1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Open CL tick not showing on 5870 with newest drivers.

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by mankind, Dec 18, 2009.

  1. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
    Well when I download from that link the only installer is for a catalyst. Also nothing in GPU-Z says I have Open CL just direct compute.
  2. r1rhyder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    194 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    texas
    adulaamin and TheMailMan78 say thanks.
  3. mankind New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    67 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Yup what he said
  4. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
    I got it working. Thanks. I dont know why I wanted it to work but hey.....it works.
  5. Enmity New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    454 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    New Zealand
    i'm having the same problem. Im just downloading the sdk now, will try that. Will i need to reinstall the 9.12 hotfixes also?

    Another thing that annoys me is I use amd gpu clock tool to overclock my 5850's, ever since i got the 9.12 hotfixes installed whenever i open amdgpuclocktool the system completely freezes and i have to reboot.

    I don't really want to flash the bios on my cards but i'm locked at 775/1125 at the moment. And afterburner will only set voltages for my cards, wont raise clocks.
  6. Enmity New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    454 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    New Zealand
    ok so i installed the sdk - both files, then restarted. now the direct compute benchmark tool shows that i have open cl however when i run the bench it has an error. gpu-z still doesn't report having open cl, only direct compute. heres what i mean..


    perhaps this is an issue because im running a 9800gt for physx? coz whenever i update my ati drivers i have to uninstall everything (all ati drivers + nvidia/physx drivers) then install ati drivers first, then nvidia drivers for physx...a bit annoying but its possible that maybe i have to install ati drivers, then the stream sdk, then nvidia drivers?...

    Attached Files:

  7. r1rhyder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    194 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    texas
    These are all just driver issues that ATI needs to work out. Hopefully in a hotfix coming soon. Hate to think we would have to wait for 10.1 to come out.
  8. bonusfrag New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    fixed GPU-Z.0.3.8 works good)

    [​IMG]

    Summury: WinServ2008 SP2 x64, Q9550, 4GB, 4870 DDR5, 12hotfix + sdk-v2.0-beta4
    GPU-Z 0.3.8 detect DirectCompute 4.1 & OpenCL for video
    Everest - bad laggs - do not show enev stream for this driver
    SiSoftware Sandra - for OpenCL it shows only CPU, and it detects Stream & Compute Shader for video
    DirectComputeBenchmark_v0_44b detects DirectCompute & OpenCL - but only for video without CPU
    GPU_Caps_Viewer_v1.8.0 detects two devices for OpenCL: CPU & GPU. in tests: CPU - 5fps, GPU - 30fps
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2009
  9. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    884 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    bonusfrag you have very low scores, i have a hd4870 too and my scores are: D177343, C321185, M703 in DirectComputeBenchmark
  10. bonusfrag New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    heky,
    Did you use Win7 x64?
    driver - "opencl-beta-driver" or 9.12 or 9.12hotfix?
    DirectComputeBenchmark - version? - I use 0.44beta, but in 0.35 I got D162085, C317307, M1220.
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2009
  11. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    884 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Oh, ok. Yes I use Win7 x64, 9.12hotfix, DirectComputeBenchmark 0.35
    And my 4870 is overclocked to 830/1000 and my Core2Duo to 3.4Ghz
  12. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
    Jesus Chirst! Look at the temperature your weather widgets are displaying! WTF do you live at the north poll?! Thats so cold my balls just pulled up and shot out my nose.
  13. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    884 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Yes, i live at the north poll. Didn`t i tell you before, i am Santa Claus! ;)
  14. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
    I've never even seen snow in real life. :laugh: Really no joke.
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,938 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359
    w1zzard hasnt released the latest version of GPU-Z which shows openCL support. (edit: i saw it in the first page - my bad)

    you also need cat 9.12 hotfix (not regular) and the openCL SDK
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,855 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,413
    Not true. Im running the regular 9.12 and I in fact have OpenCL without the hotfix according to the build W1zz has on the first page. If you like I can post a screen shot tonight when I get home.
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,938 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359
    i believe you if you say its so
    TheMailMan78 says thanks.
  18. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    No tick here, but it works:
    [​IMG]

    you have crossfire enabled....disable it.

    Attached Files:

  19. adulaamin

    adulaamin

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    629 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Baguio City, Philippines
    i got mine working too thanks to you guys...:toast:
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,938 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359
    now we just need a program to USE openCL/directcompute...
    dir_d and cadaveca say thanks.
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    HAHAHAHAHHAHA....HAHAHAHAHAHAHA.:laugh:
  22. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    Exactly what i was thinking...."I got it working...Now what"
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,938 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,359
    from what iv'e heard, neither AMD nor nvidia has tied openCL into their H264 decoding, so no one can use that.


    I'm sure video encoding programs could use it, but that will take time to develop (and may well require the same encoding/decoding hardware?)

    and last of all, we need some game to use it in some sexy, sexy way
  24. newfellow New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    I don't know about you guys, I know for sure OpenCL check mark has never worked for me on ATI + NVIDIA setup although it's there alright.

    Funny thing is seems NVIDIA drivers makes OpenCL.dll to system ATI doesn't.
  25. jianglai New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Still not ticked for 4890.
    Win 7 64bit + 9.12 hotfix + Stream SDK 2.0.
    Both DirectComputeBenchmark and GPU Cap Viewer detects GPU OpenCL support.
    Device is shown as ATI RV770. I guess it's because the GPU-Z is looking for RV790?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page