1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Opinion on Upgrade

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by jmcslob, Jan 28, 2011.

  1. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,926 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I'm going to be upgrading my GFX soon now my system is basically garbage LOL and I'm not sure which way to go....
    I really like this 560ti card It comes out of the box slightly out performing the 6950 which I'm also considering....
    Now here's the problem....I'm only going to be gaming at 1680x1050 which tbh my 4830 does just fine I think a 5770 would work fine for my gaming habits but I can't bring myself to spend $130 for a 5770 when you can get a 5850 for $170 But then I'm like for $50 more than that you can get a 6870 @ $219 But if I was gonna spend $219 why not just spend $30 more and get the 560ti.....

    I would also like to buy a game to play with the New GFX card and there doesn't seem to be any free with a GFX under $400 BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!
    and I have a max of $290 to spend
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,676 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,070
    A 5850 would be a great card for 1680x1050. It's also cheap. I think it's a great time to pick up that card. You could get by with a 768mb GTX 460 as well for cheaper.


    *You could always go for a pure sexy card too: MSI N560GTX-TI Twin Frozr II/OC GeForce GTX 560 Ti...
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2011
    jmcslob says thanks.
  3. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    You might want to upgrade your PSU too. Not sure how well a Rosewill 500W will hold up.
     
  4. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,926 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    The PSU for the rig I'm upgrading is a Xigmatek 700watt....

    So none of those cards should be an issue power wise

    EDIT: It's like the Xigmatek link I posted for the PSU is trying to tell me something
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2011
  5. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,150 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    The 5770 isnt that much faster than your 4830!

    Shoot for the 5850, 6850 or GTX 460 1GB at minimum.
     
    jmcslob says thanks.
  6. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,396 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    jmcslob says thanks.
  7. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,926 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I was actually looking at that card..Cause it looks really neat LuLzzz.
    plus it would be nice to have an all MSI setup:rolleyes:
    The more I read about the 560ti cards the more I really want one
    But then I think by the time I need it's power I'll of already upgraded...Then again I usually keep GFX cards for about 2 years.....and those 560ti cards seem to be exactly 2x the power of my current GFX...a 100% improvement would be nice though unneeded until I upgrade my monitor which can do 1920x1080 but doesn't look as nice for some reason
     
  8. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    I couldn't help but notice....

    [​IMG]

    there are no heat sinks on the ram, with the fans blowing air over them this shouldn't be an issue, hopefully. Something to think about when overclocking though. you could get some heatsinks for the ram if needed.
     

    Attached Files:

    jmcslob says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  9. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,926 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Nice catch xBruce88x
     
    xBruce88x says thanks.
  10. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    msi wasn't the only one, just about all the dual fan gtx560 ti cards are like that.

    Palit

    Galaxy

    the one from asus appears to have cooling on the ram tho, hard to tell for sure but that heatsink looks like its sitting on the ram... with the gap tho it could just be over the ram.

    and i can't tell for sure but it looks like the heatpipes don't leave room for ramsinks on the Gigabyte card.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I vote 560Ti
     
    jmcslob says thanks.
  12. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,926 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    OK just asking...
    Given the option to get a New PhenomII 965 and a 6850 for the same price as Nvidia 560ti and given my system specs what would you do?
     
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I would do it J. :)

    EDIT:

    I would move your current x4 replacing the x2, and crossfire the 4830's in the 2nd machine.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2011
    jmcslob says thanks.
  14. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,968 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    I vote 560 Ti. Just ordered that one myself :D

    OC'd out of the box, Free 3DMark 11 full version, and free shipping, so it's almost a flat $250 (249.99)
     
    jmcslob says thanks.
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I'd still get the 560, tbh.
     
    jmcslob says thanks.
  16. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,926 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I got to be honest....This 635 plays games extremely well.....and what I really need is a good video card but even with a better monitor 1680x1050 is good enough for me to play games on....I dunno..it'll be a fun decision at 5am friday morning when the money is in the bank LuLzzz.
     
  17. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,582 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Australia
    Does your mobo support crossfire or sli?
     
  18. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,926 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I currently have 2 AM3 mobo's and one of them just so happens to be a 790gx that supports Crossfire....it's in my HTPC and the plan was to have 4830's crossfired for the HTPC But knowing I can get 2 6850's for $280 has crossed my mind (about 4 times a minute) However I just don't think I'd get the use out of 6850's crossfired as say I would get with a 560ti or 965 and 6850 whilst having crossfired 4830's in my HTPC...

    So no the Mobo I'll be using will be single slot PCI-E

    EDIT: but then I think that for about the same price as 560ti I could simply do 6850 Xfire with a quick Mobo swap and end up with 25%+ more performance as well......

    I'm actually having long drawn out conversations about this with my many personalities that I didn't know I had
    It's pretty bad when you say something to yourself and feel like in your in an awkward moment with someone else
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2011
  19. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,582 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Australia
    Well then if you would to use your crossfire mobo id go with the 965 and 6850 then later get another 6850 and go crossfire, that would be one sweet rig.

    But if your not going to use that mobo then a single gtx560 ti would be the way to go i guess.
     
  20. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,926 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
  21. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,394 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    AZ
    jmcslob says thanks.
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    HD6950. This is coming from a semi-loyal nvidia guy.
     
    jmcslob says thanks.
  23. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I don't know on the 6950's. I'm not sure when the conversion happened, but the PCB board has changed from Red to Black. Not sure if they eliminated the BIOS switch on it.


    I would snag a 6950, even if you lose the ability to unlock it. It's a nice card for the price.
     
  24. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,926 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
  25. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Those pictures have changed from red boards to black over the course of a few weeks. The one that is still a red PCB board is the MSI variant. And i've only seen that on Amazon. And its definitely unlockable, i just grabbed one last week.

    Unless someone can confirm that the black PCB's still have the switch and are unlockable i'd be wary.

    LINK
     
    jmcslob says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page