1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclock tuning troubles 2500k

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by MxPhenom 216, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,960 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,221
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Hey Guys,

    So Ive had this 2500k, Asrock P67 Extreme 4 Gen3 board and the memory in my system specs for a while now. And just yesterday it dawned on me to check voltages with CPUz while doing some movie editing stuff, and the CPU voltage was reached 1.43v when I know when i first did the overclocking settings it only got to 1.32. I have a feeling this hike in voltage is because i recent changed from LLC level 5 to 1. So I went in to try and get the voltage back down, and reset the CMOS. To redo it all. However I noticed the voltage number sitting by the CPU vcore option was at 1.39, and then it dropped to 1.20 after CMOS clearing and reboot.

    Multi is 45
    Turbo Mode is on
    Voltage is in offset mode at +0.100 to hit 1.300v at load. Then I have all the rest of the voltage and memory settings exactly how it was before.

    Booted to windows, ran some prime, and the voltage got all the way to 1.5v at sat there. I dont see how 1.20v + 0.100v equals 1.5 haha. Dave was always telling me to run fixed mode to have a stable voltage which is easier i would think, but i like when the system would throttle down to 1.6ghz and just over 1.0v while browsing the web since ti doesnt need all the voltage. I can jsut keep lowering the offset voltage amount till it gets to around 1.32v at load though. Guys have any ideas on how to go? 1.5v just scares the shit out of me with this chip haha.
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,582 (10.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Doesnt this board have increments of +0.010? I know on my gigabyte its +0.070 for 1.32V +0.100 seems high. All boards are not the same when it comes to offset voltages I have seen between my ASROCK Z68 and Gigabyte Z68
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,960 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,221
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yeah I does. GOing to reboot and drop it a bit more. Ill just drop it till i cant boot anymore haha
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,582 (10.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    What you should do is set stock clocks then test out each offset voltage with prime or intelburn test. This is how I found the perfect offset to make my OC stay around 1.32V during load.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,960 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,221
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Thats a pretty good idea. ill try that out after this one tweak im going to try.
     
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,582 (10.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Also test each LLC setting to see how much it wants to ramp up voltage during load.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,960 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,221
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Awesome. First try to the whole stock clocks and test each offset, and first one i tried. +.015v got me 1.32v constant load voltage.
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,582 (10.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Not too bad. Yea seems like your board likes the small increments. Now once you have found the voltage you needed with the OC, set the OC back in bios and have a good burn session to make sure its stable and you should be golden.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,960 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,221
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    yeah buddy, in the BIOS right now setting the overclock again. I like that little finding the offset voltage trick with stock clocks. Never thought of that one before. :rockout:
     
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,582 (10.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea took me a while to stumble on that. I first found my stable voltage by using fixed voltages then found the same voltage using offset with stock clocks. Overall not to difficult unless you increase the offset too much and fry something.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,960 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,221
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    yeah like I almost just did? lol
     
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,935 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,056
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Not likely you would have.


    Do you still have your memory settings, or do you need those again?
     
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,960 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,221
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    wtf, Under prime95 with the overclock back at 4.5GHZ its getting to 1.45v. I think I messed with one of the power settings in the BIOS a bit to much haha.
     
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,582 (10.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Once thing I like about my board is that it has 10 levels of LLC with 5 being normal voltage so I leave it at normal so finding the offset is easier and there is little to no Vdroop during load.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,935 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,056
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    With offset votlages, the VID supplied will change when the multi changes, so to find out what offset you need, you need to load up the CPU with that multi first, then adjust with offset.
     
  16. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,960 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,221
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Well its doing 1.44v in prime95 at 45 multi at +0.015v offset. At stock 33 multi it only did 1.32v while running prime.
     
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,582 (10.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Hmmm wonder why this worked for me on the gigabyte board? it seems kinda odd now that dave has said this. I may need to go back and check my load voltages or it maybe the LLC setting I have set.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,960 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,221
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Or it could be that i messed with the Short Duration and Long Duration power Limits lol. My LLC is at level 1. But I dont know what to do now to get the voltage down to 1.32v at 4.5GHZ
     
  19. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,582 (10.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Try a negitive offset. such as -0.010
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,960 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,221
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    maybe its the LLC level 1 messing with shit. Going to try 5 agian.
     
  21. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,960 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,221
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yep, that was the problem. LLC Level 1. Runs at 1.32v now, and then it just blue screened in prime lol

    With code 0x124
     
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,582 (10.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    You that maybe the issue. LLC varies from board to board

    CPU Load-Line Calibration: Level 2 or Level 3 (whichever one will get you closest to BIOS Vcore)
    ~When a CPU increases to max speed, the Vcore usually tends to drop down. This is known as Vdroop. If the Vcore drops down too much, it can lead to stability issues. To combat this, CPU LLC was made to offset this loss. Level 5 (0%) will net you the least compensation, Level 3 (50%) an average compensation, and Level 1 (100%) the most compensation. You want to find the setting that will get you the same Vcore that is says in BIOS, during load in Windows as reported by CPU-Z.
    ~Level 1 seems to spike your Vcore up really high during load, so I do not recommend using that.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,935 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,056
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    llc on ASRock board here is 1-10, 10 is lowest, 5 is what you set is what you get, 1 is boosted.


    LLC is different on all boards, dependant on who made the board.
     
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,582 (10.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,960 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,221
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    5 is the lowest on my board. I only have 1-5
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page