1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OpenCL support

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by kanenas, Jan 23, 2011.

  1. kanenas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello.

    Are there some special requirements for GPU-Z (v0.5.0) in order to identify the OpenCL capabilities of a card?

    I use it in a Win7 x64 system with a mobility ATI HD-4670.

    The installed drivers support OpenCL and GPU Caps Viewer 1.9.5 has no problem identifying it and run its tests.

    No GPU-Z version up to now could identify it in my system and wonder where it's getting thrown off.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.
  2. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    You need to install the stream sdk ( or APP as it's now known) for it to show up in cpu-z.

    Certainly with 5xxx and 6xxx cards anyway.
  3. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    My 9800GT was the same. The Open CL box would never show a check mark. GpuZ is picky with some cards and combos.. I wouldn't worry about it lol. The 10.12 OCL package is all you need.

    10.12 OCLs
    [​IMG]

    Here is an Open Cl bench if you want to test some more.
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=260942
  4. kanenas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the link.
    I had already picked up ratGPU but never tried it.

    On first try, it hung my system.

    Second time I read its notes. No ATI HD-4xxx support. It claims it misses some required functionality. There goes ratGPU...

    I suspect it has to do with the lack of Image Support in my card.
    GPU-Z and some other software I try to get to work are probably looking for it and they just don't say.
    Your new card probably has it that's why it's working.

    Check it with GPU Caps Viewer.

    Tools->Full XML Report
    In the OpenCL section I have:
    - CL_DEVICE_IMAGE_SUPPORT: NO

    You must have a 'YES' there.

    Too bad I don't have the luxury of changing to a better card in the laptop.

    Thanks again.
  5. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Did you try installing this also?

    http://developer.amd.com/gpu/AMDAPPSDK/Pages/default.aspx
  6. kanenas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes of course. v2.3

    Without it there wouldn't be any OpenCL identified by anybody.
  7. StefanM

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Germany
    OpenCL detection also fails with Cedar 5470 which supports the extension above.

    Is your laptop also an "Intel HD + ATI hybrid" like mine?
    Probably GPU-Z checks the capabilities of the Intel GPU instead of the ATI GPU?
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,472 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,210
    its not a question of your GPU supporting OpenCL - its more about what PROGRAMS support OpenCL - AFAIK, there are only a small handful of programs that fully utilise OpenCL on ATi/AMD cards.

    then theres the group of people who think that installing OpenCL gives them an Extra 200+ points in benchmarks and some 'notable' performance increases in games but who knows. Performance is more of a subjective thing, and at the end of the day it only makes a small difference which some will notice and some wont
    (hence the term subjective - just because there are no "knowns." There are things we know that we know. There are known unknowns. That is to say there are things that we now know we don't know. But there are also unknown unknowns. There are things we don't know we don't know)
  9. ONH New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    As you sayed a handfull of programs support OpenCL, an on small HD4000 card as good as on HD5000.
    GPU-Z does display OpenCL as unsupported on dv6 Notebook with AMD Processor and Mobility Radeon HD4500/HD5100 Seriese GPU, with CCC 11.1 ocl installed, while OpenCL Applications run nicely on it. Wold be nice if it wold be corrected in future versions of GPU-Z.
    Since not all GPUs suport OpenCL 1.1, it would be nice to get the Supported OpenCL Version displayed somewhere (I know the ist not much space left, without making the App bigger) .
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2011
  10. kanenas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry for being late to respond. I've been busy lately.

    @StephanM
    My system is not a hybrid. Just an ATI card in it.

    @FreedomEclipse
    I don't much care for benchmarks or play games. But I use some graphics applications and would like to utilize some addons for them that take advantage of the GPU for rendering. It's either OpenCL or get an nVidia card for my laptop which of course I can't do.
    Some of them work in spite of GPU-Z, some work badly and some don't.

    It would be nice if GPU-Z could point out what capabilities it thinks are out of spec.
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,389
    gpuz really just tries to initialize an opencl context on the graphics device, if that works -> yes
    if not -> no

    could you post a screenshot of some opencl diag tool that shows the device name ? maybe gpuz is looking for the wrong device
  12. ONH New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Btw for Rendering ratGPU is very bad. Try Luxrender Instead it should get soon the smallluxGPU feature which runs fine even on HD4000 Cards.
    [​IMG]

    Here I've seen that even with Nvidia CUDA GPU-Z doesn't show OpenCL.
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2011
  13. kanenas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Here you go:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,389
    that was the info i needed:
    CL_DEVICE_NAME => RV710
    GPU-Z GPU => M92

    that's why GPU-Z didn't find opencl. it looked for a device called M92 whereas the actual device is called RV710.

    I changed that in the attached build, please give it a try.

    kaenas, can you post a gpu-z screenshot please?

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 15, 2011
  15. kanenas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  16. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,389
    try the attached build, opencl detection for m96

    Attached Files:

  17. StefanM

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Germany
    Here is a screenshot from Cedar HD5470

    [​IMG]
  18. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,389
    try the attached build for park, madison and broadway opencl detection

    Attached Files:

    StefanM says thanks.
  19. StefanM

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Germany
    Danke, funzt :)

    [​IMG]
  20. kanenas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The M96 mod worked just fine. Thanks a bunch.

    Should we expect these changes in an official forthcoming version or should we stick with these modded versions?

    Thanks again for taking care of this.
  21. ONH New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    The M92 mod works.

    Thanks for the fix.
  22. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,389
    yes
  23. christian27

    christian27 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    30 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Lima,PE
    Hi all, any chance for support for my old HD 4770 RV740
    Some pics:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  24. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,901 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,188
    Would be bumping this by posting, but after I updated to 270.61, this happened:
    [​IMG]

    When I was still using the 266.58 drivers OpenCL was checked, but now it isn't.
  25. djsebfr New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi there,

    I have the same problem than entropy13...

    Open CL is not checked in Gpu-z 0.5.3 with my MSI 560-Ti Frozr II... Drivers 270.61 whql.

    bye

    Hi it's ok now with 275.27 Beta drivers.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: May 24, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page