1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Operating system

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Pine, Oct 7, 2008.

  1. Pine New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just finished making my own computer and it works fine powering up and starting.

    I tried to install and OS though, and when it gets to the

    windows setup blue screen
    ===========





    setup is starting windows

    it freezes there and nothing happens..
    any ideas what could be the problem? this is windows xp if that has any matter
  2. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    You could try to restart and boot from hard drive to see if it did install correctly
  3. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    We need to know your system specifications and other relevant information you can think of. Your initial post is rather vague, the more information we have the more we can help you.

    My initial though is that you have RAID or AHCI enabled for your SATA controller, in which case you need to press F6 during the beginning of Windows setup in order to load your SATA drivers.

    Also, if you are installing Windows XP from a very old disc (Pre service pack 1) it can cause a similar error.
  4. Pine New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+ Processor ADO5600DOBOX - 2.90GHz, 1MB Cache, 1000MHz (2000 MT/s) FSB, Brisbane, Dual-Core, Retail, Socket AM2, Processor with Fan

    Asus M2N-SLI Motherboard - NVIDIA nForce 560 SLI, Socket AM2/AM2+, ATX, Audio, PCI Express, Gigabit LAN, S/PDIF, USB 2.0, Firewire, Serial ATA, RAID

    Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 250GB Hard Drive - 7200, 16MB, Serial ATA-300, OEM

    Lite-On PLDS DVD-ROM/CD-RW Retail Combo Drive - 52x32x CD-R/RW, 16x DVD-ROM, Black

    OCZ SLI-Ready Dual Channel 4096MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz Memory (2x2048MB)

    It is also windows Xp service pack 1a

    when i load it in the OS loads everything until it gets to "setup is starting windows" then it just stops...i left it sitting for 30 minutes and nothing
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,159 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,548
    Location:
    Florida
    pull out a stick of ram and try installing.
    Pine says thanks.
  6. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    maybe your ram needs higher voltage. also some boards don't work right with Windows XP SP1 for some reason.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Pine New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    most excellent! thank you solaris
  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,159 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,548
    Location:
    Florida
    ;) then install all updates for windows and put it back in :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page