1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking AMD Athlon 3400+ w/ Venice core

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Devil_Inside, Oct 5, 2006.

  1. Devil_Inside New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi! I am a newbie in the whole overclocking thing as I have previously mentioned.. Is there somebody willing to help me with step-by-step guidance how to overclock my processor? Here is my configuration and thanks a lot in advance

    current clocks by clockgen - CPU/FSB/MEMORY = 2411/201/161

    AMD Athlon 64bit 3400+ w/ Venice core @2.4GHz

    Gigabyte VIA K8M800 motherboard

    2 x 512MB Corssair PC3200 2.5-3-3-7

    Sapphire X850GTO VGA


    If you need more info, just let me know :)
     
  2. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    2411/201/161.. look kinda odd to me..

    trog
     
  3. Devil_Inside New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What exactly?
     
  4. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    how is the 2411 arrive at.. assuming your fsb to be 200 it would need a multiplyer of 12 to get 2.4 gig.. ???

    trog
     
  5. Devil_Inside New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes I am using 12x multiplier
     
  6. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    your memory speed is out of sync for starters. pc3200 = DDR400, currently your running it at DDR322 (PC2600ish speed)
     
  7. Devil_Inside New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well yeah...I noticed and I was wondering why :banghead:

    Unfortunately I don't think that there is an option in the BIOS to adjust the memory frequency. I am currently running the system on 210MHz FSB (I clocked the processor with 100MHz yey :laugh: ) but the memory is still running slower than it is supposed :cry:

    If I do not have an option in the BIOS is there a program that I can use to adjust the memory frequency? Tell me if you need more info - links, pics, screenshots etc

    M/B: http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16813128262
    MEM: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145449
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2006
  8. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    AMD Athlon 64bit 3400+

    a 4000 or 3800 has a 12 x multiplyer a 3400 dosnt.. ??? or have i missed something..

    trog
     
  9. Devil_Inside New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    :twitch:
     

    Attached Files:

  10. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    hmm.. i must be missing something.. my 4000+ runs 12 x 200 giving me 2.4 gig..

    how does a 3400+ end up with 12 x multiplyer.. ???

    u can lower them but not raise them.. so how do u get 12 x 210... he he he

    or have amd brought out something i aint heard of.. ???

    trog
     
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,666 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,059
    I have the same setup with the exception of the motherboard. To oc the cpu you must go into the bios (make sure it's all updated). Then, find somewhere if you have an agp lock, and keep the vid card at the stock 66. Next all you need to do is raise the fsb untill you find a stable speed. Good aftermarket coolers always help as well. If you haven't already check the forums here and get your vid card unlocked to 16 pipes and a bump in speed by flashing the bios.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page