1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking 5870... core clock limit?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by hat, Feb 9, 2013.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,035 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Location:
    Ohio
    I have a HIS Radeon iCooler V 5870, and lately I've been trying to overclock it. I downloaded MSI Afterburner, ramped it up to 900MHz (the most the slider would go up to) and played a while, and all seems well. I'm interested in going a little further, but the slider only goes up to 900MHz. Meanwhile, I hear about people clocking their 5870s much higher than just 900MHz. I can only set the slider to 900MHz, how do I break this limit?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,414 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Use saphire trixx it goes beyond ab
     
    hat says thanks.
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,035 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Location:
    Ohio
    The slider for core goes all the way up to 1200 in Trixx, but when I try to set any core clock it just sets itself back to 850.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,832 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    688
    Location:
    South Carolina
    You need to flash the bios to asus to clock past the limits.

    Look it up on google.

    Make sure you research what you are doing before you try it.

    Make sure to save your current bios so you can flash back later.
     
    hat says thanks.
  5. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,837 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,664
    That's not even close to being true, and is not only unnecessarily dangerous but can brick a card.

    Here is what you do:

    Open MSIAfterburner.cfg with Notepad++

    Find this section:

    [ATIADLHAL]
    UnofficialOverclockingEULA =
    UnofficialOverclockingMode = 0
    AccessibilityCheckingPeriod = 0


    And change it to this:

    [ATIADLHAL]
    UnofficialOverclockingEULA = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
    UnofficialOverclockingMode = 1
    AccessibilityCheckingPeriod = 0

    Viola!
     
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,035 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Location:
    Ohio
    That worked, thanks. Now if only I had voltage control as well... I guess my card just doesn't support it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,896 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,480
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You need to look for every option before recommending flashing your video card. That should be an absolute last resort.
    +1: AB can clock plenty high.
     
    hat says thanks.
  8. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,705 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    743
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Just to confirm; after looking at the vga bios for this card in RBE the GPU Voltage & MEM VTT registers are locked on this card.

    [programmable voltage regulation controller chip is required on the PCB for this functionality]

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
    hat says thanks.
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,035 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hrm, I can test up to at least 944MHz stable with Kombustor overnight, but I get weird glitches. The screen will flicker and show what looks like corruption for a split second, then return to normal. It flickers often. Not sure what's happening here? I didn't touch the memory at all, only the core.

    What's strange is it flickers even in 2D clocks, 157 core and 300 mem. It seems to be doing this just because higher clocks were set, even though it's not actually running at that speed when this happens. I didn't have this issue when I was stuck at only being able to go up to 900MHz though... ???
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,946 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    AMD imposes artificial overclocking restrictions on their cards, and has done so for several generations. I've had problems with the whole screen going nuts when I unlocked unofficial overclocking on my 7950 a while ago, even at stock clocks. I think it's something that hasn't been supported for quite some time, like the last year or so.
     
    hat says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013
    Law-II and hat say thanks.
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,035 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Location:
    Ohio
    Then how do people clock their cards through the roof? Just deal with the flickering and whatnot?

    I'd do it, if I can get past the first hurdle first.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,946 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    They probably use the 11.11c drivers as people say those perform the best for the 6K series at least.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. Millennium

    Millennium

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    Which people? :) I have a 6970 and was literally about to install the latest beta 5s. 11.11c is old now right?
     
  15. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,414 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    You disabled ulp power in trixxs settings tab
    I get 950-1000 and my 5850 stock max was 775 its untouched bios means ita similar
     
  16. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,035 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Location:
    Ohio
    Actually by that point I had already uninstalled Trixx since it didn't seem to be working for me, and I got MSI Afterburner to allow higher clocks...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    428 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Thats just a ridiculous statement...

    i oced the hell out of my 5950, 6950, and now my 7970 ...

    they don't impose anything...

    they try to stop average joe from screwing up their card, but allow people who know what they are doing the overclock the hell out of them...

    if you cant, then you dont know what you are doing...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page