1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Open office VS Word 2007

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Krazy Owl, Dec 17, 2012.

  1. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    I am making my resume and started with the one i already made in the past with Word 2007 but now using Open office 3.4.1.

    Is there a reason why Open Office is screwing everything and even changing all the formats ?

    I mean...it puts the table all around different size than before, change the caracters format without me asking to change it, change the alignment.

    It's suppose to be COMPATIBLE...I don't see how compatible it can be. It feels like opening a Word 2007 document in Wordpad.. if you see what I mean.

    Also the P carater in the top of Word that you press to see where are the lines there is none in open office...always the lines over the lines.

    Any of you can help me out doing something with it or anyonewas able to do something good with Open office? :banghead:

    Thx!
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,776 (9.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,238
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Honestly, I used a resume maker that you can build a professional looking resume that saves in a word format. It saved a lot of time and hassle with dealing with just plain word.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    i just need some minor modding but did not instaled word because computer is old. Thats my formation to work in an office doing secretary, administrative and clerck work and i can't fuc**ing understand why these dumbass made Open Office so incompatible like that.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2012
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,776 (9.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,238
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    You may have to install office 2007 cause the formatting is slightly different from some of the open source apps I have tried.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,430 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,021
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    You can send me the file in pm and I can try saving it in a version that Open Office will open correctly. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Slightly is not a word in usage here. It's fully different. Take arial narrow in word is not the same as in open office so it screws the spaces between caracters, making the lines larger on a page with thicker border so it mess up your resume on multiple line. Job title on one line description in 2 lines in diagonal and the date in another place outside the board. WTF!!!! Anyway.
     
  7. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Thx but I already did tried all format of words opening in open office. Always the same.
     
  8. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,897 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Singapore
    You could also try google docs. Might be more compattible than open office. And btw you should be using libre office - it's much more up to date.
     
    Chevalr1c and Mindweaver say thanks.
  9. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,430 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,021
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Ah, that sucks then.. Have you tried recreating it in Open Office?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Yes I did but i need work quick. I dont have time to lose to learn back all Open Office because they made it wrong. I sitted my ass one full year to learn the full Office suite and i dont want to lose time to learn back all of a crappy program. All i wanted was to do a modding to add my school diploma.
     
  11. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    So from what I read here Open Office is a pure piece of shit !!!

    Look just an example: One line is fine but the other line just after have 1/4 inch spacing between the words for absolutly no reason.

    The format was the same for both lines in Word 2007.

    Anyway I will have to reinstall Word 2007 on that slow computer.
     
  12. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,212 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,995
    Location:
    Home
    Try Libre Office, a fork of Open Office.
     
  13. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    I will give it a try. I will log off now I'm about to break the keyboard and it's not even his fault....poor keyboard! :p
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  14. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,308 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,488
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    GL, if LO fails too, IBM Lotus Symphony is an option as well.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,831 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,661
    Based on this thread, I wouldn't hire you;)
     
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  16. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,430 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,021
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    No, hitting below the belt. Please! :toast: I know you are joking Alex, but he may not find it funny buddy. ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,295 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,780
    :laugh: :toast:

    I would just use Google Documents.
     
  18. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,800 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,523
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
  19. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,274 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    I'm sure both your Word 2007 and your Open Office are quite fine. The problem is that your Word 2007 file is COCK-FULL of poor formatting, reformatting, changes in paragraph style etc. It might "look" OK on print preview, but the file and the underlying formatting (or remains of old formatting on an old resume/CV that has been updated and restylised many times) is total crock. Open Office tries to import it and goes WTF and tries its best.

    A resume/CV is short. Start fresh. Don't be lazy. And before you just "copy" read a decent book or website covering how to write a top-resume.

    In the long run, you will do yourself a favour by re-writing rather than importing. My CV did an about turn when I forced myself through the same exercise. And that was NOT changing wordprocessor, just making the effort to upgrade the CV.
     
    newtekie1, Krazy Owl and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  20. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    I usually work in french so don't rely on my english proficiency here.
     
  21. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    No the formating is fine I always delete the formating when I don't need it. The CV is perfectly done with all alignments needed only. I tried LibreOffice and it was MUCH better.
     
  22. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,308 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,488
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    When the LibreOffice project started, the team "complained" about a codebase of about a decade old (in case of the oldest parts of the OpenOffice source code). It is actually one of the main reasons for the fork (= new, independent development branch) to exist.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page