1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Opinion on new build

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Eric_On_Web, Apr 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Eric_On_Web New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    271 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    [​IMG]

    I would like your opinion on this new build. I don't added a video card because the onboard one is ok for what I'm doing.

    Thx
     
  2. Wyverex

    Wyverex

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    282 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Since we don't know what you're going to use the computer for, it's hard to say whether that's a good build or not.

    It looks solid, although I'd probably switch dual core Phenom for a quad core Athlon (something like Athlon II X4 640 for $99)
     
  3. Eric_On_Web New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    271 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I keep the Black Edition to unlock i with the mobo. Internet, DVD playing and nburning and also older games.
     
  4. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    BE are only good for overclocking, it really does not have anything to do with unlocking.
    There is no guarantee for unlocking at all.
     
  5. Eric_On_Web New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    271 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I know but anyway the black edition unlocked multipliers I prefer that than to have 4 cores of locked. I dont really need more than dualcore so i just overclock it when i need and if they unlock its only gonna be a bonus.
     
  6. Eric_On_Web New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    271 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    For the HDD I'm also thinking of keeping my WD digital black 250gigs 16megs cache. Plenty enough I suppose for internet surfing and little htpc.
     
  7. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    TBH with you it isn't hard to get a decent OC on the Athlon X4 either, but it is up to you.
     
  8. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,150 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Don't waste time and money and get the Athlon II X4.

    As Zubasa said, the Athlon II X4 is easy to OC too. Speaking from experience.
     
  9. Eric_On_Web New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    271 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Why should I trust Harvey Dent ? :p
     
  10. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,150 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    a.) Only $10 price difference
    b.) Quad core out the box
    c.) Decent overclocker
    d.) Techpowerup review shows the Athlon II X4 445 (3.1GHz) beating out the Phenom II X2 555 (3.2GHz*) consistantly.

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/Athlon_II_X4_645/1.html
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2011
  11. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,632 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    Aye, get the Atlhon x4 instead. Also get one 4GB stick instead of 2x2GB in case you want to upgrade later on. And I'd get a 1TB drive instead of the Black. They are good drives, but not that good imo.
     
  12. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,170 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,045
    get the quad
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Eric_On_Web New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    271 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    555 is 3.2 the 3.1 is the 550;)
     
    Dent1 says thanks.
  14. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,182 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    *ups the multi on the 550* Voilá! 550 is 3.2 ;)
     
  15. Eric_On_Web New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    271 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    BTW as someone told me in another post the Athlon lack the L3 cache ;) So ill stick to Phenom with L3 6 megs cache.
     
  16. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,182 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    Lol, trading 1 core for L3 is almost like losing your manhood so that you can have an extra large finger to please Mrs. While the extra large finger is awesome, but losing your manhood is a big price to pay.
     
    THRiLL KiLL and Ev1LrYu say thanks.
  17. Eric_On_Web New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    271 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I dont even fill 100 gigs so ill stick with my old 250gigs finally.
     
  18. Eric_On_Web New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    271 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Did your dad ever told you that it is not the finger you use to make babies? :D
     
  19. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,182 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    He told me to always wear condoms.. oh nevermind. But my point still stands, the x3 offers a lot more to you than the unlocked multi and L3 cache.
     
  20. Eric_On_Web New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    271 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    For the use I do I'll go with budget and gonna analyze every possibility and look around for used hardware deal also. The case come with a cheapo 350w psu so ill look also to stick to it to save some money. Its not in near future im gonna upgrade anyway ...car repairs first.
     
  21. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,150 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Yes, you're right, the Phenom II X2 555 is 3.2GHz and it still got owned by the Athlon II X4 @ 3.1 GHz in the TPU review.

    Thanks for spotting that. I've now corrected my post.

    You didn't read the TPU review did you? Why would you still go for the Phenom II X2 if it's clearly slower? Unless you are going for the Phenom II X4 it makes no sense.
     
  22. Eric_On_Web New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    271 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I may even gonna upgrade right away to the 1100T. Gonna calculate the budget...on the spot its a big buy but i buy it for many years to come.
     
  23. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,182 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    If you are stretching your budget to 1100T, you might as well take a look at Intel's offerings.
     
  24. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,147 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,786
    Location:
    04578
    correct at the cost of a 1100T you can easily get a 2500K on a P67 board overclock it to 4.5ghz and it will pretty much waste any AMD offering and will still out pace the i7 1336 chips depending on the application.
     
  25. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,124 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    My advice to you is give people a budget and purpose of the rig so people can give thoughts and opinions,so far people recommended you to switch to the athlon X4 than the phenom II x2 due to fact quad be much better for whatever purpose your going do that isn't gaming nor overclocking.
    As most people said and review shown the quad is faster than the phenom II X2 in most softwares.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page