1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking Celeron 420 help, Asus p5b vdrop

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by elec999, Jul 4, 2007.

  1. elec999

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am trying to overclock the Celeron 420. The system will not boot with the fsb set anywhere above 345.
    Asus p5b non deluxe, 1 gb patriot ddr800.
    Bios
    Cpu Freq 340
    Dram Freq 750
    Pcie Freq 100
    Pci 33.33
    Spread Disabled
    Mem Voltage 1.9
    Cpu Vcore Auto
    Fsb Term Auto
    Also is there any pencil vdrops for the Asus p5b non deluxe rev 1.03G.
    Thanks
  2. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    The VCore set to Auto may be limiting it. Set it manually, and see how it runs.
    I can't say I know the default value for voltage for the CPU, so I can't advise what you should set to.
    BTW, what Multiplier is the CPU at? I've no clue about details when it comes to the Celerons
  3. elec999

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Multiplier 6x, Vcore tried all the way upto 1.625 to be safe makes no difference. Most people took this cpu way above 380 mhz.
    Thanks
  4. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Well, they might have had more luck when getting their CPUs. Your mileage may vary is a phrase that applies heavily when overclocking.
    Tried lowering your multiplier to 5x? Might get your FSB up higher. High enough to possibly get it to the same 2.04GHz speeds, or close, that you have now, and you'd see a boost in memory bandwidth like that.
  5. elec999

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I cannot find any option to lower the multiplier.
    Thanks
  6. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Tried pressing Ctrl+F1? Doesn't work for every BIOS, but might unlock some more options.
  7. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Um dude I think you have the newer Core 2 Celeron... 1.625v is very dangerous...
  8. elec999

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ctrl + f1 doesnt work.
    Thanks
  9. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    ctrl + f1 I dont think I seen that on a ASUS on a Gigabyte yes

    But I think that lower mobo is limited on OCing cuz can you change the NB volts ?
  10. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,619 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,578
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I have the P5B deluxe, it's good to 500FSB, I'm not sure what the basic P5B's good for, but you may just be SOL, no two components will OC the same. Make sure you're relaxing memory timings, increasing mem voltage (try 2.0v), increasing NB/FSBv to comp for increased mem speed/bus speed, to manually set vcore, NB, fsb, sb, ddr voltages, ICHv can be left on auto as I've never noticed a difference in stability or had any issues leaving that at auto (tested plenty), auto settings can cause overvolts and excess heat with instability. But you may just be limited with that chip where it's at, try increasing 5MHZ on FSB at a time, see if you can get more. But I also have a C2D chip in my setup (check my sys specs), which if you can afford (maybe July 22nd?), is very much worth it!
  11. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,619 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,578
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Also, on the pencil mod deal, I know there's one out for P5B's, I did it to my first deluxe, it helped a little, but wears off after a while. My 1.10 board vdroops .01 less than my original did. Make sure if OC-ing you're disabling power saving features such as C1E, EIST, etc. Otherwise you'll have all sorts of stability issues as they'll try to control dividers and voltages and that can cause problems big time! Hope that helps! :toast:
  12. elec999

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Problem, this board, doesnt have any options to allow changing chipset voltage. Only vcore, memory voltage, and fsb termination voltage.
    Thanks
  13. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,619 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,578
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Bummer. Well then you're limited, maybe get some more efficient NB cooling, put a fan on the current NB heatsink. That may just help. As P5B's NB's do run toasty. My Memory cooler gives airflow to my NB and that seems to help out pretty well, it's not as hot to the touch. Send the board back, get a P5B Deluxe (if within return/exchange warranty timeframe), send back the celeron and get a C2D, and OC your brains out! :toast:
  14. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    no the nb cooler wont work it need to be volt moded to het more cpu bus speed
  15. elec999

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    You can actually send the p5b to Asus, and get a Asus p5b deluxe.
    Thanks
  16. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    No I think he means to send that back for a refund and buy the Deluxe

    Cuz where did you buy it
  17. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,619 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,578
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Either way, whichever is the cheapest, quickest easiest route. But the P5B Deluxe is a better choice from the standard P5B.
  18. elec999

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Great news. I changed the ram to Bufallo, and now get 390 fsb. I cannot return/exchange the board. This is also a budget build, a Asus p5k will be my next board for my quad core q6600.
    Thanks

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page