1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Optical Drives, SATA or IDE?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Baer, Feb 14, 2009.

  1. Baer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    78 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    California, on the BEACH
    What do you guys recommend? I have 6 SATA slots on my Mobo and I will be installing three HDDs initially. I may install a SSD drive later so that would be 4. I am trying to decide if I want to use IDE and save my two additional SATA slots. I am going to install two optical drives. I am not very concerned about a little more burn speed for the optical drives as they are not used that often.
    Comments and Suggestions?
    Tnx
     
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,973 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,774
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I use SATA anymore, the last two Samsung SATA DVD burners I got performed flawlessly, quickly and with the smaller, thinner cables, the cable management was a lot easier. PATA/IDE burners still get the job done just fine though, it depends on what you find for how much, I use Lite-On and Samsung mostly. The SATA burners I got were around 25 shipped on newegg.

    :toast:
     
  3. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    What he said. Most newer boards, like x58 don't even have IDE connectors on them any more so it would be wise to go SATA to be more futureproof.
     
  4. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,947 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,786
    Location:
    IA, USA
    If I plan to use RAID on a SATA controller, I put PATA optical drives in. If I don't intend to use RAID, I go all SATA.

    The only real difference is PATA will be on the chopping block sooner or later. A SATA drive therefore may have a longer useful life but considering they're pretty cheap, it's really not something to ponder for long.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,973 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,774
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I'm running RAID 0 on my current setup with SATA DVDR. I have 2 WD400 SATA II drives in Raid 0, a WD6400AAKS SE16 SATA II and one Samsung S203 DVD SATA and have had no issues at all. This is on my P5Q Deluxe, which I believe has ICH10R iirc. Though I do have the JMicron SATA/IDE if need-be.

    So far ALL SATA + SATA RAID on the Intel chipset has been solid, this has been my first all-sata + raid setup and I gotta say it's worked amazingly!

    :toast:
     
    Baer says thanks.
  6. Baer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    78 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    California, on the BEACH
    Thanks, when I did my last build a few years back SATA burners were not playing nice all the time. I think I will go SATA if for no other reason than the smaller cables and being able to set IDE seaqrch time in the BIOS to 0.
    Thanks again.
     
  7. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    IDE is old now, SATA you want. Like Kursah stated, SATA data cables are thinner and the power cables are also so much easier to hide away behind the tray and looks a lot tidy.
     
  8. Baer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    78 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    California, on the BEACH
    Yes, that was my decision factor. My reluctance was that I did not want to use all six of my SATA ports right away but that is the way it is I guess.
     
  9. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    Definitely go with SATA. I got an IDE optical drive with my original rig, before I knew about the existence of SATA optical drives.

    IDE cables, even the rounded one I picked up are horrible for cable management. I would just buy a SATA drive now, but I'm too cheap for that. :laugh:
     
  10. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,454 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    SATA!

    I've been IDE free since the first SATA opticals hit the market (Plextor).
     
  11. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,949 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    I have all SATA drives. I didn't notice any more speed from my optical drives (because of mechanical limitations, optical drives will never be able to put out enough data to fill the IDE bus anyway), but I like having a little SATA cable tucked away somewhere instead of having some 2 inch wide IDE cable blocking my cpu heatsink's airflow
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page