1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OverClocking GB EP45 with KS HyperX RAM

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by nullkuhl, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. nullkuhl New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Motherboard: Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
    CPU: E8400 3.0 GHZ Cache: 6 MB Bus: 1333 MHZ
    CPU Cooler: Asus V60
    Ram: 4GB Dual Channel (2 x Kingstone Hyperx - KHX8500AD2/2G )
    VGA: Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS 256 mb up to 1024MB (256MB Dedicated)
    Power Supply: Asus Power Supply 500W (P-50GA)

    1-I have just assembled this PC however, I don’t have much experience with over clocking, my main problem is that my ram advertised bus speed is 1066Mhz and currently i only get 800Mhz, though i got the ram timing from kingstone website and it says 7-7-7-20 at 1.85v-2.0v , i applied that in bios and it seems that it just ignores my configs and run on its default 800 :S and default ram timings.

    2- Also please post overclocking suggestions for this board with such config.

    3- If i want to raise the Ram bus as much as possible, what do i need to do that, for example shud i lower the fsb for example and raise the multiplier then modify the ratio of (FSB : DRAM) ?

    Please Advice.
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2009
  2. theorw

    theorw New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Athens GREECE
    1)Most likely u must put the rams manually to run 1066 through the bios setings.Now f i remember and if the bios is anything like my past DS4...,it will be easy enough.Just put them in 1066 mode and give them the 2.0 volts and u ll be fine!
     
  3. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,668
    the e8400 doesnt throttle itself until 100c but safe temps, in my opinion dont go over 70
     
  4. theorw

    theorw New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Athens GREECE
    2)U should be able to go to 3.5ghz easily enough nut u dont mention your cooler.
    As for the temps u dont have to get throttle to get alarmed!!!Try to keep him under 60 c or if u cant under 70 c under load on EVEREST stress test and this kind of programs...
    In the games it wont go over the temps that occure during the stress.
    But tell us the cooler u use.
     
  5. nullkuhl New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Guys i have updated the thread by adding full specs of my pc, please check it out.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page