1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Opera

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Drone, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,271 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    854
    Location:
    London, UK
  2. musek

    musek

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    367 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Europe -> Poland...
    I've tried deleting whole Opera installation catalog with C:\Users\... catalogs.
    Clean install didn't help. :shadedshun:
    On 10.63 everything was ok...
  3. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,578 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    They will have to cure cancer for me to give up my Firefox (Hugs the cute firefox!!!)
  4. TAViX Guest

    I'm also using latest OPERA and is great. When 3D acc. thou...???
  5. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Gettin' huge stability issues. Crash after crash after crash.
  6. musek

    musek

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    367 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Europe -> Poland...
    Problem solved - i'm stupid. :D

    It was being blocked by NoAds extension. It still need a lot of work, but I love the whole idea.
    Thank God for Opera Link! :toast:
  7. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,473 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,176
    Mine is stable. 177/300 in html5 and 100/100 acid3 test.
  8. scoutingwraith

    scoutingwraith

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    726 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Using 10.70 here on both my desktop and laptop and have yet to experience crashes. Also i have noticed that Opera has a smaller memory imprint than Firefox with a lot of tabs open.
  9. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,578 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    What about those extensions? Can I run stylish or greasemonkey? or customize the titlebar?
  10. musek

    musek

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    367 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Europe -> Poland...
    Not yet, but give some time to the developers and users. :)
  11. Flak New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    402 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    US
    I've always run into a lot of website compatibility problems with Opera. I do always go back and try it a couple times a year but haven't been able to stick with it.
  12. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,578 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Same here, Flak!
  13. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Still no color management.

    That's the only reason I switched to Fx.
  14. musek

    musek

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    367 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Europe -> Poland...
    Color management?
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2010
  15. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,578 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Local CSS Overrides????
  16. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Without color management everything is over-saturated on my wide-gamut monitor.
    In Firefox I can use an ICC profile to correct this. Chrome can also use the system ICC profile to perform sRGB to display gamut conversion if you add a switch to its shortcut, although the performance is horrid.
  17. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,578 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    What monitor you got?
  18. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    see specs.
  19. Error 404

    Error 404 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    I've updated to Opera 11, I must say it feels a touch faster and the extensions are quite nice, adblock and stuff like that as well as a few tweaks. I've been using Opera since version 9.5 or so, it's come a long way and I'll probably keep using it for a long time :)
  20. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,578 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    wow didn't think browsers would muck with colors. specially that much on an IPS display.
  21. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,474 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    i love operas visual appeal and the concept of speed dial, which chorme stole..
    also opera is pretty fast and all's well except some PDF related bugs and a few more related to flash video content.

    i think the 10.6 was the best.
  22. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,578 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Looks aren't everything.

    I don't need speed dial. I got a quick fav link for my freq. sites.

    FF4.0's interface rocks. Can't wait for the full version to come out! That is one of my highly anticipated software releases.

    I can easily get FF 3.x.x to look the way I want it. Stylish takes care of that. I can even fully mock FF4.0 if I wanted to. I can even have full-glass browsing (pages included!). Tried it once. It was awesome, but was a bit CPU heavy and was a tad slow. Still awesome.

    and IE is so much behind. I used to love it for being multiprocess, till it started to bloat beyond control and I HAD to use WSRM to control it, and when it did it was very hard on my HDD. The I/O performance was terrible I had I/O reads out the wazoo and switching tabs got slower and slower. MS really mucked up with IE8.

    I would try IE9. However I'm not gonna have to install the platform update it requires becuase IT WON'T INSTALL IN SERVER 2008R1. It shits there. Pretty stupid of them to require the platform update. Most vista and xp users aren't gonna like it.

    That must be thier way of forcing users on windows 7. Not a good tactic. It won't work. That will just increase the market share of the other browsers! LMAO!!!! Nice going MS! Thanks for halping FF,GC,OP,and others out!
  23. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    London
    I just updated to 10.70 and it's faster, but they all are when you first update, aren't they? Maybe it's the placebo effect.
  24. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Without Direct2D and DirectWrite which the Platform Update provides there will be no GPU acceleration in IE9 and Firefox.
  25. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,474 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    i respect your choice. :D i use FF too.:toast:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page