1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking i7 3770k on AsRock Extreme4 - Noob

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by White Falcon, Jul 19, 2012.

  1. White Falcon

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Soo

    Just bought new cpu/mobo the other day as upgrade to the rest of my system, so my crossfire wasnt bottlenecked anymore.
    Obviously did fresh install of win7 on my ssd, kept the rest of my storage the same though,
    so pretty swiftly I was back to the computer I'm used to.

    Anyway, obviously dishing out that extra $70 on the k version,
    I'm interested in overclocking, but not really sure how to go about it this time.


    These are my specs:

    Processor: i7 3770K @ 3.5 - stock
    Motherboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4
    Cooling: Coolermaster 212+ with 2x fractal fans
    Memory: 12gb ddr3: 2x2gb g.skill 1333 ripjaws + 2x4gb g.skill 1333 nt
    Video Card: 2x VTX3d 2GB 6950 in Crossfire
    Hard Disk: 128gb kingston hyperx ssd+ ~ 7tb of varied storage
    Optical Drive: Dvd drive :p
    CRT/LCD Model: 24" BenQ G2420HD + 22" v7
    Case: Fractal R3
    PSU: OCZ zx1000
    Software: Windows 7 x64

    ------------------------------------

    I'd previously oc'ed my i5 760 to a stable 4ghz with the cm212+,
    but that was with help from alot of guides/alot of other people that had done it before,
    and yes I've since cleaned the thermal paste off the heatsink (coffee filters/methylated spirits)


    So currently I'm running stock, idling about 30-35c,
    and stress testing prime95 at 70c after an hour ish.

    -------

    -Wondering how far I should aim for, for a stable build that wont break my parts (ive got 1000w @ 80plus gold to play with too :p)

    -No clue how to oc with this board/uefi/ the 1155/ivy bridge way of doing things..

    -General tips from people with the same cooler/cpu/motherboard?
  2. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    734 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Just set multiplier to 44x100 and set Vcore to 1.3v and of will he stable, make site memmory is running in XMP
  3. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,690 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    387
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Good advice outside of the voltage, it's an Ivy Bridge and shouldn't need that much voltage. I would leave the voltage on Auto and adjust it using Offset Voltage. Probably using a negative Offset.
  4. Vego Actina

    Vego Actina New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    it does need this much most of the time, there are only few chips that can run arounf 4,5 on very low v

    at higher speeds more v is required

    for me sb-e and ib below 5ghz isnt overclocking at all, had few chips in my hands and 4,8ghz under 1,45 is 100% sure
    adulaamin says thanks.
  5. adulaamin

    adulaamin

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    612 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    190
    Location:
    Baguio City, Philippines
    I have a 3770k on an M5G at 4.5ghz with 1.22v... I would suggest you try lower voltages first rather than setting it directly to 1.3... I've also got a 212+ although with 2 AP-29's in push pull... :)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. White Falcon

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have two fractals in push/pull, which used to give like 50~ load temp on my i5 760...
    I guess its either ivy bridges hotter running or i applied a little too much thermal paste

    Since I get load at 70~ stock, and more like 80 when i tried 4ghz@1.3 (on the 3770)
    Maybe I should just wait and get a premade watercooling thing before i blow up my cpu :p
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,393 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,465
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Should get 4 GHz @ 1.1125 V or less. 1.3 V is far far too high. I run 4.6 GHz @ 1.2 V or less, depending on which board I'm using.

    Yes, Ivybridge chips are hot, and the more you run @ high temps, the more it's gonna dry the thermal paste under IHS out.
  8. Xzibit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,003 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    I'm running mine 4ghz@1.2v aswell and it doesnt go above 63c on prime load 75% fan speed. Idles @ 32c and peaks in-game @ 57c.
  9. scope54

    scope54

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    267 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Southern California :)
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page