1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

overclocking a celeron D 2.4GHZ

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by boudi, Jan 5, 2006.

  1. boudi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    15 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i have a celeron D 2.4GHZ, stockfan and i need to know if anyone else has ever oc'd one.
    please tell my how far I probably can go

    thanks
     
  2. qber New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I have a Celeron D 336 2.8Ghz I just overclocked today to 3.99Ghz. I am using Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 for LGA775 it's a rather inexpensive copper heatpipe HSF as I only paid $32 CAD. You will need an aftermarket HSF as the OEM unit is not ideal for O/Cing and it's very loud too.
    FYI my FSB is @ 190Mhz and my CPU Vcore is 1.50V. Your results may vary from mine I am using Asus P5GD1 mobo.
     
  3. sol.fides

    sol.fides New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    65 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Merrit BC
    I have a 478 mine's @ 3.675 Ghz with 1.4v. Stock cooler. It gets pretty hot but its stable, and thats what matters. I run thecpu heatsink fan at ~2000 to avoid loudness using speedfan. Its still stable @ 76c under load. Abit IS7 Mobo
     
  4. qber New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Damn 76c is pretty hot. Mine is under 55c @ full load but then again I am using an aftermarket HSF.
     
  5. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Sounds too hot, have you tested it with prime95? Just because it doesn't seem to crash doesn't mean it's stable.
     
  6. Powervu Atsbeep New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    I have a Celeron D 335 2.8ghz and its running at 3.46ghz (that is the maximum overclock my motherboard allows). It idles at 50C and max load is 56C. I replaced the stock cooler with a completely copper $9 Thermaltake TR-2 M-12 off Newegg. The overclock gave me over a thousand extra 3DMarks and smoother framerates. Oh and its the socket 478...
     
  7. sol.fides

    sol.fides New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    65 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Merrit BC
    "Sounds too hot, have you tested it with prime95? Just because it doesn't seem to crash doesn't mean it's stable."

    Yes I have. please note "I run the stock heatsink fan at ~2000". and I do use arctic silver 5.

    Hot or not. Its stable. It doesn't matter. This is a prescott base annyhow. The only difficulty I had was running a fortron 350w power supply caused hard disk failures. Antec 430w was rock solid.
     
  8. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    I think his temps are within design specifications, they me a little on the hot side, but I don't think any catastrophic damage will occur. The life of the CPU will be decreased a little though but this is normal for any mechanical\electrical\biological system.
     
  9. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    He's not using a very high vcore, so i'm surprised it's getting that hot to be honest. It's (barely) within maximum recommended temperature, but it wouldn't surprise me if thermal throttling is cutting in.

    I'm uncomfortable with my Prescott running at 63c @ 4.36ghz, i'd crap myself if i ever saw the temps at 76c!

    I usually try to keep the temps under 60 if possible, so i run at 3.85ghz, 1.28v for normal use, idle: 34c load: 48c

    While running an instance of prime 95 on each core, download and install 'panopsys' throttlewatch' and keep an eye on that. If there's no throttling back, nice 1! :D
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2006
  10. sol.fides

    sol.fides New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    65 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Merrit BC
    yes I agree ill lower the life time.. but then that pentium 100 i have in my closet is still in its life time and its junk wish. id burned that one up 8 years ago.

    The computer is down right now (in pieces) so I won't get back to you right away on that. But I turned off thermal throttling in the bios. My main rig keeps me busy right now

    AMD Opteron 170 @ 2.8 -1.55v (ccbwe 0548xpmw)
    Zalman CNPS9500 LED (High: 68c under load)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATA2 (OCWBios 1.50)
    OCZ pc4000 EB 2x1Gb (255Mhz 3-3-2)
    BFG OC 6600GT @ 560/1190
    Soundblaster X-fi Fatal1ty FPS
    Intel 1000 GT Pro NIC
    Maxtor Diamondmax 10 ATA133 200GB
    Plextor Premium CD burner
    Some LG Multi DVD burner
    Antec Sonata2 w/ 450W Smartpower
    Klipsch Promedia THX 2.1 (160W RMS)
    Razer Copperhead Anarchy Mouse

    :eek:
     
  11. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    i have a old 2.7ghz celly (27x100) and ive had that thing up to 3.5ghz on a soyo p41-845pe mobo. stock cooler and as5. vcore 1.85. 120F 49C.
     
  12. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Cool!!

    I'll agree with ya that since the cpu life is already soo long, it's not really worth worrying about. I'll probably upgrade mine long before it fries anyway. I expect most people here do the same! :rolleyes:

    Very nice second rig!
     
  13. BIOHazard87

    BIOHazard87 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    162 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    California, USA
    its not that hot.. 66c? 10c lower then 76c since its a abit
     
  14. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    The temp sensor's in the motherboard? I thought the thermal diode was on the die. I guess it doesn't really matter
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page