1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking a FX 6100 Six-Core Black Edition CPU, 3.30 GHz

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by jgunning, Jul 11, 2012.

  1. jgunning

    jgunning

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    490 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Australia
    Has anyone done some overclocking for their FX 6100 Six-Core Black Edition 3.30GHz yet?
    Thinking of doing mine and interested how far others have taken their overclocking for this cpu =)
  2. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    7,691 (9.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,508
    You should be able to easily get 3.8/4.0 Turbo by just setting your multipliers to 19x and 20x and leaving everything else in auto... just make sure you have a good cpu cooler ;)

    Check this thread out for more info (FX-overcloclockers club):
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=153443
    jgunning says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. jgunning

    jgunning

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    490 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks!I thought about 3.8ghz would be a good starting point. Will go from there =)
  4. jgunning

    jgunning

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    490 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Australia
    What temps could I run this cpu at safely..?
  5. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    55C idle
    70C load

    I can even get my E5300 at 4.6 Ghz from 2.6 but at then it will be at 90+C which is danger!
    So i stick at 3.4 or 3.8 max i will suggest first try a small boost then get bigger ones!
    jgunning says thanks.
  6. jgunning

    jgunning

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    490 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Australia
    Ok.so where do you guys suggest I start?
    For someone who is new to overclocking...?
  7. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    First I will suggest to read the Stickys in this section they helped me alot!;)

    And after reading them try ocing your CPU!:toast:

    If you get any Problems Report it here!
    We will help you out!:roll:
  8. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    you can turbo boost it to 3.9 so i will suggest to go to 4.0Ghz and play games and run benchmarks and if it works well then go to 4.1 and repeat the same task as before and this time we will get a bigger one to 4.3 and test and see the temps also!

    If you Crash Then Restart and try again!

    You will thinking why i am not added oc in my System Specs!
    Answer: Well i only oc when i play games! like Portal 2 and Crysis!

    And the result i get is:
    Before ocing
    Portal 2 : 8 fps at minimum settings
    Crysis : Can't even play without ocing!
    After ocing
    Portal 2 15-21 fps
    Crysis: 10-12 fps*(which is not playable)
  9. jgunning

    jgunning

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    490 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Australia
    The stickys?? :\
  10. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    7,691 (9.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,508
    jgunning says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. lindy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    81 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    45° 59' 55.57” N 86° 09' 20.10” W
    AMD states the max temp. for the FX chips is 61deg. C, but admits that there is a good safety margin built into that number.
  12. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    The 6 and 4 core ones are good for 70c :)
    jgunning and lindy say thanks.
  13. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Well i oced my P4 631 to 3.3GHz which is very difficult !
    So 0.3 GHz increase in that old CPU so you can get 4.5 Ghz easily

    EDIT: THE TEMPS ARE AT 41C at idle(which is normal)the same temps without oc too!
    THE TEMPS ARE AT 48-65C at 95%+ load


    The benchmark used BONIC MANAGER(allowed to use 100% cpu) + 1080p video playing at the same time + internet explorer 9

    I used SetFSB 2.2.134.98
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2012
    jgunning says thanks.
  14. jgunning

    jgunning

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    490 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Australia
    I think I will start with this. =) Have been away and then too busy to get back into overclocking but I just re-read over this thread and Im going to give it a go! ;) thanks for all your help guys!


    :toast:
  15. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    7,691 (9.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,508
    I run mine @ 3.6Ghz (CnQ off, Turbo off) all cores at 100% load for crunching- has been running 24/7 for around 6 months straight now w/o issues. I could run at 3.8 for other things (gaming, etc..) but for crunching it's best to back off from a gaming grade clock for overall stability.

    It's using a Xig Gaia with a single fan and temps have been fine :toast:
    jgunning says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. jgunning

    jgunning

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    490 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Australia
    So you think I should just start with the multipliers..? I would be happy if it were running at 3.8 with good temps. and if i just run the multipliers up I have to increase the voltage accordingly yes? Feel like such a noob.. :eek:


    :toast:
  17. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    7,691 (9.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,508
    Should work fine just by setting the multipliers 19x/20x Turbo all else in Auto. I was just stating the clocks I used and why :cool:

    Just keep an eye on/report back on the voltage @ load in auto (you may be able to adjust voltage a bit from the auto settings)
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. jgunning

    jgunning

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    490 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Australia
    Ok I will do that and report back! ;)
  19. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    617 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    155
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    jgunning says thanks.
  20. jgunning

    jgunning

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    490 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Australia
  21. Firstnighter1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Now, Your're all gonna probably spam me saying that i'm a fake and i'm lieing but before I say just please don't do this as it will probably screw your CPU up but just know that YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!

    I am a 13 years old and 1 year ago I somehow over-clocked my AMD FX 6100 SIX CORE BLACK EDITION to 5.2 Ghz. Now I don't know how I did it but it just kept on over-clocking until I decided to cancel it instead of my pc crashing.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page