1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Open Office and Fedora 13

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by Thermopylae_480, Jun 9, 2010.

  1. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Okay, so I installed Open Office on my laptop with Fedora 13. I opened Write, and everything worked fine. Awhile later I restarted my laptop and went to open Write again and... absolutely nothing happens. I'm not to great with Linux so I would appreciate so advice on this matter. I'm enjoying using Fedora, but I'm finding this mildly frustrating.

    -Thanks
  2. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    I've had similar problems before, opening a program but nothing happens. Never found a solution, though...
  3. Mr McC

    Mr McC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    323
    This isn't a solution and I have no experience with Fedora, but maybe Abiword (abierto = open) would work, I use it.
  4. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,226
    can you launch the program from the command line?
  5. monte84

    monte84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    153 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    restart , open task manger kill any office process or find its process id and do kill -9 id#
  6. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Won't run via command line. No Office processes to kill...
  7. monte84

    monte84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    153 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    use yum to uninstall OoO then reinstall from the RPM pacakge off the website
  8. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Okay, got it.

    For anyone else who has this problem from the root directory run

    yum remove openoffice*

    then run

    yum install openoffice*

    problem solved and you don't have to deall with rpm.
  9. monte84

    monte84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    153 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    the rpm would probably be a newer version, not sure how often the reps are updated ;)
  10. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    I tried the rpm twice and had the same problem both times.
  11. monte84

    monte84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    153 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    probably some missing dependancy. yum and RPM and nearly as at dependancy resoltion as the debian system. You could always compile from source.
  12. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    That is greek to me, I'm really just starting to learn Linux. I've had it installed for 3 days, which is a Linux record for me.
  13. monte84

    monte84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    153 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Its rewarding when you figure it out....im still learning, after a couple years
  14. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,570 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    You'll pick up Linux real quick-like.

    My biggest problem at the mo is finding where the hell everything is.....
  15. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,226
    check the fedora docs. required reading for any linux flavor is the directory structure!!
  16. monte84

    monte84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    153 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    several basic programs, like firefox for instance, are in your home directory, putting a . in front of folder/file name makes it hidden, ctrl + H will show hidden files /usr/local/games for some games. Yea, reading is required :)
  17. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,570 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    I know all that, but it still isn't natural to me (I have to whip out my linux tri-fold reference thing whenever I have to look real hard for something).
  18. monte84

    monte84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    153 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    i always aimed to make a binder for myself for the various things i always seem to screw up, lol. Good one to learn how a computer works though, linux doesnt hide anything from ya!
  19. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,226
    when i was first starting out with teaching myself bsd i had a little black book that i would write in all of the things i was learning. it helped a lot!
  20. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Now my wireless spontaneously quit working. Linux is frustrating. Maybe Ubuntu or Kubuntu is better for a nub than Fedora?
  21. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,226
    most definitely.
  22. monte84

    monte84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    153 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Agreed. My machine hates Fedora, or the other way around. Will not load web pages. i can ping www.google.com just fine but cannot load the web page. I can load the webpage by its IP address though. gave up on it, its a nameserver issue, but its all correct. :\

    It just takes awhile to find the distro for you. i did most of my lerning on debian.
  23. regexorcist

    regexorcist New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    178 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    ~/
    A little over a year ago, I had very VERY VERY slow internet on Linux/BSD
    while the one Windows machine we have had fast internet. :confused:

    Long story short...

    My ISP gives 3 addresses for DNS and one of them was not there (offline).
    (a year later and it's still not there)

    Initially I made a little script removing the bad address running via cron
    (because of DHCP updates), but now I just use google's DNS,
    had to do a chattr +i on my /etc/resolv.conf which prevents updates.

    Blazing fast internet with Linux :D

    try pinging you DNS addresses
  24. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,226
    all of my problems with fedora are selinux related and their software firewall related. everything else is always top notch.
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2010
  25. regexorcist

    regexorcist New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    178 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    ~/
    Yes I had problems with my samba server on Fedora.
    Clear one day, blocked the next.

    I only had fedora for a week, but my daughter has been
    using it for a long time now without issue.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page