1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Origin PC Adds AMD FX-9590 to its CPU Choices

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 16, 2013.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,862 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,716
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    ORIGIN PC launches AMD's latest and fastest FX 9000 Series CPUs, the AMD FX-9590 and AMD FX-9370, to their award-winning GENESIS desktops featuring their professional overclocking up to a whopping 5.0 GHz (FX-9590 only). Unleash the processing power and performance of a new ORIGIN GENESIS with the new AMD FX-9590 and FX-9370 to immerse yourself in the most advanced 3D games like never before! Experience the world's first native 8-core desktop processor, available today inside the ORIGIN GENESIS with a starting at price of $1,551.

    [​IMG]

    AMD FX-9590 Features:
    • 8-Core native desktop processor up to 5.0 Ghz
    • ORIGIN PC Professional CPU Overclocking
    • Free Lifetime 24/7 U.S. Based Support
    AMD FX-9370 Features:
    • 8-Core native desktop processor up to up to 4.7 Ghz
    • Chat, watch movies, play games and more with maximum multi-tasking
    • Free Lifetime 24/7 U.S. Based Support
     
  2. Imdabossou

    Imdabossou

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    18 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    "professional overclocking"

    how is it professionally overclocked to 5ghz if the stock speed of it is 5ghz..?
     
    HumanSmoke and tigger say thanks.
  3. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Lol yeah that's right, it's professionally running at its stock speed.
     
  4. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    That's some shitty marketing right there :wtf:
     
  5. Jorge

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    766 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    The stock FX-9590 default speed is 4.7 GHz. and it runs in Turbo mode part time at 5.0 GHz. What they are saying is they have OC'd the processor to run @ 5 GHz. all the time.

    It looks like AMD has a pretty fair quantity of these FX-9590 CPUs, which is a good sign for a possible future Steamroller CPU.
     
  6. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,139 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,424
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Beat me to it. All they're doing is making sure the PC has enough cooling to handle 8 cores at turbo speeds. Did the same thing with my Phenom II X6. Turbo frequency is 3.7 GHz, but only for two or three cores. Disable Turbo, set multi to 18.5x, done. If I'm not mistaken, all cores have to be capable of turbo speeds since the workload could be assigned to any of them. Proper cooling should allow all cores to run at turbo speeds.

    I'd rather see them improve IPC efficiency, but high yield of a top-bin die isn't something to scoff at. One can only hope we'll see this translate in to better performance/watt for AMD.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. HumanSmoke

    HumanSmoke

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,512 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Awesome overclocking feat. A 24/7 overclock of 6.38% is nothing to laugh at :laugh:
    Not sure how you arrive at that conclusion. These CPUs are "offered" as a configuration option- actual sales would confirm quantity.
     
  8. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    This is pretty funny. All they do is force the turbo multiplier to stay on. Hell, I did that by accident on a build :laugh:
     
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    They announced this a while ago. Interesting they have chosen to force 5ghz on the chip.
     
  10. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,203 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    I turned turbo off and clocked my 8320 to 4.5Ghz therefore...mine is professionally overclocked!! Give me job Origin, I iz pro, I clock stuf!! :laugh:
     
    shovenose says thanks.
  11. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,139 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,424
    Location:
    Washington, US
    While a 300 MHz overclock isn't anything to write home about (and is most likely achievable by EVERY FX-9590 with a half-decent cooler), it's a tiny bit more impressive that they're overclocking these consistently (processors in general, not just this one), even if it's just that they're buying processors in bulk and doing some extra binning on top of AMD.

    In this case, I think "professional overclock" in this case just means "we're not using the stock cooler like some people are". Also, from a marketing standpoint, I'm sure it sounds a lot better than "redneck overclock".

    "Well, Jimmy's maw just got a shiny new air conditioner and tah boys an' I figure we'd sneak it outta her bedroom an' pipe that mother hubbard up tah the side of tah case. We fried tah first four processors, but tah fifth one seems to be holdin', although we canna' get the smell ah burnt silicon outta tah case. YEEEHAW, ORIGIN PC!"

    I don't think people would buy that.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,885 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,111
    pretty sure most 8350s hit 5Ghz too...
     
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Not under normal cooling they won't. Check out the fx club there no 5ghz air cooled prime stable 8350's in there heck a water cooled one is pushing it.
     
    xvi says thanks.
  14. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,413 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    +1
     
    More than 25k PPD
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    xvi says thanks.
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Thats just wrong different chio s get different results that why people bin chips.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page