1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

overclocking for the first time

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by WhiteLotus, Aug 30, 2007.

  1. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,551 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    well having found out my rather weak score on 3D mark 06 (2059) i thought i would give OC a go, see if i can get noticable differences.

    well my bios settings only have the following options available that i can use to OC:

    CPU frequency, can set from 200 to 400 in one unit steps, i.e. 200, 201, 202 ~ 399,400
    DDR2 Voltage Control, can set either Auto or 1.9v
    CPU Mulitplier, can set from 5V to 10V in increase increments of 0.5V

    having read the threads about how to OC here in these forums and googling a few terms i felt i was not ready to alter these settings. so instead i noticed that the i can AI OC, from 3%, 5%, 8% and 10%. 3% and 5% are fine but 8% and 10% increase in AI means that i cant even get to the windows boot screen it always reboots so i have to go into BIOS and defaut settings to go further or drop down to 5% (at the moment i am at default). first i thought it could be my PSU but 550W is more than enough surely?

    can anybody give a possible reason/s for this to happen? heres a couple of screenies of CPU-Z. not sure what they will achieve but i guess any infomation is helpful.

    [​IMG]

    plus is it possible to get a good OC with the bios settings that i can alter?

    i know it is alot of question and you have all proberly had to answere these types of questions before but i would appreciate any replies.


    Thanks
     
  2. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    i suspect it may be your pcie bus speed, either lock it at 100mhz or if that doesnt work try incrementing it 1mhz at a time (dont go higher than ~110) should give you a bit more room to OC
     
    WhiteLotus says thanks.
  3. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Its probably restarting because you need more voltage.

    With you AMD, you'll need to lower your HTT multi to x4 or x3.

    The 'CPU frequency' is usually referred to as front side bus (FSB). a 5% AI OC is 210 fsb. The problem is that I don't think the AI will lower your RAM divider or you HTT multi...so here what you do:

    Set RAM to ddr667 (divider), set HTT to x3, lock PCI-E at 100 or 105

    Raise the FSB maybe 5 (205) and see if it boots into windows.

    Then raise it another 5...continue until it doesn't boot. Then back it off.


    Would recommend a voltage bump for the best OC (CPU Vcore), but when you bump the voltage you make more heat, so watch your temps.
     
    WhiteLotus says thanks.
  4. bassmasta Guest

    dont use auto overclock. it doesn't change voltages, and rarely makes a stable overclock.
     
  5. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,551 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    thanks for the advice, although i cant see where i can set the RAM divider, HTT or PCI-E, unless i am being a complete prat and they were staring at me i dont think the BIOS allows me to. i just cant find them! i havent updated my BIOS since i have had the computer built for me so it is (directly pulled off system information)
    "ASUS M2NPV-MX ACPI BIOS Revision0202, 16/06/2006"

    although i still believe im a prat
     
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    My BIOS has a very wierd name for the FSB. Something like CPU/MCP51 frequency or some shit..
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page