1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Opteron 148 OC

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by AMDCam, Dec 23, 2005.

  1. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    Hey, I'm wondering if an Opteron 148 still kills like the 144's and 6's. We were trying to find them for a while, but I really need my desktop running again so we paid a little extra and got the 148. So how well does it overclock? Hopefully better, or at least just the same. Thanks guys
     
  2. Poisonsnak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    363 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    I don't have any hard facts but it's supposed to be just another venice but with a higher multiplier, I know certain steppings for the 144 were ridiculously awesome, that's probably all the difference you would see between a 144/146/148, the same difference between different steppings of the 144 or something.
     
  3. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    Okay thanks dude. Are 144's and 146's Venices?
     
  4. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,736 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    They're Venus core. 148 will be easier to get a higher clock on with it's higher multi (11x). But you'll might just want to drop the multi to get a higher fsb. As Poisonsnak said, it's the stepping that will make the biggest difference.

    -Dan
     
  5. technic58 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    what you want to look for with the opterons is the stepping. faster CPU's wont necessarily OC better. yoru 148 might not OC any farther then a 144. like is aid you have to look at the stepping.

    i think it goes

    CABNE
    CABYE
    CAB2E
    CABGE

    the top is the best at OCin, while the bottom is the worst. most of the CABNE's and CABYE's are already gone because people rushed to buy them. just check the stepping on yours and itll give you a rough estimate of how well yours will do.:)
     
  6. wtf8269

    wtf8269 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,495 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ohio
    146 is the best in my opinion. It's not hard to do a 300+fsb on most descent mobos.
     
  7. Poisonsnak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    363 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    oh yeah venus hehe my bad, venice is the athlon64.
     
  8. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    okay well i got a cab2e, i assume that's the best most people get nowadays since you said the cabne and cabye are all gone. So what is a cab2e usually doing speed-wise in people's systems?
     
  9. ninjagordy

    ninjagordy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Cab2e

    hey dude,

    you find varying results on the cab2e stepping, some better than others....

    if it hits 2.8ghz at anything up to 1.55v core your laughing.... be sure to do stability testing as loads will boot at 3ghz but are not 100% stable, i have a 146 and 148 and both will boot at 3ghz but the best i can get is 2.95ghz on the 146 with 1.64 vcore on water. the 148 does 2.8ghz on 1.55 vcore on water, both these are CABYE stepping cpus...but....at this speed you have a very very cheap fx57 ( p.s. as far as my knowledge goes these are sandiego cores..... i may be wrong....):nutkick:
     
  10. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    Thanks dude. I think they're Venus core's, everyone is saying they are, but I don't know for sure either. Hopefully I'll hit a little more than 2.8, I mean that's a massive overclock but I'd still like to hit near 3ghz. But if they're all Venus's (or San Diego's) and the 146 has to have a higher vcore than the 148, then I would assume the 148 could hit just as high if you crank the vcore up to that too. Unless the steppings need different vcore's. Thanks again though dude, now I know what to expect or look for.
     
  11. ninjagordy

    ninjagordy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i know they are "venus" cores but as far as i know they are basically the same as a sandiego core.....i also find that they seem to hit a wall at 2.8 ghz or there abouts......

    regards

    gordy! (p.s. good luck!):rockout:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page