1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Optimize BF3 performance

Discussion in 'Programming & Webmastering' started by Friendly, Feb 18, 2013.

  1. Friendly New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hallo zusammen,
    ich habe mir für BF3 eine Radeon HD7870 zugelegt und muss jetzt sehen das sie durch meine CPU (AMD Phenom II x4 955) sehr ausgebremst wird.
    Wenn ich mir den internen Benchmark anzeigen lasse, sehe ich, dass die CPU immer sehr hinterher hängt:

    Sowohl im average als auch im max hängt die cpu hinterher.

    Kann mir einer sagen ob es in der ini bestimmte Werte gibt die besonders CPU lastig sind?
    Wie ich weiß sind vor allem die Menge an Mitspielern besonders anstrengend für die CPU, aber vll gibt es da ja noch was.

    Mein Sys:
    Phenom 2 X4 955
    4 GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator
    Radeon HD7870
    ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
    500 GB WD Black Caviar
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 18, 2013
  2. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,196 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    English please, this is an English only forum

    Here is a google translate for some with poor grasp of German:
    Hi all,
    I've gained a Radeon HD7870 for BF3 and they must now see through my CPU (AMD Phenom II x4 955) is very slowed down.
    If I let me show the internal benchmark, I see that the CPU is always lagging behind:



    Both the average and the maximum depends behind the cpu.

    Can one tell me if there are certain values ​​in the ini are particularly CPU-heavy?
    As I know, especially the amount of players are especially hard on the CPU, but vll there's still something.
     
  3. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,802 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    nein deutsche.
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Take off MSAA, HBAO, and POST processing in the games options screen then restart the game completely, This would allow my 5770 to run on high with decent frames. If you get above 60FPS then you can add some of those features back until it starts to dip again.

    Mindweaver made a nice config utility that would help you out alot :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,802 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    its a 7870, i think its driver issues.
     
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Could be, I had issues with some of the 13.1's and 12 series. I now run 13.2 beta 2 I believe and performance has been restored.

    This also may not help much since I have Xfire 6xxx series cards and he is single 7870.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Friendly New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you all for your fast replies.

    I have forgotten to post my driver: im runnig on Catalyst 13.1

    i will try the beta.

    but, dont you think my CPU is to slow? its only a driver thing?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2013
  8. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,834 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,030
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    While the X4 955BE certainly isn't as fast as an Ivy Bridge i7, it's still a very capable CPU and has plenty of power available. I think that's probably fine :)
     
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Friendly New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    the new driver helps alot. the average cpu is now about 14 - old driver 20 (think means ms or something) and it feels much smoother.

    http://www7.pic-upload.de/thumb/18.02.13/cdtm4ihrw67h.jpg
     
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Can you upload that picture to techpowerup.org? Its so tiny I cannot even tell what it is.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Friendly New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
     
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Take screen shot of your video options.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,474 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Terrain and effects settings are more cpu bound then anything else turning them down and motion blur off would be my recommendation

    Bf3 MP is highly cpu dependent an x4 deneb is definitely going to bottleneck the 7870
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page