1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

overclocking a P3 need help!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by overclocker, Mar 26, 2007.

  1. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    ok i have this older P3 1000mhz cpu dell yes its a dell and its got agp and im buying a x1300pro tomorrow for 100$ canadian and i was wondering is there eny programs/tools to overclock the P3 to a P4 at least like 1.100-200 clockgen doesnt work eny other programs ?
  2. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    The Dells are hard locked so I dought you will get any thing from it OC wise .
    From what I know about Dells is they are that way for a reason warranty .
    I don't know any program that will do this for you other than clock gen and I would not do it that way ever since the only real way is to do it through the bios and Dell has that locked out .
  3. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    crap is their a cracked bois or enything i really need to OC it a little :(
  4. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    not that I know.
  5. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    i want to oc our dell desktop, but it can't, and it doesn't have any thermal sensors? i wonder how that happened.
  6. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    get a new computer that one is way out of date any way. sell it and a new one.
  7. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    lol look at my system specs i have a good comp this is a oldy for my sis to keep em off mine.
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,945 (11.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,368
    a P3 is a P3 - they just cant do much these days. Just do your best to minimise the OS, especially for ram usage - your sis cant bitch too much if it looks ugly, as long as its smooth and ugly.
  9. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    i want it to play need for speed most wanted im putting a x1300pro in it so it might play fine how knows.
  10. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Really I would not waste the money on a new video card like that for a out of date system .
    Like we have said there really is nothing you can do to get "more" out of it . the fact that it is a Dell and a P3 is enough to say not worth the fight!
  11. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    but will it play need for speed most wanted thats all i need it to play and the other games i have i know it will play so.. and im not going to but tham a 400$ comp
  12. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Most likely not as newer games need more CPU power to run them need for speed barly played good on a athlon XP can't imagine what it would be like on a P3 .. :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:
  13. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    what video card were you running ?
  14. new_rez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    446 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Just leave it and buy a new PC. Putting money into a machine that old is known as false economy.
    You also can't 'OC a P3 to a P4' because they are based on a different architecture.

    I also doubt that you have any chance in hell of running need for speed on that PC.
  15. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    darn then i might just buy a ati 9200 for it then
  16. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    what is the best video card i should get for this p3 rig i need something better then the 32mb intergrated one.
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,945 (11.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,368
    PCI or AGP? in AGP, something like an nvidia 6600GT, if its PCI, you're pretty screwed - Nvidia FX5200 or ATI 9250 is the only options.

    Edit: make sure its an AGP4x motherboard too, modern 8x AGP cards do NOT work in AGP 2x slots - they physically fit, and go up in a puff of smoke.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page