached build

    anyone with 5970, does it show "Cypress" or "Hemlock" as opencl deviec name?
     

    Attached Files:

    r1rhyder, mankind and dir_d say thanks.
  20. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    Works :D good to go now...
    GPUZ.jpg
     
  21. mankind New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    67 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Works :)

    Thanks Wiz, now on to GPU Tool support ;)
     
  22. Divide Overflow

    Divide Overflow

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    198 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Win7 64 here, with DX 11 and the latest 9.12 & 9.12 hotfix drivers installed. GPU-Z does not show DirectCompute capability even though the drivers mention it should be supported on my 4870.

     
  23. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    How do you install OpenCL? I dont understand these directions.

    Installation
    Install ACML-GPU as follows.
    1. Make sure the system has a PCI Express® slot of the correct size and an adequate power supply (see
    http://ati.amd.com/products/radeonhd3800/requirements.html or http://ati.amd.com/ products/
    radeonhd4800/requirements.html for more information).
    2. Install the AMD graphics card by following the manufacturer instructions.
    3. Install the ATI Catalyst base drivers.
    4. Restart the system.
    5. Verify that the base drivers are working correctly.
    6. Install the ATI Stream SDK. Run the ATI Stream SDK examples to verify proper operation. This step
    is optional since the ATI Stream runtimes are now included in the ATI Catalyst base driver
    installation.
    7. Install ACML-GPU as follows. For the Windows operating system, unzip the compressed archive or
    use Windows Explorer to move the library and example files to a working directory. For the Linux
    operating system, extract from the .tgz archive to a working directory using tar -zxf
    "filename". The performance examples run DGEMM problems as large as 8000×8000. Problems
    of this size can require up to 1.3 GB of the available system memory to run. It may be possible to run
    the examples in a system with only 2 GB of installed system memory, but 4 GB of installed memory is
    recommended. For larger problems, more system memory is required.
    The Windows version of ACML-GPU includes a dynamic link library that was built with Microsoft
    Visual C++ 2008. This library requires the corresponding runtime library components to be installed. If
    these are not already installed on your computer, you can download them directly from Microsoft:
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=BD2A6171-E2D6-4230-B809-
    9A8D7548C1B6&displaylang=en
    You can also navigate to www.microsoft.com and search for Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable
    Package (x64).
     
  24. r1rhyder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    194 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    texas
    Mine are reported as Cypress and this GPU-Z build has the OpenCL box ticked.

    TheMailMan78, I saw your other thread but I'll answer here. Assuming you already have 9.12's installed, install the Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable, install the OpenCL v2.0 Beta4 SDK, (http://developer.amd.com/gpu/ATIStreamSDKBetaProgram/Pages/default.aspx) this exe will extract two files, just run them both, reboot and you're done.

    But from what you posted above, support is now included in the 9.12 driver package and what I posted above is not needed for OpenCL.
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2009
  25. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    888 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    You just download ati-stream-sdk-v2.0-beta4, install that and the new drivers(9.12 hotfix), and thats it. And the new GPU-Z build that Wizzard made.
     

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page