1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

overclocking i7 920

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by rawad, Mar 24, 2011.

  1. rawad

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    israel
    hey guys
    i wanna overclock my cpu but im a total noobie been readin about overclocking in the forums but still didnt really udnerstand how to do it exactly
    could u plz help me and tell me in a simple way how to overclock my cpu
    here are details of my motherboard and pc
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      103 KB
      Views:
      296
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      101.7 KB
      Views:
      245
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      99.7 KB
      Views:
      226
    • 4.gif
      4.gif
      File size:
      72.3 KB
      Views:
      237
    • 5.gif
      5.gif
      File size:
      64.6 KB
      Views:
      192
    • 6.gif
      6.gif
      File size:
      66.2 KB
      Views:
      174
    • 7.gif
      7.gif
      File size:
      62.6 KB
      Views:
      166
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2011
  2. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
  3. rawad

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    israel
    Hello,
    i did read it but still...i don't know what is the right config for my pc specs.
    i read a lot of threads and it mostly show diff bios configs.

    thank you:)
     
  4. Wetbehindtheears New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    271 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Salisbury UK
    I can admit that I just assumed that ALL 'same' mobos or ALL 'same' CPUs were the same so therefore the BIOS settings for A would equally apply to me since we both had same hardware.... wrong, wrong, wrong....

    Read as much as you can find (trust me there is a lot!) then slooooowly start to adjust one or two things... and continue from there
     
  5. timta2

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    819 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
    If you google "Overclock+MSI X58+i7 920" you will find an insane amount of articles related to your particular hardware. I'm not trying to be a dick but it really is amazing how many people have the exact same hardware and post their settings.

    You should at least be able to overclock your chip over 4.0GHz by leaving everything (voltages) on auto and bumping your BCLK (Baseclock) to 192. My i7 930 will do it at 1.26v (core voltage) and your 920 will probably do it at a lower voltage. You might have to drop your memory back a little by changing your mulipiers.
     
    rawad says thanks.
  6. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,497 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    1st off download RealTemp and keep an eye on your temps, overclocking the 920's will heat them up quick.

    2nd, increase your Base Clock. Start with increments of 10 and look at your Memory Ratio to make sure your DRAM Ratio isn't going past your ram's rated speed.

    3rd, increase your cpu voltage. Change it from Auto to manual and start with 1.25 and when you get to about 150 base clock you'll probably need closer 1.30V.

    The last thing I would look at is the DRAM Voltage, most DDR3 triple channel sets are rated at 1.65V but auto settings may have it to 1.5V. This will cause instability and likely cause a crash.

    Finally, when your done overclocking boot into windows and immediately check your temps. If idle temps are over 60C then your pushing things.

    What cpu cooler do you have? If your running stock, just keep your OC low. Like 150base clock with 1.3V.
     
    rawad says thanks.
  7. rawad

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    israel
    thank u ver much ill do it today when i get back from work
    i have a stock cooler but i ordered a notcua nh-d14 should be here by monday :)
    tbh i didnt make sure that it fits in my pc but i think it does my case is haf 932

    i already overclocked my other pc but this motherboard bios was kinda complicated without help :D

    thx again !
    ill try overclocking to 3.1 ghz see whats the temps , currently at 2.67ghz idle is between 29-34
     
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    rawad says thanks.
  9. rawad

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    israel
    before i start overclocking i bought an noctua nh-d14 my idle temps are 29-36 it was the same with my stock cooler , maybe i didnt install it right ? ill upload some pics soon maybe u guys could tell me if i did somethin wrong
    anyways i downloaded intelburntest i set the stress lvl on high and set it on 20 runs the temps were 48-59 during all the test rarely went up to 60 didnt pass above these temps
    in the end it said thats its stable
    should my temps be at this range ? cosidering its 21c currently in here today room temp is about 20c i guess

    k here it is :
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 29, 2011
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,776 (9.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,238
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ok here are my specs on my main rig.

    21x191 = 4Ghz
    Vcore: 1.275
    PLL: 1.25
    QPI: 1.25
    DRAM: 1.65
    VTT: 1.3
    IOH: 1.3
    Dram Freq = 1149 (lowest speed available)
     
    rawad says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Rawad

    Those temps seem okay, try to overclock it and see how the temps behave.
     
    rawad says thanks.
  12. rawad

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    israel
    ok i overclocked to 3.4 ghz , reduced the memory ratio so Dram is still on 1600 which is my original memory speed , put multiplier x21 , now about the voltage there is something i didnt understand didnt change it since it changes automaticly and the voltage was on 1.3 - 1.35 is that good or its too high ?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 30, 2011
  13. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    One thing to keep in mind, QPI (NB FREQUENCY)has to be twice as much as your RAM speed. In this case it is already if you notice. (RAM @ 1600).

    Also try not to leave voltages on AUTO. Put them to defaults if you have to.

    That voltage on the CPU should be enough for about at Least 3.8GHz. So if temps are fine set it manually to 1.30-1.35v and see what clocks that gives you.
     
    rawad says thanks.
  14. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    You should not leave cpu voltage on auto. It will always give you more than you need. That's certainly true here. Unless you have a bad chip, you should not need 1.3 for 3.4ghz.
     
    rawad and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  15. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Agreed, he should be able to at least 3.7-3.8 GHz at that voltage right Paul?
     
    rawad says thanks.
  16. rawad

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    israel
    hmm ok i tried to so something like that
    i kept the cpu voltage on auto
    but reduced the Dram frequency to 1400 MHZ instead if 1600 MHZ and now voltage is set automaticly on 1.264v i also overclocked further to 3.67 GHZ
    temps are 33-39 at idle
    sounds good ?
     
  17. Kal-EL

    Kal-EL

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Sounds good imo but pay close attention to load temps as they tend to rocket on this platform. You can have great idle temps as you climb in the overclock but load temps continue to scale with the voltage/mhz. The old s775 chips used to give a good indicator in the way of idle temps whereas these chips tend to keep good idle temps even with voltage increase.

    I haven't overclocked on your board but normally you disable any spread spectrum settings and c1e, thermal controls in the cpu settings to assure stability.

    my 2cents, good luck! and may the clocks be with u.
     
    rawad says thanks.
  18. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Okay, set it manually to that voltage, don't leave it auto.

    2nd RAM was fine at 1600 unless you bad instability.

    Before overclocking more, stress test to make sure overclock is stable.
     
    rawad says thanks.
  19. rawad

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    israel
    what should the temps be ?
    at 3.4 GHZ with 1.33v ( now im with 3.67 on 1.26v ) i did intelburntest with stress lvl at very high temps were 60-70 sometimes reached to 73 for a sec and went down

    whats temps are considered good with the current clock ?
     
  20. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I say keep under 80c
     
    rawad says thanks.
  21. rawad

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    israel
    k done :)
    put intelburntest stress on high temps were even lower then before 60-66 didnt go higher
    thx everyone for helpin me and special thanks for u chicken :)
     
  22. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,497 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Yeah most 920's can do 4.0Ghz with less than 1.4V, try to stay under that as temps will skyrocket.
     
    rawad says thanks.
  23. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Probably 3.7 stable. Some of the newer chips start scaling poorly just under 3.8. So, it's really a roll of the dice at that point.

    Is this a newer chip? Can you give me the batch # and week from the box? I can give you some indication of potential then. No certainty though, as even good batched have duds.
     
    rawad says thanks.
  24. rawad

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    israel
    its ok now its on 1.264v running great
    it was probably somethin that i have done wrong earlier but when i oced again and changed the cpu voltage it got fixed
    thx again ! :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page