1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking i5 760 with h55m-s2h

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by xxriznoxx, May 27, 2012.

  1. xxriznoxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    77 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hello, im new to the forums. And new to overclocking, i've overclocked graphics cards before but not cpu, i built my rig few months ago and was wondering if you guys could help me in overclocking my i5 760 its currently at 2.8ghz and i want to get maybe 3.4-3.8ghz. Something that wont kill my cpu or mess anything up i nthe long run. Thanks please reply as soon as possible.
     
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Welcome to TPU :toast:
    Go into the UserCP and add your system specs so people will be able to help more effectively.
    Make sure to make the specs viewable also. ;)
     
    xxriznoxx says thanks.
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Leave everything at AUTO to start. Set CPU voltage to fixed and 1.2v. Set VTT/QPI to 1.27v. Set dram to 1.6v. Bring QPI multi and ram divider down one notch. Continually bump bclk til you get no boot then back off by 10mhz once you either bsod or get no post.

    Main key here is what cooler and power supply.
     
  4. xxriznoxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    77 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thank you both for the warm welcome, i shall put up some of my system specs and put up some links to show what i have. My power supply is http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?item_id=027015

    My cpu is http://ark.intel.com/products/48496/Intel-Core-i5-760-Processor-(8M-Cache-2_80-GHz) im quite surprised this cpu still costs over 200 dollars in canada, seeing how there are more powerful procesors out there.

    My mother board is http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3310

    Im not too sure on what cooler i have but i see the word "cooler master on it". il try to google some coolermaster coolers and if i find the right one i will post it here.
     
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Had the 850W version of that psu, not horrid but not the greatest. See if you can find a google image that looks like your cooler and post it. Do NOT go further once you have done so.
     
    xxriznoxx says thanks.
  6. xxriznoxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    77 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    No offense, I myself personally wouldn't push past stock cpu vcore with that cooler. Get yourself a new one when you can but you would be ok with a small OC, nothing past 3.6-3.7Ghz.
     
  8. xxriznoxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    77 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I see, i was thinking to get CM v6, but i dontk now how much they cost nowadays, also im thinking to get another gtx 460 to sli, and since my motherboard only supports xfire, could to help me understand if the program called "HyperSLi" would work with my system?
     
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,586 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea this is not the best cooler to use, the Hyper 212+ evo is the best best for your CPU at a decent price.
     
    xxriznoxx says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Might as well get the tried and trued Hyper 212+.

    EDIT:

    Wow! I got ninja'd! LOL

    Regarding SLI, don't bother. I made the mistake myself. Save your cash and go single strong gpu. Especially on that board.
     
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  11. xxriznoxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    77 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I like the hyper212, its quite cheap too, thanks for your help and yes you did xD, But 2 gtx 460 ebats a 580 by 10%, and since im kind of on budget. Wouldnt it be better to sli for now since a single 460 is around $1xx?
     
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    If IF you had a capable board. It's kind of hit/miss. No guarantee.
     
  13. xxriznoxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    77 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I saw a thread on the graphics card section saying you could convert an xfire mobo to sli, with a program called HyperSli, you ever used it? Would you recommend it for my motherboard? It has two pcie slots and 2 pci slots.
     
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    That's what I was referring to, hit/miss. Didn't work on my old p55-ud3r.
     
  15. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    720 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Nice CPU, I remember i had one of this served me very well, i5-760 i never found a reason to overclock it, and the turbo boost in it worked very well, plus the 8Mb L3, hyper threading was the only thing keeping the first gen i7's ahead.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2012
  16. xxriznoxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    77 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Very true, i guess i have no problem overclocking, i just need to sli now. I liek this processor, could you guys help me find a socket 1156 motherbaord that supports sli?
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2012
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Get with Cold Storm.
     
  18. xxriznoxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    77 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    il pretend i know what that is LOL
     
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  20. xxriznoxx New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    77 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    OH a person, thanks i will look him up. Thank you for your service and taking your time to help me out. I will contact you more later if i need more help.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page