1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

overclocking a monitor :O

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by AlienIsGOD, Aug 31, 2014.

  1. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,493 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,556
    so i happened upon this review/thread of my new Samsung PLS and it suggests o/c ing the monitor to 72hz, here is the article http://wecravegamestoo.com/forums/m...review-matte-1080p-ad-pls-72hz-overclock.html (scroll down to overlcocking link and click ).

    Im wondering if it is worth it as i have a Nvidia gfx card and the thread says this:

    After downloading the latest Nvidia Drivers, Nvidia Users should follow the instructions in the above image to overclock the Samsung S24D590PL.

    To force 72hz in games and OC download CRU from here and follow the instructions in this thread.

    72hz is idea for movies and higher overclocks like 75hz mess up the colors. Overclocking the monitor also bypasses the Nvidia signal issue.


    Any help/guidance is appreciated :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,899 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,417
    So why would you want to overclock a monitor?
     
  3. XL-R8R

    XL-R8R

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Messages:
    306 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Technical Tittery....
    :twitch: higher refresh rates don't only give moar epeen but are a lot smoother?

    However, I'm not really sure on what noticeable difference going from 60 -> 72hz would make.



    @OP: You should be able to make a custom profile to make it run 72hz @ 1080. Just look in nVidia Control Panel -> Display -> Customise and set it up accordingly.

    If it doesnt work, it should auto-revert back to the previous settings that were fine.
     
  4. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,690 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I found that on my Dell S2340Ms that increasing the refresh rate is possible up to ~75Hz but the problem is the if feels like the display is dropping frames so it really results in a less smooth image. All in all, for my displays it wasn't really worth it.
     
  5. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,225 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,701
    I ran my Qnix up to 96Hz and it seemed much smoother, i guess it depends on the panel?
     
  6. Tallencor

    Tallencor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    517 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    608
    Location:
    N.S. Can.
    Tried this on my viewsonic and anything beyond 60 made me reduce from 1080. And if I oversampled 2560x1440 (I think) it made me reduce back down to 58 hz. In games that supported higher resolutions it looked some nice allowing me to almost drop AA on a 1080 screen. Overall for me it really wasn't worth it. Some monitors are better at accepting overclocking than others thou.
    Edit: I should mention I am using DVI. Word is hdmi or displayport work better for holding the signals.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,018 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,047
    Have a backup or dual monitor in case something goes wrong. which will happen usually with cru.

    Things might work with oc/hz increase,but when you reboot might load to a black screen.
     
  8. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,905 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,255
    Location:
    Rochester area
    I been using CRU for years you people live under a rock :roll:
    never had a issue with CRU causing black screen on most monitors it will simply display "signal out of range" and then fall back to the default so long as you don't set the refrash rate on boot without testing it first you are fine
    just make sure you are using the "detailed resolutions field" and that that default refresh rate is first on the list
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2014
  9. Tallencor

    Tallencor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    517 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    608
    Location:
    N.S. Can.
    This.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,493 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,772

    well it made a huge difference in the CRT days. if your monitor can do higher than it allows you, definitely try it.
     
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,501 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,781
    Upping refresh rate TO 75Hz on my ol Nec Multisync LCD 1700V allowed better picture quality.

     
  12. RommiRusina

    RommiRusina

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    14 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Forssa, Finland
    My old LG 24' lcd screen"overclocked" from 60Hz to 75Hz. The difference was noticeable when playing. A lot smoother experience even with so little increase. So i say it is worth trying :)
     
  13. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    is it just me or is 60fps far too slow for a fps? anything less than 90 for me looks laggy even with a 60hz screen.
     
  14. RommiRusina

    RommiRusina

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    14 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Forssa, Finland
    60fps is enough for me. But if it goes below that, then it's not good.
     
  15. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,468 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    783
    my Catleap runs 120hz with my GTX 780 without any issues at all, of what i can see.
     
  16. alwayssts

    alwayssts

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    As I've mentioned a few times, I tinkered with this quite a bit. It allowed me to get my tv to 77mhz while using lcd overdrive (in catalyst). In my opinion, the results were tangible and worth doing. That said, at that point it was a really weird game of amd's drivers vs. ToastyX working around them (not to mention the video encoding/decoding issues as well as hdmi vs dvi drawbacks). At some point I gave up because eff it, but I think for many people it can be helpful.

    That alllll said, I'mma just buy a P series tv 'cause it says 120hz input ('high velocity mode') on the freakin' tin (ie there *should* be a 1080p 120hz EDID). That makes life so much easier. In many peoples' cases...if you're truly thinking of doing this, imho just buy a 120hz monitor and be done with it...the advantages of 120hz (be it 24/30hz multiples for video/film, gaming smoothness, input lag, etc) are worth it.
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2014
  17. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,690 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    That could be an issue with particular games where user input is directly tied to the same thread that handles rendering. That would make it feel rough with respect to you interacting with the game and at higher frame rates, it polls HIDs faster giving a smoother experience. This isn't true for games that are well designed and other than that, there is no reason why 90FPS would be better than 60FPS on a 60Hz screen, even more so since frames just get dropped otherwise.

    With that said, a well coded game should feel the same at 60FPS or 120FPS on a 60Hz screen.
     
  18. droopyRO

    droopyRO

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    169 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Romania
    My U2713HM went from 60 to 80 with CRU i dont see a difference in BF4, witch runs with my settings at about 100 fps.
     
  19. broken pixel

    broken pixel

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    323 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Nebulas
    27", 2560x1440 @ 100Hz with my Overlord LG panel.
     
  20. Spaceman Spiff

    Spaceman Spiff

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    639 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
    Got my Qnix 27" 2560x1440 @ 110hz. Been running that for the past 9 months. No issues.

    I came from a 24" 1080p 120hz TN panel. The 10hz difference is not really noticeable, but the IPS (or PLS?) is certainly nicer.

    Waiting for some 4k panels that are less than 40" and can do 120hz @1080p without fiddling with CRU.
     
  21. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,668 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,880
    I recently just purchased a 144hz monitor. Running at 100hz, 120hz, or 144hz, I do not not see much gain over 60hz. Natural selection 2 which I play quite a bit has incredibly fast movement where more hz actually makes a difference. Faster hz makes a difference but it wasn't anything impressive to me. Using lightboost, even on AMD gpu's, makes NS2 seem like slow motion because I don't lose my target. I feel like I am advertising but my point is that hz alone doesn't make a huge difference in my opinion. 60 to 72 just doesn't seem worth it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,690 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Just for the record, it's worth noting that 72Hz is an interest refresh rate for a very good reason and I would like to explain it. Many HD videos in the USA have a frame rate of 24 frames per second of progressively scanned frames by ATSC standard, which is exactly 1/3 of 72 frames per second. As a result, you can render all frames of a video (1 video frame to 3 display refresh frames,) without dropping any frames or having to do anything special when the rates don't match up. So playback might feel less jittery as a result. Much like how video at 29.97 FPS (NTSC) would be less choppy at 60Hz because it's (practically) a multiple of the video frame rate.

    So basically, when your refresh rate is above 60Hz and is a multiple of your video frame rate. You win. :p
     
    AlienIsGOD and james888 say thanks.
  23. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,143 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,333
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    The only monitor that does not seem to drop frames when overclocked are the X-Star Korean panels. There was a lot of talk about the idea behind dropped frames as a result in a Korean Monitor Owners thread at OCN.
     
  24. bubbleawsome

    bubbleawsome

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    221 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    60 to 75 is huge. (My monitor does both at stock) However, as someone else said they might not display all the frames when overclocked.
     
  25. silapakorn

    silapakorn

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    201 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Have been using 120hz monitor for years, I'm not going back to 60hz forever.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page