1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

overclocking fails,

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by zbran, May 7, 2012.

  1. zbran New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i will keep this as short as i can.

    i have 2 6950's. asus cu II/club 3D both non referance.

    i have to use msi afterburner for the club 3D card to adjust voltage.
    im using ASUS gpu tweek for the cu II card to adjust voltage on that.

    my problem is i cant get past 840MHz core in xfire,every time i go above it locks or BSOD's on me.
    the cards are fine at 840MHz in game and running kombuster run X-score.
    i cannot get them to work above this with ANY amount of safe voltage.

    both cards oc WAY higher than this on there own.
    i tryed the regedit trick to fix msi but it has not worked.


    im wondering are the oc tools conflicting with each other?
    also im running old drivers as the new ones will not work for me. driver set(8.96 i think).

    i have no bios mod on the cards although i did have the asus flashed for the shaders but put it back as i couldnt flash the other card.

    the rig.
    ANTEC high current psu. 750W
    intel i5 2500k@4,3GHz
    ASUS P8P67-LE
    8gb's corsair vengenance
    win7 64bit.

    i have searched high and low for a fix and i cant find anything similar even! you guys are my last hope!
     
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,216 (4.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,497
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
  3. zbran New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hey thanks for the reply mate.

    the clock sliders in CCC go up to 950MHz core and 1350MHz on the memory!
    is that just for show? is it limited by the regestery?

    ive just put a fresh install of win7 on the machine just to make sure i had no old drivers corrupting. if you think it will fix it i will change the reg entries

    again thanks for the reply mate:)
     
  4. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I did that reg edit to increase my sliders to 1000/1500, works for me.
     
  5. zbran New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes im sure it does work very well but since i posted ive the newest drivers working perfectly on a fresh install of win7. the sliders go up to 950MHz and 1350MHz,if i could go that far i would be very happy:)

    i can OC each card to 950MHz core no problem with a small voltage increase,when i disable xfire or if i install them on there own.

    my issue is when i try to OC them as a pair in xfire...

    ive spent days searching the net and cant even find a post with somebody with the same issue.


    so before i go changing stuff like reg i was just wondering will it fix that issue! im not realy looking for more slider scope TBH. again thanks for the reply mate.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page