1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclock AMD 7970, Intel i7-2600k and RAM

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Tintai, May 1, 2013.

  1. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    343 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Poland
    Hey guys.

    I want to overclock my hardware.
    For the begin, my computer specification:
    Mobo: ASRock p67 PRO 3 B3
    CPU: Intel i-7 2600k 3,4 GHz
    GPU: Asus Radeon HD 7970 DirectCUII Top, 1 GHz core, 1,4 GHz memory.
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16GB, 1333 MHz. Dual.

    So... In new 3D Mark on Fire Strike my result is ~6500. And on the PCMark 7 is ~5300.

    When I use ASUS GPU Tweak and I overclock core to 1,2 GHz and memory from 5,6 GHz to 6 GHz and run 3D Mark, computer hes lost stability. Benchmark is turn off or shows only black screen.

    My main question is - how can I stable overclock 7970 to minimum 1,2 GHz core.

    And CPU to 4 GHz on air cooling. My box: Silencio 550. I can do this? :)
    And at the last, RAM. When I oc to 1866 MHz I see only blue screen. On 1600 MHz sometimes shows me BSoD.

    That's all but priority for my is oc my GPU.

    I hope you help :)

    ~Tintai
  2. Bunchies New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    what air cooler are you using for overclocking the cpu?

    i think when overclocking the ram frequency past there "factory spec" you have to up the latency to get stable.
    but when really if your overclocking your cpu to 4ghz than your ram may have to be lower than its rated speed just because of the Block frequency makes it either to high or 100-200mhz under the rated speed of the ram but there is really no performance drop at all.

    always overclock and get stable on cpu first while keeping stock ram speeds than overclock your ram

    and overclocking a gpu is super easy
  3. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    343 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Poland
    I use standard fan for CPU but in my box is 7 fans.
    Current CPU temperature is ~33 °C on first core.

    Yea I know but I lost stability. Why?
  4. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,441
    idle temps aren't the problem with stock HSF its the load temps. $20-30 can go a long way towards decent air cooling.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    343 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Poland
    Ok, I was able to stably overclock the GPU. And now in Fire Strike I have 7314. 1070 MHz core and 1551 MHz memory. It's good but I can more?

    So how much I can oc CPU?

    And what happens if I overclock too much? Computer show me BSoD? Nothing will damage?
    Sorry for stupid question but overclocking is new for me.
  6. Bunchies New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    133 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    if you haven't overclocked a cpu before than you may struggle a bit. read about how to overclock on a p67 or a 2600-k

    make sure to watch temps and be careful with voltages. you will bsod alot during the process till its stable and as long as your careful and took notes than you shouldn't break anything
    Tintai says thanks.
  7. OneMoar

    OneMoar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,401 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    444
    you may not get 1200 out of that gpu period overclocking isn't magic some chips just don't overclock well the Ghz edtion cards are pretty much maxxed out of the box
    as for the cpu you should be-able to get at least 4Ghz out of it with little to no voltage boost with proper cooling 4.8Ghz is not unheard of on air if you water cool you might be-able to get it to the Magical 5Ghz but nothing is set in stone

    its pretty hard to damage a component with overclocking(if you know what you are doing)
    getting the ram stable might be a bit trickier as you may need to manually adjust timings and voltages
    at any-rate you really need to do some serious reading on the subject before you got playing around with settings. not understanding what you are doing is a good way to damage something
    Tintai says thanks.
  8. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    343 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Poland
    Thanks!
    For now, I will focus on GPU. It's easier.
    I have last question:
    Which bars in ASUS GPU Tweak I must boost to get nice and stably result?
    What about "Power target(%)"?

    PS. Overclocking is magic :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page